A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Being a BzzAgent gets you FREE stuff! And in this case, that’s Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration!

I think it is safe to say that everybody loves getting free stuff.  I’ve personally made it very clear that I’m a sucker for a good “gift with purchase” and constantly want to buy value packs and sampler kits because they are a better deal.  So when a fellow blogger and friend of mine, Rebecca over at The Lipstick Gal, turned me on to BzzAgent several months ago, I thought it sounded like a great idea!  At the time she was reviewing a set of Gucci perfumes she had received for free for simply signing up to be a BzzAgent.  The company BzzAgent puts a great deal of value in word of mouth advertising and they believe that people who have sampled certain products or know someone who has tried it out, are more likely to branch out and try something new.  With a whackload of clients, www.bzzagent.com is looking for more and more people all the time who are interested in trying out a variety of free products.  Their campaigns involve everything from household items, to pet food, beauty and skincare products, or even food for your family.  So no matter what your interests, hobbies or daily grind involves BzzAgent has something for you to try out.  All they ask is for feedback and for you to share coupons and samples with your friends.

To get started, all you have to do is sign up!  It doesn’t cost you anything, other than a few minutes of your time to fill out a few surveys.  The surveys help them match up future campaigns that might suit you.  If you don’t have pets, they won’t send you dog food, etc.  I had signed up several months back and had practically forgotten all about it, until I received an email inviting me to a BzzCampaign for Burt’s Bees.  They wanted to send me some brand new, full-size products from their Intense Hydration line for absolutely FREE!  Naturally, I accepted and within a week I had about $45 of free product arriving at my door.

Getting free products with BzzAgent

I received a full sized Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration Night Cream with Clary Sage, a full sized Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration Cream Cleanser with Clary Sage…as well as a mountain of Night Cream samples to give away to friends, family, co-workers, etc.

Getting free stuff with BzzAgent

I’d never tried anything from Burt’s Bees skincare line before.  I’d dabbled in their lip products, like most everyone I think…but that was where my experimentation had ended until very recently.  I was excited to try out some new skin care products as I didn’t have much of a routine that I was dedicated to.

But before I talk about the individual products I got to try, I want to talk a bit about Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration products being 99% natural and the part “Clary Sage” plays in their line of Intense Hydration products.

Burt’s Bees is a product line very dedicated to making  natural products that are GOOD FOR YOU.  They pride themselves on using the best natural ingredients available and processing them in the simplest way possible.  Every package they have for sale states clearly on it, what percentage of natural ingredients are inside so you always know exactly what you are putting on your skin or lips.  Burt’s Bees doesn’t test on animals and they do their best to limit their environmental footprint by using innovative packaging and ensuring zero waste goes to landfills from their facilities.  They are certainly a company you can feel good about supporting with products you can feel good about putting onto your body.

The Intense Hydration line is made with Clary Sage and I found the story behind this crucial ingredient particularly interesting.

Deep in the windswept hills of the Mediterranean, a lone plant fights for its life against the elements.  Clary Sage survives and thrives in spite of its harsh surroundings, thanks to the plant’s fierce will and exceptional ability to adapt and retain moisture.  This remarkable botanical is the inspiration behind Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration Face Care line – the brand’s natural ode to soft, supple and revitalized skin.

In clinical studies, 100% of women tested said their skin felt hydrated after using Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration products.  That is a stat that is hard to argue with.

Intense Hydration Cream Cleanser 

Intense Hydration Cream Cleanser with Clary Sage by Burt's Bees

Cream Cleanser with Clary Sage by Burt's Bees

Burt’s Bees Description states:

  • Provides intense hydration and helps reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles
  • Leaves skin feeling soft, supple and revitalized
  • Removes dirt, oil and makeup
  • Rinses easily without leaving a residue

Intense Hydration Night Cream

Burt's Bees Intense Hydration Night Cream with Clary Sage (for dry skin)

Burt's Bees night cream for dry skin

Burt’s Bees Description states:

  • Replenishes moisture while you sleep – wake up to skin that feels soft, supple and revitalized
  • Provides intense hydration and helps reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles
  • Absorbs quickly thanks to a rich, non-greasy formula

My thoughts after 3 weeks of testing:

I suffer from dry skin mainly throughout the Winter months.  Winter in Canada can be quite drying to all of my skin, but my face always seems to suffer the most, or at least I worry about it more than anything else.  I have combination skin that lends itself to being quite dry from November through March.  It’s especially bad this time of year because when it is really cold outside, I tend to engage in extremely hot showers, which further dry out my skin.  It is near impossible to keep my skin hydrated.

Once I received this set, I really wanted to give the products a fair shake and created a routine where I would remove my eye makeup and use this cleanser and night cream before bed each evening.  The first thing I noticed about this facial cleanser is the amazing scent.  It smells clean and refreshing…almost like what you’d expect a a fresh, mountain meadow to smell like.  This cleanser is not an exfoliant, so the formula is very soft and not too thick.  It spreads easily onto a wet face and a little goes a long way.  It feels extremely gentle and truly does rinse off easily with no hassle.  What I noticed immediately was after I finished washing, my face wasn’t tight and dry feeling.   I’ve experienced several cleansers that although they left me feeling clean, they also left me with an immediate need for face cream, this thankfully wasn’t one of them.  I proceeded to apply my overnight eye cream and then the Burt’s Bees night cream all over my face.  So every night I’ve been going to bed with soft and supple skin that feels very refreshed and clean.  Over the course of the past few weeks, there have been a couple of nights where I didn’t make time for my new routine and I went straight to bed.  Each time, I paid for it the next morning and woke up feeling dry, tight and even experienced some flaky, dry skin across my forehead.  With Burt’s Bees I’m able to wake up feeling hydrated, instead of feeling like I need to go straight into “damage control” mode and play catch up.  The night cream isn’t greasy at all and I end up feeling hydrated for about a 24 hour period after each use.  So it isn’t until the following evening when I start feeling like my skin could use some more nourishment.

So if you suffer from dry skin in winter, or any time, you should really consider giving Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration a try and see if it is right for you!

Do you suffer from dry skin?  What do you use to keep your skin feeling soft and hydrated?

Thanks for reading everyone and Merry Christmas to you and yours!

xox,

Shannon

14 responses

  1. The Intense Hydration Night Cream looks amazingly rich. Exactly the right thing during the cold winter time. 🙂 Thanks for the post dear.

    December 24, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    • Always my pleasure to share. The night cream really is amazing. Being able to wake up and feel soft and hydrated during the winter months is a new thing for me, so I’m really enjoying it! It also doesn’t hurt knowing that what I’m putting on my skin is almost completely natural. Its nice not having to worry about what junk is in there that I am smearing all over my face. 😛 Merry Christmas Hunn!!!

      December 24, 2012 at 4:18 pm

  2. Cool! Thanks for the heads up!

    December 24, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    • Everybody loves free stuff, I figured I should make sure everyone knew about it! Merry Christmas!!!

      December 24, 2012 at 10:17 pm

  3. genevieve

    do you know how the line would work with acne? the fact that its all martial sounds amazing for my sensitive skin! does the night cream feel really thick and greasy at all?

    December 25, 2012 at 11:30 pm

  4. Genevieve

    How well does the line work for acne? I’m not really concerned about clearing up my skin, but I just don’t want to clog my pores… I’m really wanting to try this out, and the fact that it’s mostly natural sounds amazing for my sensitive skin:)

    December 26, 2012 at 2:05 am

    • Hi Genevieve!

      The night cream is thick, but spreads nicely. I’d describe it as rich and not greasy at all. I have hormonal break outs that it doesn’t seem to affect either positively or negatively. It doesn’t cause break outs, or clear them up. I rely on other acne specific products for that. This line specifically just ensure my skin feels soft and hydrated. If I am suffering from acne at the time, I just tend to avoid adding the night cream to that area, because I am wanting them to dry up, not bask in their glory. LOL Hopefully you found this helpful! Let me know if you have any other questions and I will try my best to answer them.

      December 26, 2012 at 11:32 am

  5. Holly J

    I’ve never heard of BzzAgent. It sounds really cool.

    I pretty much bathe in body butter and cream in winter. Body scrubs with oils help too.

    December 26, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    • I wanted to make sure everyone knew about an easy way to get free products, I hope you check them out Holly!

      Battling winter dryness can be a full time job. I always have multiple body butters on the go too, they are life savers!

      December 27, 2012 at 12:19 am

  6. Wow are you kidding me? I could use some free samples! 🙂 Definitely gonna sign up. Like today.

    December 27, 2012 at 9:31 am

    • I know Marisa, it’s great! It might take them a few months to find a campaign that is right for you, just make sure you fill out all the survey’s and frequently check out the survey page because they keep adding new ones. I wish you lots of luck and wonderful FREE campaigns in the future! ❤

      December 27, 2012 at 9:55 am

  7. Pingback: BzzAgent Alert! « MIXED METHOD

Leave a Reply

