A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

“In the Light” eye shadow palette by Stila

In my October Topbox, you might recall that I received a eye shadow sample card for Stila’s “In the Light” eye shadow palette.

It contained two makeup look ideas as well as samples of each shadow from their full-size palette called In the Light.

Although the samples weren’t huge by any means, I had enough to be able to give these eyeshadows a thorough try.  It contained enough for swatches of all the colours as well as 3-4 regular uses as well.

The full size palette contains 10 wearable neutral shades designed to compliment any skin tone.  It retails for $50.00 CAD ($39.00 US) and also contains a limited edition Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner in a matte chocolate brown called “Damsel”.

"In the Light" eye shadow palette by Stila

Photo courtesy of Sephora.com

Swatches from the “In the Light” eye shadow palette:

swatches of "In the Light' palette

Of the two makeup look suggestions included, I decided to showcase the look purrfect cat eye:

Makeup Look using Stila "In the Light" palette

  1. apply “Bare” from lash line to brow bone
  2. apply “Kitten” to the lid and blend
  3. apply “Bliss” to crease and outer corner of the eye
  4. wet brush and apply “Ebony” to lash line, carefully extending the line up past the eye.  (I totally copped out on this step and used my regular black felt tip liner)

As you can see, this is a very soft, subtle and natural eye makeup look that is perfect for daytime.  It also gives you opportunity to use some of your more heavily pigmented lip products for that punch of colour that would be “too much” to pair with a smokey eye.  Above on my lips I am wearing “Hope” by tarte from their line of LipSurgence natural matte lip tints which is one of my absolute favourites!

You will find this look in the full-size palette as well, inside a booklet containing 5 other suggested combinations.  These look books are always great for those who might be a little overwhelmed with too many choices and aren’t sure where to start.  I particularly love them, because they generally suggest pairing certain colours together you might not normally have considered.

Overall, this palette is quite lovely and has a nice variety of natural shades.  For me though, I already have enough neutrals that purchasing this set wouldn’t make much sense.  They do however have sister palettes with different combinations:

  • In the Moment” is a great universal palette with a mix of neutrals and purples that are ultra-wearable no matter your colourings.
  • Stila - In The Moment Eye Shadow Palette
  • In the Know” is a collection of 10 earth-inspired matte shadows which can be a fantastic addition to the beauty addict that mainly has lustre shadows.
  • Stila - In The Know Eye Shadow Palette
  • In the Garden”  is botanical inspired with a nice combination of matte and jewel toned shadows.
  • Stila - In The Garden Eye Shadow Palette

So no matter what your collection looks like at the moment and what you might be looking to branch out into…chances are Stila probably has you covered with a variety of combinations for the savvy shopper.

Have you tried Stila eye shadows before?  What did you think?  Which palette is your favourite?

Thanks for reading!

xox,

Shannon

12 responses

  1. Ooo, I really like that lip tint. Does it have good wear time?

    December 10, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    • Very good, mostly like a stain. It wears nicely and evenly. Definitely one of my all time favourite lip products! You’ve got to try them out! The “Give Me Some Lip” sampler kit that I reviewed a little while back is a fantastic deal and has the full size “Hope” for almost the same price as if you buy it individually. It’s basically like you get all the other products for free. Such a good purchase!

      December 10, 2012 at 9:21 pm

  2. I have just started using eye shadow again, I may try this!!!!

    December 10, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    • The colours are really natural and pretty. There are so many possible combinations with this palette, you can go soft for day and dark for night with no trouble. It’s a great palette if you are just wanting to get in the groove of things again. You’ll have to let me know if you end up trying it out. 🙂

      December 10, 2012 at 9:22 pm

  3. DressedinMYcloset

    Pretty colors! I love the Night sky color the best! Xo

    December 10, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    • That one is actually my favourite too! Probably because it is the least “neutral” of the bunch hehe. But yes, the set is really pretty overall. If I was going to buy one of these palettes though, I think I’m most drawn to the “In the Garden” set with the neutral and jewel tones mixed together.

      December 10, 2012 at 9:24 pm

  4. I liked Stila as far as color but didn’t like that they were not as smooth as I wanted them to be. All around good shadows though, but you know I am very picky with my shadows! I think it is my eyelids. 🙂

    December 11, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    • That’s good feedback Marisa, thanks! I have no doubt you gave them a good test, are you super happy with your Inglot Freedom palette still?

      December 11, 2012 at 7:03 pm

      • I am! I can’t believe how consistently I love them and how easy they are to blend and apply every day. Creamy smooth and very consistent. I can’t wait to get more and fill my “eyeshadow palette” up. I still think Nate thought it was a quad when he ordered it! 🙂

        December 11, 2012 at 8:41 pm

        • They really are pretty great, I love mine as well! I can’t wait to try out some of their other products next time I’m at a store. It’s SO fun trying out new stuff! 🙂

          December 11, 2012 at 9:30 pm

  5. gorgeous palette, you know I don’t think I have any Stila palettes, I have lipgloss and liner I think but no palettes, hmm I may need to change that

    December 17, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    • Yeah, I have a variety of their products too, but this was my first venture into their eye shadows. Probably because their packaging isn’t as dazzling as some of the competition. But really, the value and quality is there, no reason to not try them out if you like the colours they are offering!

      December 17, 2012 at 4:54 pm

Leave a Reply

