A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Penguin Nail Art

I came across this adorable Penguin Nail Art video tutorial and knew I just had to try it!

Here was my final product:

Penguin Manicure Tutorial

I took some progress pictures so you can see them coming together:

First, I painted all of my nails with a basic black nail polish.  I used Liquid Vinyl by Orly.

Black nail polish by Orly

Then, using my new dotting tools, I did my best to create hearts on top of the black using a white nail polish.  I used Paper Mache nail polish by Fingerpaints.  This was definitely the most difficult part of this manicure, especially when working on my right hand with my left.

How to: Penguin Nails

The little penguins start to take shape once you start the next step and begin adding the orange on.  I didn’t have a nail striper in yellowy-orange like she does in the video, so I decided to use my nail dotters and a basic orange nail polish (I used Hi Def – Sephora by OPI).  I did my best to add little feet and beaks similar to what she did in her tutorial.

penguin manicure tutorial

Next up was the eyes.  I started with black dots, gave them a minute or two to set…

Penguin Mani

…and then added the white dots on top.

Penguin Manicure, nail art

Part of me actually prefers them without the white dot on top.  They are so cute with the big fat black eyes.  Either way though, they are very adorable and I was so happy I found this tutorial on youtube.

Here is the complete video tutorial I followed, I hope you check it out!

This kind of nail art was totally new to me and definitely a challenge.  But I found it very rewarding because of how fun they looked afterwards.  I’m looking forward to trying out something like this again soon.

What are your favourite Winter/Holiday inspired nails this season?

xox,

Shannon

25 responses

  1. Whoaa this is SO cute!!! Love it!

    December 8, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    • Thanks Sunny! I couldn’t stop staring at my fingers the entire time I was sporting this mani, it’s just too fun!

      December 8, 2012 at 5:08 pm

  2. Aww so cute! You did such a good job! I have just done a snowflake nail art! So hard lol! X

    December 8, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    • Thanks!

      Snowflakes terrify me Brooke! lol, maybe someday…like with a stencil or a stamp hehehe

      December 8, 2012 at 5:09 pm

      • Aww lol I was trying to decide on a Christmas themed nail art and I picked snowflakes, when I started to do it I instantly regretted the decision! lol
        They don’t look too bad though! I think stamping would be much easier! hehe
        But well done on the penguins, They look so cute! 🙂 x

        December 8, 2012 at 5:18 pm

        • Yeah, I think I will stay away from freehand snowflakes this year lol. Maybe next winter!

          The penguins are really fun though, you should try them. 🙂

          December 8, 2012 at 11:26 pm

        • Probably best! lol they were so difficult lol I think I am going to give penguins a go! 🙂

          December 10, 2012 at 1:24 pm

        • The good part about penguins is, if they look a little deformed, they are still cute! Deformed snowflakes look like blobs. LOL

          December 10, 2012 at 4:33 pm

  3. This is so cute! And looks like its quite easy to follow, thanks for the tutorial 🙂

    December 8, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    • Glad you like it – but tutorial credit definitely goes to the creator of that video. She is so creative!!

      I just tried not to butcher it, lol! Thanks for commenting Victoria. 🙂

      December 8, 2012 at 11:27 pm

  4. Omg this is just too cute! It looks really difficult but you managed to do it quite nicely!

    December 8, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    • It was more difficult than she makes it look, especially the hearts…but it really wasn’t too bad. It’s certainly something fun to do while sitting in front of the TV. And when you are done, its totally worth the work, because you end up with the cutest little finger tips! hehe

      Thanks for taking the time to comment Gena!

      December 8, 2012 at 11:30 pm

  5. This is so cute – I just love penguins! 🙂 You must have very steady hands. Was it difficult doing this nail art using the hand you don’t normally use (such as trying to polish your right hand if you’re right-handed)?

    December 9, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    • Hey Nicole! Yes, my right hand was definitely tricky. But honestly, doing the “heart” part was tough on both hands. I just tried to go really slow and not make a total mess. A couple of times I went back in with the black to shape the white hearts better. But it really wasn’t too bad. I was really happy with how they turned out and am sure that this would just get easier with practice. I’m a big penguin fan too and my husband loves the Pittsburgh Penguins, so it only made sense when I saw this tutorial. Because you love penguins too, you absolutely have to try this. They will make you so happy whenever you look at them! I promise! 🙂

      December 9, 2012 at 4:58 pm

  6. Ahh, super cute!! They are adorable!! ^^

    December 9, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    • Thanks – I love them too! This really is such a fun winter mani!

      December 9, 2012 at 4:59 pm

  7. That’s too cute! Love it.

    December 9, 2012 at 5:40 pm

  8. Love this manicure. I might have to try this. I don’t think I’ll have patience for all 10 fingers. I might get 2 fingers per hand done. Maybe the ring finger and the thumb. You know me Shannon, I don’t have your patience for nail art. Yours look amazing!

    December 9, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    • Haha, thanks Rebecca! But it actually goes pretty quick if you are doing it while watching a show or something. I just did each step on all 10 fingers and then went onto the next step on all 10 fingers. It didn’t take as long as I expected. But you are right, having one or two accent penguins on each hand would look just as adorable! That is a great idea and something I didn’t consider. If I had, this post might have turned out differently. LOL Thanks for commenting!

      December 9, 2012 at 8:20 pm

  9. Pingback: Snowy Penguin Nails « The Lipstick Gal

  10. Oh wow, I love this, its awesome! Well done Shannon! xx

    December 14, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    • Glad you like them – thanks! I thought they were adorable. 🙂 Such a fun mani for winter!

      December 14, 2012 at 4:44 pm

  11. omg how stinkin cute, love them!!! ❤ I love penguins ❤

    December 17, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    • Hehe – thanks! Who doesn’t though, seriously?!?! Penguins are one of the cutest animals on the planet! ❤

      I miss this mani already, it was so much fun to be sporting!

      December 17, 2012 at 4:53 pm

Leave a Reply

