A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Nail Dotting: my new set of tools and my first mani

There are so many bloggers out there that create amazing and beautiful designs with the help of “nail dotters”, or “dotting tools”.  I’d looked around for them at Sally Beauty Supply, Wal-Mart, drugstores, etc and was never able to find any sort of set that offered multiple sizes.

So I turned to my trusted friend Samira who let me in on the secret of where she got her set of nail dotters…Ebay!

I paid only $1 (“Buy it now”) for the below set of nail dotting tools a couple of months ago and received free shipping to boot!  Good luck beating this deal anywhere, I think it’s safe to say that you won’t.

$1 Nail Dotters - Ebay

They shipped this nail dotting set from China and it arrived about a month after placing my order.

I checked out Ebay just now and this set is a common sale item from multiple sellers, with various prices ranging from $1-$2 including shipping.  So if you are looking for a set like this and not in a major hurry, this could be a great solution for you.  It certainly was for me!

A set like this one helps you create different sized near-perfect circles with no hassle.  You can also use the small tips to create more detailed designs if you struggle like I do with using a brush to create free-hand art.  I find the latter especially taxing when using my left hand to create the designs on my right hand.

A common alternative to nail dotting tools like these, is the use of toothpicks and bobby pins to create a similar effect.  But you won’t have access to the same size range that you would with a set of tools like this one.  So for $1, I figured I couldn’t go wrong. 🙂

Seeing as this was my first attempt at nail dotting, I wanted to do a very simple manicure to begin with.  I basically just wanted to test out the different sizes and see if I could get used to using them.

Bubble nails, dot cluster manicure

I used Turned up Turquoise (neon nail polish by China Glaze) as my base and then created small dot clusters using black and white nail polishes (Liquid Vinyl by Orly and Paper Mache by Finger Paints respectively).

Polka Dot Nails

This manicure was super easy and quick to create.  I had everything done in just a few minutes!  I look forward to getting more creative with these nail dotters and stretching my limits when it comes to nail art.  If there are any pointers or secrets for using these, please let me know!

Dot Cluster Manicure

What is your favourite design or way to use nail dotting tools?

xox,

Shannon

Bubble Manicure, Nail Dotting Design

22 responses

  1. I love your mani! I think this is cuter than having dots all over the nails!

    December 6, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    • Thanks Sunny! I just wanted a little splash of dots to draw the eye and was pretty happy with how it turned out. 🙂 I LOVE Turned up Turquoise though, so I’m pretty sure no matter what my dots looked like, this base colour woulda helped save the day. 🙂

      December 6, 2012 at 5:17 pm

  2. I have just purchased these as well! Your nails look fab! 🙂 x

    December 6, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    • You are in for a treat Brooke, they are too much fun!!

      December 6, 2012 at 5:49 pm

      • I hope I can get the hang of it 🙂 x

        December 7, 2012 at 5:04 pm

        • I think you’ll find they are quite easy to use. I’m sure you’ll do great!

          December 7, 2012 at 5:16 pm

        • Aww Thank you! x

          December 7, 2012 at 6:05 pm

  3. Holly J

    This looks beyond professional!! I bet you could charge people to teach them how to do this. You know, how women have Tupperware parties? You could do a nails and makeup party. Just a thought.

    December 6, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    • Holly – that is so sweet of you to say – thanks! Maybe someday. 🙂 I feel like I have a lot to learn still. Sounds like a fun party idea for a group of girl friends though so everyone could practice, share tips and experiment! It’s always good to stretch one’s comfort zone! Thanks for commenting Hunn! ❤

      December 6, 2012 at 9:34 pm

  4. Looks great Shannon. Love the dots. I have about three different sizes, but nothing this varied. I might need to invest in this set. My nail brushes don’t work as well as I’d like. I suppose the more I try, the better I’d get with the brush. I do love that turquoise color you’re wearing from CG.

    By the way, I picked up two of the metallic glitters from the CG Christmas collection. Champagne Kisses and Glistening Snow. Angel Wings didn’t look good on my skin tone. Thanks for the nudge in the right direction.

    December 6, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    • Hey Rebecca! Glad to hear you were able to find a couple polishes from the China Glaze Holiday Joy set. I’ve been kicking myself for not getting Glistening Snow, the more I see it, the more I want it. At the time I thought “who needs another silver”, but now….*sigh*. I hope they still have it when I go back.

      I only have one nail art brush and am not a huge fan. Likely because I’m just terrible at free hand nail art I think. I seem to struggle with anything that needs a soft and graceful stroke…especially with my shaky left hand working on my right. But these dotters are so much fun! I was shocked how quick and easy it was to come up with something so cute. 🙂

      Thanks for commenting Rebecca!

      Oh, and btw, I got invited to my first Bzz campaign thanks to you turning me onto it! Burts Bees skin care – and so far, I’m in love – it smells amazing!

      December 6, 2012 at 9:27 pm

      • Love Buzz Agent! I just got the Cover Girl Flipsticks campaign. I’ll have to do a post about it this weekend. So far, I’m amazed how much I’m enjoying them.

        Glad to know that you got the Burts Bees campaign, I was sad I missed out being invited to that one. I LOVE Burts Bees stuff. Have a wonderful weekend my friend.

        December 8, 2012 at 1:01 am

        • Ohhhhhhhhhhh Covergirl Flipsticks – that sounds like fun! Can’t wait to hear all about them! Sounds like we both got good campaigns. 🙂

          This is actually my first time using Burts Bees facial products, I’d only ever tried their lip products before, so it is all very exciting. 🙂

          You have a great weekend as well Rebecca! ❤

          December 8, 2012 at 9:49 am

  5. I also have the same set of dotting tools 🙂 Your mani is really cute 🙂

    December 6, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    • Thanks! This set is amazing – I really think that everyone should have it for the price, its almost silly not to! LOL – I sound like a real addict!

      December 6, 2012 at 9:22 pm

  6. I have the same set, too! Love them. Great mani!!

    December 6, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    • Thanks Kimberly, I like how it turned out too. 🙂 This set is amazing, everyone needs this if they are at all into playing with their nails!

      December 6, 2012 at 10:48 pm

  7. Super cute nailart! I need those dotting tools!’;)

    December 7, 2012 at 7:51 am

  8. Gorgeous nails!! I’ve been looking for a tool like this forever I defenetly have to check on eBay! Thanks for sharing Shannon! ❤

    December 7, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    • You’re welcome Nicole, I hope you love them as much as I do. Have fun!

      December 7, 2012 at 5:15 pm

  9. Pingback: Penguin Nail Art « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

