A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Cinderella Moonlit Kiss Lipstick Set

Sephora collaborated with Disney this year to bring us a Cinderella limited edition collection for the 2012 holiday season.  It has everything from eyeshadow palettes, compacts, perfume, nail polishes and this lipstick set:

When I first swatched these colours in store, I absolutely fell in love with this set of lipsticks and knew I had to purchase it.

"Lady Tremaine" swatch, "Pumpkin" swatch, "Who is she?" swatch, "My Moment" swatch

This set retails for $30 CAD or $25 US.

The packaging of these lipsticks is very pretty (I’m such a sucker for nice packaging, it gets me every time).  Each lipstick is in a silver foil-like tube that is embossed to match the rest of the Cinderella collection.  They certainly look sleek and classy.

Cinderella Lipstick set - packagingCinderella Lipstick Set at Sephora

Lady Tremaine is a deep berry pink, perfect for the fall and winter seasons.  Don’t let the colour of the stick fool you, it’s misleading and not that dark!

Cinderella Lipstick Set - "Lady Tremaine"

"Lady Tremaine" lipstick swatch (Cinderella collection by Sephora)

Pumpkin is a light pastel peachy-pink.  To me, this shade is more of a Spring lipstick, but it is neutral enough it can be worn year round.  “Pumpkin” is a great lipstick to pair with a dramatic eye to create a subtle and complimenting lip.

"Pumpkin" Cinderella Lipstick review

"Pumpkin" lipstick swatch on lips - Cinderella collection by Sephora

Who is she? is described as a warm rosy mauve, another great versatile neutral.

"Who is she?" lipstick review and swatch

"Who is she?" lipstick swatch from the Cinderella collection by Sephora

My Moment was the most interesting out of the bunch.  Described as a pink champagne glitter, “My Moment” is my least favourite from the set.   It hardly has any colour to it at all and is mostly just a sheer glitter stick.  You have to really pile it on your lips to get a nude/light pink look as shown in the swatch below.

"My Moment" lipstick review and swatches

"My Moment" lipstick swatch on lips - Cinderella collection by Sephora 2012

Aside from the packaging I personally found the overall quality of this set lacking.   The lipsticks themselves are quite drying.  I needed to wear a clear lip balm before application to help get me through.  If I didn’t, they would glide on nice and creamy during application, but it wasn’t long after that my lips were feeling a bit tight and quite dry.  I wasn’t sure if it was the lipstick or just the season.  But the next day when I opted for my Lancome Rouge in Love lipstick, I had no doubt it was the Cinderella lipstick that was drying…  With my Lancome or Clinique lipsticks, I feel no dryness at all this time of year.  But yes, you can expect a steep price jump if you are going to opt for the latter.

Three of the shades in this limited edition Cinderella collection do have really great pigmentation though, so if you don’t mind starting with a clear balm, you should be fine.  As you can see in the swatches above, the colours themselves are really pretty and were actually quite unique additions to my collection.  If I can just get used to wearing the lip balm first, I’d probably be able to get a lot of use out of this set.

Given all of the amazing holiday lip sets this time of year, I think people can probably do better as far as value  and comfort goes.  Sephora has a lot of great lipstick sets that are the same price or just slightly more than this one.  So, even if you have to spend a little extra, I always think its better to get something you can use with ease and use often rather than just getting the best “deal”.  And for some people that very well could be this set, it just depends on what you are looking for in your lipsticks and whether this formula works well for you or not.

I’ve had this set for a few weeks already and have hardly worn them at all, not once since my initial trials actually (other than swatches)…so I am debating taking them back.  With Sephora’s return policy, I have 60 days from date of purchase to return them…and if I go another 3 weeks without touching them, then I think a return probably makes the most sense.

If you have this Cinderella Moonlit Kiss Lipstick Set already, I’d love to hear what you thought of the formula.  Please comment below!

Do you ever compromise comfort for fancy packaging or a great shade that you fall in love with?

xox,

Shannon

Ingredient List for Moonlit Kiss Lipstick set by Sephora

13 responses

  1. Ouch, I was going to say this looks like a pretty good set when I read about the drying part. No good, definitely no good at all. I don’t need lipsticks to be “moisturizing” per se, but they certainly can’t be drying either! It’s nice you still had the choice of taking it back though.

    December 2, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    • Yeah, most of my lipsticks aren’t moisturising either, nor are they drying. They just sort of exist. Which works okay for me!

      Sephora is really great for returns thankfully, I’m just sad that this set wasn’t everything I was hoping for, because the colours are really pretty! I think I will give these lipsticks one more chance this week at work, with a clear gloss as a base and decide if they are worth the hassle.

      As always Sunny, thanks for commenting hunn! ❤

      December 2, 2012 at 4:42 pm

  2. Really pretty colours, I love the deep berry pink one!

    December 3, 2012 at 10:22 am

    • Yes, Lady Tremaine is a very pretty lipstick! It’s very unique too, I didn’t have anything like it. I had berry ones, but not as deep and rich as this one. Now, if I can just get used to wearing a gloss underneath it, I’ll be able to keep this set.

      Thanks for commenting hunn!

      December 3, 2012 at 11:16 am

  3. these are gorgeous and i absolutely love the packaging! it sucks that they’re so drying tho. major turn off

    December 5, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    • I know, I know and I know. *sigh*

      They are gorgeous, the packaging is beautiful and they are drying. 😦

      I’ve been wearing them this week to work with a clear gloss as a base so I can make up my mind about returning them. I don’t really think they are worth the money, but I like the colours so much, I almost want to keep them and make them work as best I can. Not sound reasoning by any stretch of the imagination…..

      Have you ever kept something Holly despite its not living up to your reasonable expectations?

      December 6, 2012 at 12:07 am

  4. Lady Tremaine is GORGEOUS, that sucks so much that they dry out, I HATE that!! 😦

    December 7, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    • Yeah Amanda, Lady Tremaine is my favourite too, its such a nice rich berry. But yes, the drying bugs me. From the other reviews I’ve read about half find them drying and no one else reports problems. So perhaps they were awesome for some people, depending on where you live. Gotta love Sephora’s return policy though, you can try them out and know for sure. 🙂

      December 7, 2012 at 5:15 pm

      • That is oret awesome! And to answer your other quesition, i have for sure kept products that i had to use other products to make work lol

        December 7, 2012 at 6:18 pm

        • That makes me feel better, glad I’m not alone on that front! I always feel sort of annoyed, like I shouldn’t have to be doing that extra step if they just made their product the way they are supposed to….

          But then, once I see it “working” I get all excited and happy because whatever it was looks great. *sigh* I have a problem I think. lol

          December 7, 2012 at 6:22 pm

  5. Love the “My Moment” one! Great post!

    December 8, 2012 at 12:36 am

  6. Pingback: Tarte’s LipSurgence Collector’s Set (complete set of indoor and outdoor swatches) « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

