A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Holiday Joy Collection: China Glaze 2012

The holidays are quickly approaching and the big nail polish brands are all coming out with their special collections and limited edition polishes.

China Glaze has a very pretty collection this year called “Holiday Joy”.  It is what you would expect, lots of reds and lots of glitzy glitters.  Here is a look at this years colour palette courtesy of chinaglaze.com


Merry Berry

Cranberry Splash

Red Satin

With Love

Pure Joy

Champagne Kisses

Winter Holly

Glitter All The Way

Angel Wings

Glistening Snow

Blue Bells Ring

Pizzazz

There were two nail lacquers I was especially excited to get my hands on from this collection.  Angel Wings being one and Glitter All The Way being the other.  I still might break down and pick up a couple more…Merry Berry and Winter Holly are both so pretty!  *sigh*

For now, I just have the two, but I thought I would share my swatches of them with you anyway.

Angel Wings is a clear base polish packed with gold micro glitters and holographic micro glitters dispersed throughout it.

Holiday Joy 2012 Nail Polish Collection by China Glaze - "Angel Wings"

It’s a really pretty polish!  This lacquer offers that insanely sparkly glitzy look that is perfect for the holiday season.  With Angel Wings you can expect mostly opaque coverage after two coats, but will need three if you want complete coverage.  Like most glitter polishes, it will dry gritty and grainy to the touch, so you will most likely want a top coat.

I had a bit of a hard time capturing its true look on camera, so I’ve included both a swatch without flash and one with flash:

Angel Wings Nail Polish Swatch

Angel Wings swatch without flash

"Angel Wings" swatch, China Glaze Holiday Joy 2012 Collection

Angel Wings swatch with flash

Glitter All The Way quickly became one of my all-time favourite glitter polishes.  As you can see, it is super fun and uber colourful.  I had nothing even remotely like it in my collection.

China Glaze - Glitter All The Way Nail Polish - Holiday Joy 2012 Collection

This polish contains gold, red, purple and green glitters – all packed in a clear base.  The glitters themselves aren’t as fine as the ones in Angel Wings but they are by no means chunky or bulky.  Glitter All The Way will be opaque after 3 coats, or will serve as a very pretty top coat if you just want to add some glitz and glam to your already existing manicure (it looks very beautiful over any really dark polishes like black or vampy red).  I think it’s a perfect polish for this years holiday parties!

And for the sake of consistency I’m also sharing pictures of this one without flash and with flash:

"Glitter All The Way" nail polish swatch

Glitter All The Way swatch without flash

multi coloured nail polish (glitter)

Glitter All The Way swatch with flash

Which polishes and new collections have you most excited this year?  What polish will you be wearing to your holiday parties?

xox,
Shannon

27 responses

  1. Oh wow! To be honest I’m not a glitter person (too much trouble removing it), but Angel Wings is adorable! I think Essie and OPI have done a great job this year.

    November 29, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    • Hey Sunny! Angel Wings is actually such a fine glitter that it came off almost just like regular polish. There was no shredding of cotton balls. It hardly needed any more coaxing than your regular polish would, I was pleasantly surprised. 🙂

      All the big brands always come out with gorgeous sets, I agree! There are some really beautiful ones in both the Essie set and the OPI set. I usually end up with more China Glaze though simply because they are much less expensive for me.

      November 29, 2012 at 5:30 pm

  2. Im looking forward to picking up that glitter, its gorgeous

    November 29, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    • It really really is! It was a perfect addition to my collection, so different from everything I already have. 🙂

      November 29, 2012 at 8:52 pm

  3. I’m loving the metallic glitters, and I’m really thinking about getting them because I missed the ones in the Safari Collection. They look amazing!

    November 30, 2012 at 1:50 am

    • You definitely should Rebecca! Angel Wing is the same formula as I’m Not Lion…it’s just a little more gold/mustard instead of the light beige of I’m Not Lion. Same holographic glitters mixed in though and still very pretty. Some of the other glitters in the collection that I didn’t get are stunning too. If I had it my way, I would’ve bought the entire set! hehe But I need to demonstrate a small ounce of self control. 😉

      November 30, 2012 at 10:47 am

      • Angel Wing, Champagne Kisses and Glistening Snow are the ones I’m loving right now. Sally’s here I come!

        November 30, 2012 at 11:29 am

        • Oh Rebecca, you are going to love them! Have fun – can’t wait to see which one is your favourite. 🙂

          November 30, 2012 at 2:14 pm

  4. I picked up Essie Leading Lady to try out for Christmas, but I love a lot of these China Glaze colors too – I might have to try Glitter All The Way – it looks really fun!

    November 30, 2012 at 7:29 am

    • Hey Kimberly! I just looked up “Leading Lady” and it looks gorgeous, such a pretty red, perfect for Christmas! I have “Ruby Pumps” by China Glaze and figured that is enough red sparkle to kill a person, so I have a hard time picking up another. Glitter all the Way is really so much fun! I used it for my husband’s Christmas party last weekend and will likely use it for mine next weekend. Great time of year for glitter and sparkles. I never feel like I can get away with intense ones like that in any season other than winter. Am I crazy?

      November 30, 2012 at 10:50 am

      • Haha no you’re not crazy at all! I totally agree that winter is the best season for glitter. Normally I don’t wear a lot of sparkly polish but as soon as the holiday season rolls around all I want are glittery fingertips!

        November 30, 2012 at 10:57 am

        • Good to know I’m not alone! Its funny how I won’t use my glitter polishes for several months and then as November slowly passes by, I find myself digging in my stash for all my favourite sparkly ones from the year before and being peeved off I can’t find a particular one. lol

          November 30, 2012 at 10:59 am

        • I know what that’s like!

          November 30, 2012 at 7:16 pm

  5. Angel Wings is so pretty! I have Red Satin and love it!

    November 30, 2012 at 7:50 am

    • Hey Julia – thanks for visiting and for taking the time to comment! Red Satin sure looks like a gorgeous classic red, everyone needs to have something like it! I could actually probably stand to add it to my collection too. *sigh* I want all of them!

      November 30, 2012 at 10:52 am

  6. Love glitter for this time of year! 🙂 x

    November 30, 2012 at 8:27 am

    • I couldn’t agree more – this is the perfect time of year for glitter! I never really use it at all in any season other than Winter. Unless it is a small accent or something, but never full nails like this. How about you Brooke?

      November 30, 2012 at 10:53 am

      • I am the same. I am not a glitter fan for most of the year unless like you said its a small accent. Then when its winter I seem to be drawn to glitter! 🙂 x

        November 30, 2012 at 11:21 am

        • It’s just so perfect in a winter wonderland. We need something a little glitzy and sparkly to keep the winter blues away! 🙂

          November 30, 2012 at 2:12 pm

  7. I love sparkly nail polish. So gorgeous!

    December 1, 2012 at 12:04 am

    • Me too! I just can’t seem to get enough of them right now! 😀

      December 1, 2012 at 12:08 am

  8. Wow I love Glitter All The Way, so pretty! x

    December 2, 2012 at 5:28 pm

  9. I wish China Glaze was cheaper and more readily available down under! Great work. I still find glitter really hard to take off. I must remember to try the PVA glue trick!

    December 4, 2012 at 12:19 am

    • Hey – thanks for commenting! Ebay generally has pretty decent prices for China Glaze, not sure about their shipping methods though and if it ends up not being worth it?

      As for glitter removal, I felt the same way for a really long time, but now I don’t worry about it anymore since I discovered this method:
      https://eyemasq.wordpress.com/2012/09/30/how-to-remove-glitter-nail-polish-the-easy-way/

      Not sure if you’ve tried it before? But it is my favourite! Let me know if you give it a go. 🙂

      December 4, 2012 at 9:02 am

      • Yeah! I’ve tried that method. Unfortunately it didn’t work for me. Maybe my acetone wasn’t strong enough, but I still had to work at it and rub it off with a cotton pad.

        December 4, 2012 at 6:43 pm

        • Hmmn, must be some hard core glitter! lol

          Some are a bit feistier than others, but usually if I just leave them on for an extra minute or two, it will all get it all off.

          Ahhh glitter – a love hate relationship! 🙂

          December 4, 2012 at 6:53 pm

Leave a Reply

