A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Four Seasons of Blogging

When I started Eyemasq last November, I had no idea that I would stick with “this blogging thing” for a full year, let alone enjoy it as much as I have.  

Fall in Ottawa

Autumn Fog in Ottawa

What I’ve found that I love most about blogging is that it serves as a journal of sorts for me.  It really gives me a chance to catalogue new experiences and forever have note of how I felt in those special moments.  I always find it especially interesting to go back and review old posts and see where my head was at months ago.

Emerald Green Wedding Dress at Outdoor Winter Wedding, Ottawa Canada

Winter Wedding in Ottawa

Over the past year I’ve been able to share some of my crazy travel experiences with you, my wonderful wedding, experimentations with makeup/nails and even my special visit with a long time penpal from Brazil that I had the pleasure of meeting in person for the first time.

Ottawa in the Spring

Samira at Stanley’s Maple Farm, Ottawa

So much has happened in the past 12 months and I’m thankful to have a small piece of it documented here in my little sanctuary.  And if anyone chooses to actually read it, then that is just a huge bonus for me!

Mont Royal Parc

Mont Royal, Quebec

I’m thrilled that I haven’t grown tired of this yet – because I still have what seems like a never-ending list of new things I want to post about and share with my readers (old and new).

Beautiful fall pictures

Autumn colours in Ottawa

It was our first snow fall of the season yesterday and I can’t believe how quickly time has flown by.  It feels like winter was just here and that I just wrote my first post.  I think seeing all of the snow really reminded me of how long I have been at this.

Horse drawn carriage, outdoor winter wedding

Horse Draw Carriage, Winter Wedding in Ottawa

So let me say a big THANK YOU to anyone who has ever taken a minute out of their busy lives to read my words here at Eyemasq!  Your encouraging responses and visits are what have kept me motivated to keep going this past year.  And I have special love for my fellow bloggers – you constantly inspire me to try new things and I learn so much from all of you, I don’t know what I would do without you all!!  

Sharing snip-its of my life here has been a true pleasure as I attempt to carve out a tiny piece of the world wide web for myself and I look forward to many more seasons with all of you.  ❤

Truly…thanks for reading!

xox,

Shannon

33 responses

  1. Yaaay congrats on the first blogoversary, Shannon! Many more to come!

    I LOVE that wedding picture and the one with a squirrel. Too darn cute!

    November 27, 2012 at 4:48 pm

    • Thanks Sunny! I’m sure I never woulda made it this far without you and people like you. You all make it so much fun and worthwhile. ❤

      That is one of my favourite wedding pictures too, it was the one that we sent out in the Thank You cards actually. So it could be argued that it is THE favourite. 😀

      Thanks for all of your bazillion comments and trips to Eyemasq, you've been a supporter for longer than I can remember. THANK YOU!

      November 27, 2012 at 5:18 pm

  2. I’m glad you stuck at it!

    November 27, 2012 at 4:48 pm

  3. What a lovely blog! Thanks for sharing with us! 🙂 x

    November 27, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    • Oh my goodness, thanks for reading! It means so much to me that people take time out of their busy schedules to check out my thoughts every once in a while.

      Thanks so much for helping keep me motivated! ❤

      November 27, 2012 at 5:20 pm

      • No problem! Its nice to get Inspired by blogs as well and I love your blog! 🙂 x

        November 27, 2012 at 5:26 pm

  4. Congrats on the anniversary! keep it up! 🙂

    November 27, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    • Thanks Hunn! Not sure where the time went, but I’m still enjoying it so I guess that is what’s important!

      November 27, 2012 at 7:26 pm

      • oh thats for sure. The important this is the motivation and the fun sticking to it.

        November 27, 2012 at 7:51 pm

  5. I’m so glad to be in your history!! Miss you so much! 🙂

    November 27, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    • Miss you too love! Your visit here in April was such a special time for me and it will always be remembered fondly. I look forward to when it comes time that I visit you in Brazil! ❤ xox

      November 27, 2012 at 7:28 pm

  6. Congratulations!

    November 27, 2012 at 7:20 pm

  7. Great idea for a blog. Really lovely.

    November 27, 2012 at 11:37 pm

    • That’s very sweet of you to say – I’m so glad you like it. Thank you!!!

      November 27, 2012 at 11:48 pm

  8. I really like your blog ! I am really loving blogging to and I am hoping I stick with it, I dont see why i wouldnt tho! 🙂 I nominated you for the Liebster blog award If you check on my recent blog post at BlendtousleTease.com you can see your name amongst others ! Follow the steps and congrats !

    November 28, 2012 at 12:12 am

    • That is so awesome – thank you!

      I’m really glad you like Eyemasq! Its amazing how much time I spend on this thing, but it never seems to feel like work, I just really enjoy it. 🙂 I have no doubt you will stick with this thing for a while too, your blog is great and you can tell you have lots of fun with it.

      November 28, 2012 at 7:55 am

  9. Glad you’ve had a great first year. I’m also glad I found your blog accidentally. I love reading it! I also love that we’ve become friends. I freely admit that I wear way more eye makeup that I did before I found your blog. Thanks!

    November 28, 2012 at 2:41 am

    • Rebecca, you know that means so much to me! I think that is so fun that you’ve been stepping out of your comfort zone because of something you saw on Eyemasq. I’m going to have to be more brave with my red lipsticks in your honour instead of saving them for special occasions! I’ve always loved your blog too – your posts are always really fun to read (or watch). Looking forward to another year filled with much more nonsense! ❤

      November 28, 2012 at 7:59 am

  10. congratulations with your first year! i really like reading your blog!!:D

    November 28, 2012 at 10:35 am

  11. I have Tagged you to do the Winterlicious TAG! Check out my post for the questions http://propersweetie.wordpress.com/2012/11/28/winterlicious-tag/

    November 28, 2012 at 1:06 pm

  12. Suzie

    Beautiful!

    November 29, 2012 at 12:05 pm

  13. Congratulations! 🙂

    December 2, 2012 at 3:08 am

  14. What a great post!
    http://www.theflamboyante.com

    December 3, 2012 at 6:59 pm

  15. I love your tip dyed hair!

    December 4, 2012 at 12:18 am

    • Haha, that picture with the tip dyed hair is actually my Brazilian penpal Samira, not me. I’m sure she would say “thank you” though! 🙂

      December 4, 2012 at 9:06 am

  16. You are so pretty!! Love your blog!!

    December 4, 2012 at 2:52 am

    • Thanks for reading dear!! I’m so glad you are liking what you found here. 🙂 I tried to check out your site, but it seems to be a dead end. Are you no longer blogging yourself? 😦

      December 4, 2012 at 9:28 am

Leave a Reply

