A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

My Birthday Makeup

So another year has come and gone and I am officially older!  I’m not sure where the time goes.  It was my 28th birthday last week and although I haven’t partaken in any big festivities to celebrate it since I was a kid, my husband still treated me with flowers and took me out for a lovely date night.

I absolutely love how bright the flowers are, they really helped brighten up our apartment this time of year seeing as the sun doesn’t like to help with that at the moment!  Aren’t they pretty?!

bright colourful flowers

For my makeup I wanted to experiment with some eyeshadow shades I haven’t tried before (other than swatching) and a method I’ve only done once.

The eyeshadow being Makeup Geek:

White Lies, Mercury, Galaxy and Corrupt eye shadow swatches by Makeup Geek

The method being scotch tape.  The first time I stuck scotch tape on my face was for my first attempt at an Arabic eye makeup look.  The tape serves the same purpose it would as if you were painting.  It stops the colours from spilling over where they aren’t wanted.  It creates a nice precise line with a clean, sharp, finished look.

I used it here with this look to create a dramatic and clean line on the outside edge of my eye makeup.

Makeup Geek Eyeshadow look, Corrupt, Galaxy, Mercury and White Lies eyeshadows

Wanting to know what I did?

black and silver smokey eye makeup look

  1. I like to start out with filling in my brows first to help frame the area.  For this I used “Spiked” brow pencil by MAC Cosmetics (a new addition to my collection).
  2. Prime your lid and all the way up through your crease to your brow.  I used Urban Decay’s Primer Potion.  Make sure you are always using some sort of primer as a base, whether you want a soft daytime look or something dramatic for evening.  It provides you long wear time and will help you avoid creasing.  Your shadows will also apply more vibrantly and stay true throughout the day/night, without “melting off”.  MAC Paint Pots or cream bases will work for this too (NYX’s eye pencil in Milk is one of the most popular drug store choices).
  3. Next, take a piece of tape (scotch, masking, painters, any will do) and get it in line with your lower lash line and where your eye brows end.  Press it down, making sure it is nice and smooth with a good seal.  It will take you a few minutes to get used to how this feels when you blink.
  4. Using a flat eye shadow brush, I dabbed on “Mercury” eyeshadow by Makeup Geek all over my lids, from the inside corner to the outside corner.  This is a nicely pigmented smooth basic silver.    While you have this colour out, take a small dome brush and go along the inner half of your lower lash line as well.  I actually really prefer this shadow to MAC’s “Forgery”.  I find that Mercury gives nicer coverage with less work and also seems to have a formula that feels less dry.  For this step, you can of course use any silver eyeshadow you want.
  5. Using a fluffy crease brush, start dusting a darker grey shadow throughout your crease, blending upwards.  Also be sure to hit the outside corner of your eye as well so you almost have a fading effect.  Using this same colour and a small dome brush, lightly smudge this along your lower lash line, the outside half only.  I used “Galaxy” by Makeup Geek as my gunmetal like shade.  It has a nice creamy formula too that glided on easily with no fuss.
  6. Then, using  the same fluffy crease brush, gently apply a touch of black eye shadow at the outside edge of your eye and throughout the outside half of your crease.  This will further intensify your look, creating a more dramatic effect.  I used “Corrupt” eye shadow by Makeup Geek.  This is a matte, true black.  It is heavily pigmented and very powerful.  A little goes a long way with this one!
  7. After brushing off all the black, I took that same fluffy brush and took “White Lies” which is a soft white matte eyeshadow from Makeup Geek’s collection and swept it along the top edge to soften the look slightly.  This also acted as my brow bone highlight.
  8. Now you are ready to pull that tape off!  If necessary, perform any clean up that the tape might have missed.
  9. For eye liner I used Kat Von D’s Tattoo Liner in “Trooper” on my lid.  The felt tip on this makes it really easy to apply and wing out the edges.  On my waterline I opted for Makeup Forever’s Aqua Eyes waterproof liner in black.  For this, I applied it once to my waterline, let it sit for a couple of minutes and then went back in with the pencil again to make it more opaque.  Both of these eye liners are from my “Draw the Line” Sephora Favorites sampler that I am super in love with, its great value and you should check it out if you haven’t already.
  10. Finish the look with at least two coats of mascara.  I used Clinique’s Lash Doubling Mascara.
  11. (Optional) Add false eyelashes to your look.  I used “117” by Ardell along with the Duo eyelash glue that dries black.

makeup look using Makeup Geek Eyeshadows and scotch tape

What do you guys think of this makeup look?  And I’m curious if you have ever used tape when applying your makeup before?

Silver and black smokey eye makeup

Thanks for reading!!  Hope you all are having a great week so far! 🙂

xox,

Shannon

P.S.  Isn’t my husband a good artist?  He quickly sketched my favourite animal at dinner.  I hope you all can tell what it is!   I liked it so much that I made him take a picture:

Dramatic Birthday Makeup

19 responses

  1. Belated happy birthday, Shannon! Your husband is so sweet! I love this scotch tape technique on you! You have the prettiest cat eye ever!

    November 22, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    • Thanks Sunny! I find my husband pretty sweet too – he is always spoiling me. ❤ That night actually, my aunt called as we were heading out the door, he told me to take my time and that he would pull the car around. When I went outside, he was standing at the passenger side door of the car, holding the bouquet of flowers. He stood there for almost 20 minutes waiting for me because he wanted it to be perfect!

      As for the scotch tape technique, it made it so easy! I find it makes the look appear more dramatic, but it is actually easier to do. You don't have to worry about both sides looking identical because your tape is helping control that from step 1. Love it!

      November 22, 2012 at 5:52 pm

  2. I love your eye make up!!!

    November 22, 2012 at 5:34 pm

  3. Happy belated birthday Shannon. Thanks for sharing part of your birthday with us.

    November 22, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    • Thanks for reading Rebecca! Always happy to share with you all. 🙂

      November 22, 2012 at 9:34 pm

  4. Great look, and even though it was last week, happy birthday!;)

    November 23, 2012 at 5:09 am

  5. I love it!!! and even though it was last week: Happy Birthday!!! 🙂

    November 23, 2012 at 11:18 am

  6. Awwww such a sweet husband, awesome drawing and beautiful flowers! Happy birthday!!!

    November 23, 2012 at 4:54 pm

  7. you look gorgeous!! so pretty!

    November 26, 2012 at 5:47 pm

  8. Belated happy birthday! Loving the scotch tape method – I personally have never tried/heard of it so I was quite intrigued! It worked perfectly well, your makeup turned out stunning.

    December 2, 2012 at 3:09 am

    • Thank you! You absolutely have to give this a try. It will absolutely make your life easier and help with achieving a perfectly symmetrical look. You’ll have to let me know what you think once you’ve given it a go. 🙂

      December 2, 2012 at 11:57 am

  9. Hey Shannon, happy birthday for last month! I totally agree with you about the time just going so quickly – it just goes quicker and quicker each year! You looked absolutely stunning on your birthday though and I love that method, I use it quite often though I usually hold a straight edge of a piece of paper up onto my face while applying the shadow, which can be quite tricky! Never actually thought of using scotch tape so I don’t have to hold anything haha how blonde! Great idea, I’m definitely going to be using scotch tape from now on rather than faffing about with bits of paper!! I’m so glad I found your blog cos I’ve really been enjoying it!

    December 3, 2012 at 7:10 am

    • Hi Saima – thanks for the belated birthday wishes!

      I can imagine it would be quite tricky to hold up paper there while also trying to apply makeup. I think you are a rockstar for having succeeded with that for so long! I hope you find the use of scotch tape helpful. I had never thought of it either until one day when I was watching a tutorial for Arabic eye makeup…and there it was. It’s totally genius and simple, yet it seemed so foreign of an idea at first! It will take a few minutes for you to get used to the feeling of tape on your face while you are blinking away, but its not so bad. You’ll have to let me know how you like it/dislike it once you give it a try. Thanks for commenting Saima and I’m so glad you are liking Eyemasq! I look forward to what is coming up next on Flaws and All as well! 🙂

      December 3, 2012 at 7:53 am

Leave a Reply

