A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

November 2012 Topbox

After receiving my first Topbox last month and being a little disappointed, I wasn’t sure what to expect for this month.  Topbox customer service had assured everyone that it was going to be a great month, but I still didn’t want to get too excited in case I was setting myself up for a let down.

November Topbox

When I’d received the email saying it had been delivered, I ran right down to the mail box to get it.  It only took two days this time, instead of the 4 last month too, so that is always a bonus. 🙂

My husband was watching “Rumble in the Bronx” (an absolutely terrible Jackie Chan movie) in the living room in the dark, so I snuck in beside him on the sofa to open up my Topbox.  It felt very dramatic, because I couldn’t see anything when I pulled the cap off.  I reached in, pulled out my first item and………..was so freaking excited!

My first item was a deluxe perfume sample of Vera Wang’s “Lovestruck”.  At 4ml this generous sample is the perfect size.  I honestly never buy perfume because the bottles are so large and take absolutely forever to use up, I just can’t stand the same overpowering scent everyday.  So I always love receiving perfume samples because I can keep variety in my life and never get tired of a certain fragrance.  Lovestruck Floral Rush is a mainly floral scent, with soft hints of fruit and musk.  The 50ml full size of this product sells for $79.00, meaning this sample is valued at $6.32.  WIN!

perfume sample in November Topbox

I stuck my hand back inside and felt around….and thought to myself “is that a full-size nail polish?!?” as I pulled out “I’m Not Lion” from China Glaze’s On Safari Collection.  I was SO stoked about this.  There were two shades that I was really sad about missing out on from this collection this past fall.  One being Exotic Encounter (a jade creme) and I’m Not Lion, this stunning glitter!  I immediately started applying this one and ever since have been staring at the pretty glitter.  China Glaze nail lacquers sell at salons for $8.00-$12.00, but you can pick them up at Sally Beauty Supply stores for about $5-$6.  This polish however was limited edition and the best place to track it down now would be on Ebay if you are trying to find it.  WIN!

nail polish swatch of "I'm Not Lion" by China Glaze

At this point, I already felt like my Topbox was a winner, regardless of the next two items.  But I dove back in and was graced with another amazing item.  Out came a Pari Beauty Lip Paint in shade “Red”.  At 4ml, this is almost full size (5.5ml for $14), which makes this sample valued at $10.18.  I was excited to give this shade a go and see what the formula was like as I’ve never tried any of their products before.  So the day after receiving it, I promptly tried it out.  It went on creamy with great pigmentation and then proceeded to persist through my meals and look fabulous – no splotchy or patchy wear as the day went on.  We are talking, I didn’t even need to touch up after lunch…ummmn what?  AND it didn’t feel at all drying, which is a huge accomplishment this time of year when my lips tend to dry out very easily!  BIG WIN!

November Topbox lip sample

Pari Beauty Lip Paint in shade "Red" (swatch on lips

swatch of Red Pari Beauty Lip Paint

For my last item, I was sure it was going to be a dud.  But NO!  I was pleasantly surprised with a good sized mascara sample of “They’re Real!” by benefit.  I already have and love this mascara (follow this link for before and after pictures), so I will likely use it for an upcoming give-away   But I still absolutely love that it was something I knew would be put to good use and is a product I’m happy to have.  With the full size mascaras retailing for $29.00 this makes the value of this sample a whopping $9.67.  WIN!

November Topbox sample mascara

So if I total everything up, that means my samples are valued at about $32.00.  This Topbox only cost me $10.00 plus taxes.  Are you freaking kidding me?  What a great deal!  Thank you TOPBOX!

November Topbox

Given this amazing box I received for November 2012, I was definitely curious to see what other people got in their boxes and as I started snooping around, I was shocked to see so much variety.  Completely different items.  Looks like they really tailored the items to the individual’s beauty profile this month.  My box was labelled “Box 21” meaning there were at least 21 different boxes going out and there could’ve been more.  I really think that is fantastic!

Please note: Starting December 2012, they are increasing their price to $12.00 plus taxes (shipping is still free).  I want you all to know that I feel no bitterness surrounding this price increase.  When they started out a year ago, they only had products from 6 brands, now they have working relationships with over 40.  Their customer service is fantastic too!  They are quick to respond to your inquiries and are continually seeking feedback so they can make sure they are going in the right direction.  If you are interested in becoming a Topbox subscriber, you can join the waiting list here.

Topbox November 2012 - Box 21

Hope you guys found this interesting!  And if you are one of my Canadian readers and are trying to decide whether you should sign up or not, leave your questions/concerns below and I will answer them to the best of my ability and try to help you get off the fence.

If you are already a subscriber of Topbox beauty boxes, let me know how this compares to your beauty box and what you thought of Topbox November 2012!

Thanks for reading 🙂

xox,

Shannon

20 responses

  1. I love I’m Not Lion and that lip paint on you! It’s always great to receive a beauty box that’s actually worth the money… and more!

    November 18, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    • Thanks Sunny! I couldn’t agree more – it always feels great when you get great value out of your beauty box! I was absolutely ecstatic with my November Topbox. I was so happy that it was filled with 100% usable and fun products. Fingers crossed that December’s box is just as amazing!

      And yes, the glitter polish I’m Not Lion makes me super happy, I think it is perfect for this time of year with the holiday season around the corner. And as for the Pari lip paint, I thought the colour was really pretty, but was especially impressed with its wear time and how it felt on my lips. I will definitely be checking out what other colours they have next time I see their counter!! I’m in trouble!

      November 18, 2012 at 3:28 pm

  2. that lip color looks stunning! i love it! and i missed out on i’m not lion too so i’m slightly jealous right now but it looks great on you!

    November 18, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    • Hehe – thanks Holly! I was sad about I’m Not Lion too, I was seriously contemplating getting a few off of Ebay. But I was so excited when I saw it in my Topbox, hooray for small victories! One less polish that I need to go out hunting for.

      And isn’t that lip paint beautiful?!?! It felt so good on my lips too, I was blown away by how it felt all day and also managed to hold its colour. Can’t wait to check out their counter and see what trouble I can get into!

      November 18, 2012 at 7:34 pm

  3. I’ve never been brave enough to subscribe to beauty boxes – I have sensitive skin! But you look like you scored big! Xx

    November 18, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    • Hey – thanks for commenting! My skin is pretty resilient, so I am fortunate that way, but I could see how they could be a stressful nightmare if you do have sensitive skin. Topbox is the first beauty box I am trying out and if they keep up like this month, I don’t see myself cancelling my subscription any time soon!

      November 18, 2012 at 7:47 pm

  4. Wow…I’m not a Lion is an all time fave polish!!! That box was worth it just for that. I only subscribe to Birchbox and I think I’m all sampled out!

    November 18, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    • Topbox is like our Canadian version of Birchbox, seeing as we can’t get Birchbox here. There are a couple other ones here north of the border as well, but I figured one is enough for the time being!

      I was really thrilled that I got I’m Not Lion as my nail polish as well. It is absolutely stunning!! People all seemed to get polishes from that collection, but I’m super happy I got that particular one. 🙂

      November 18, 2012 at 10:29 pm

  5. That nailpolish is beautiful! wow!

    November 19, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    • I think so too, I really love it!! Thanks for taking the time to comment and for checking out my blog! 🙂

      November 19, 2012 at 3:54 pm

  6. omg what a fun box, so glad this one was better!!

    November 19, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    • Me too! There was no disappointment here, only sheer giddiness like a child on their birthday! 🙂

      November 19, 2012 at 4:43 pm

  7. As I read your post, I gasped as I saw that you got I’m not Lion. My husband had to ask if everything was OK. I told him I had nail polish envy. He said “Probably won’t be the last time.” I’m sure he’s right. Lucky duck! You got amazing samples. The nail polish and the mascara alone would have been enough for me. But add the lip color and fragrance, and I’m in sample heaven! Enjoy my friend.

    November 19, 2012 at 11:52 pm

    • Hehe, thanks Rebecca! I certainly felt like I was in sample heaven too. I was lucky to receive such great samples and great colours of those samples. Topbox did such a great job of following my beauty profile and making this subscriber really happy!!! You should grab I’m Not Lion off Ebay, it sounds like you would give it a good home and lots of love. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by Rebecca and for taking the time to comment!

      November 20, 2012 at 7:19 am

  8. marilyn

    i got all the EXACT same products as you!! i agree with you they were all great this month. i looove the china glaze polish, im wearing it right now. i was much more impressed than last months box, i was ready to cancel but they redeemed themselves this month 🙂

    November 21, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    • Hi Marilyn! Thanks so much for taking the time to comment! 🙂

      That’s so great that you received the same box – from what I could tell, it looks like one of the best ones for sure, I was so happy with it. And I completely agree, the November box was far superior to the October box. But I love that they actually took all of that negative feedback surrounding the October Topbox and fixed it! They saw what didn’t work and made sure not to repeat the same mistake. I think that is fantastic. It’s obvious they care about their subscribers and are really trying their best to make everyone happy. I can’t wait for December’s Topbox, I’m so excited! 🙂

      November 21, 2012 at 3:42 pm

  9. That lip colour looks fantastic on you!
    BoxCulture has recently started the same sort of idea here in Malaysia, and I’ve made a 3-month subscription…hope to see some exciting things too!

    November 22, 2012 at 8:02 am

    • Thanks dear, I really love it too!

      And that is so exciting that you will soon be receiving all sorts of goodies too. 🙂 It’s really something fun to look forward to every month and to get excited about when it arrives. I have my fingers crossed for you, I hope you get some awesome stuff!

      November 22, 2012 at 10:55 am

  10. Pingback: December 2012 Topbox « eyemasq

  11. Pingback: Topbox’s First “Prive Box” – Clinique « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

