A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Eye Catchers 6-piece SmolderEYES set by tarte

I am really excited about this post today!  When one of my girlfriend’s was visiting from Montreal we decided to go shopping…and of course wandered into our closest Sephora.  With all of the new holiday sets and palettes out, we spent quite a while exploring and trying to track down our best options and narrow down what we “needed”.  This set however, is something that neither of us could resist and we both ended up purchasing it.  I hope she is loving it as much as I am!!

Ash Violet, Rainforest Black, Champagne, Gunmetal, Gold and Onyx set, photos, review and swatches

This Eye Catcher 6-piece SmolderEYES set by tarte is limited edition, for the holiday season.  This 2012 collection contains 5 SmolderEYES Amazonian Clay Waterproof Liners (complete with sharpener) and 1 Skinny SmolderEYES Amazonian Clay Waterproof Liner in Onyx (a very intense, deep, true black).

Ash Violet, Rainforest Black, Champagne, Gunmetal, Gold, Onyx pencils by Tarte

*click to enlarge

The 5 Jumbo shades are currently not available for purchase outside of this set.

  • Ash Violet is a sultry metallic purple
  • Rainforest Black is a nice deep dark teal
  • Champagne is a lovely shimmery highlight
  • Gunmetal is a dark grey/silver with purple undertones (like a shimmery mauve)
  • Gold is a true metallic gold shade
swatches of Ash Violet, Rainforest Black, Champagne, Gunmetal, Gold and Onyx SmolderEYES pencils by Tarte

*click to enlarge

This SmolderEYES set is available at Sephora, as well as online through tarte’s website.  To me, this set just screamed value.  This line of waterproof pencils sell for $33.00 CAD/each or $25.00 US/each (slightly less for the skinny).  This entire set retails for $51.00 CAD (a $187.00 value) or $39.00 US (a $144.00 value).  So really, if two of the colours are something you want, then it really pays for itself quickly.  (I know, I know, this sounds like a makeup addicts logic!)

I love tarte products and always find them to be high quality.  They have great pigmentation and this set in particular offers a nice variety of very unique shades.  These SmolderEYES waterproof pencils are especially awesome because of their versatility.  You can use them as either a liner, an eyeshadow, or simply an all over base for your shadow.  They have built in smudgers so you can really use this set however you like.  You can blend the shades together, or use them on their own.  You really do have a tonne of options with a set like this.

The swatches above are a couple generous strokes with each colour, but if you want to use a lighter hand, you can get yourself a thinner line, which will work well if you want to slightly smudge them out for a softer look like I have below:

swatches of Ash Violet, Rainforest Black, Champagne, Gunmetal, Gold and Onyx SmolderEYES pencils by Tarte

*click to enlarge

Because these waterproof eye liners are made with Amazonian Clay they are good for the delicate skin around your eyes as they are both nourishing and hydrating.  You don’t have to worry if you have oily eyelids either.  Their waterproof formula means they won’t budge or smear and will last all day.  But, this also means, when you first apply them you don’t have very long to smudge them out, so hurry!

My favourite part about these is actually how super creamy the formula is.  They glide on very gently and easily, almost melting onto your skin.  This means you won’t need to tug at your skin to get a smooth clean line.

Here is a 5-minute face I did for work using Rainforest Black on the top lash line and Ash Violet on the bottom:

Rainforest Black and Ash Violet  SmolderEYES swatches

At just $8.50 a pencil (or $6.50 for you readers south of the border) I really see this set as a great deal and think it would make a perfect gift for that makeup lover on your list or a perfect addition to your own collection.

What holiday sets are you most excited for this year?  What ones already made you cave?

xox,

Shannon

Tarte Eyeliner set for Christmas 2012

27 responses

  1. oo love Tarte! I saw this at Sephora recently too. Must pick some up! x

    November 16, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    • When I was in the store, I walked away from it a couple of times, but knew I would regret it if I didn’t get it, so I grabbed it before leaving and am SO GLAD that I did! Tarte has so many incredible holiday sets out right now too, it is hard to choose!

      November 16, 2012 at 3:16 pm

      • Agreed – they have lovely sets out right now – def. picking some of those up! Glad you like yours – It looks lovely x

        November 16, 2012 at 5:17 pm

        • Thanks 🙂 I’m sure you’ll love whatever you end up grabbing from their collection. Happy shopping!

          November 16, 2012 at 5:34 pm

  2. Oh yay, I’m glad you got the set and love it too! It’s really amazing quality, colors, and value! Win win win!

    November 16, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    • I couldn’t agree more Sunny, I absolutely adore it! So many great shades that are all super wearable. In order to get this in Belgium, did you order it in from the US?

      November 16, 2012 at 4:11 pm

  3. I have the thin pencil in Tiger’s Eye, which is bronzy but more red, and a teal one. They go on so easy and last pretty long. This is a great deal.

    November 16, 2012 at 11:45 pm

    • Hey, thanks for commenting! I’m glad to hear you have had good experiences with these pencils. 🙂 You are reaffirming my first impression of them!

      November 17, 2012 at 12:12 am

  4. Those look fun. 🙂 Lately, I’ve been on a make-up kick (I’m other buying books or make up or clothes). Maybe I need to mosey on down to Sephora and check these out.

    November 17, 2012 at 9:39 am

    • Ohh you totally should. tarte actually has a number of holiday sets there right now (same with every other brand Sephora has). There really is something for everyone, no matter what your weakness is at the moment. I have no doubt you’d find something that you are super excited for. It is a great time of year for cosmetic shopping at Sephora!!!

      November 17, 2012 at 10:54 am

  5. Beautiful! I was debating between this and the blush holiday set and ended up settling on the blush one, but I think I need to go back and get this!

    November 17, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    • Ahh the Tarte blush set is so pretty too! I was looking at it too, but figured I would get more use out of this eyeliner set. They have an amazing LipSurgence set right now too, but the Sephora I was at was sold out. There are just so many great deals this time of year, it can be impossible to decide!

      November 17, 2012 at 4:49 pm

      • I saw the lipsurgence one! it was tempting haha. I know, always end up with like 3 holiday palettes cuz they’re all so pretty I can’t decide!

        November 18, 2012 at 10:41 am

        • Yep, last year was especially bad, I got two full eye shadow palettes! This year I’m trying to get sets other than eye shadow to add more variety to my collection. I love this time of year!!!

          November 18, 2012 at 2:39 pm

  6. Those liners are gorgeous! I love the green the most!

    November 17, 2012 at 8:35 pm

    • Hey Amanda! Rainforest Black is my favourite too, it is just such a rich and beautiful colour. I really think the set is full of beautiful liners, but I was most excited for that one. 🙂

      November 17, 2012 at 8:36 pm

  7. I *need* this even though I just bought that Urban Decay Smoked set of eyeliners. I want Rainforest Black so badly.

    November 18, 2012 at 1:20 am

    • Rainforest Black truly is a stunning colour. I absolutely adore it! This set is a great deal, as long as you see yourself using at least two of the colours on a semi-regular basis, you will get your money’s worth. The black is gorgeous too and a person can never have two many black liners!

      November 18, 2012 at 1:35 am

      • Yeah I love the teal and the gold one because I have a gold liquid liner but I don’t have a gold pencil. I may have to go pick this one up!

        November 18, 2012 at 11:26 am

        • Yeah, the Gold is super pretty too and would look lovely with that new MAC palette you just got. Its a great shade for this time of year!

          November 18, 2012 at 3:13 pm

  8. Love both the Rainforest Black shade and the Gunmetal shade. Stunning colours!

    November 18, 2012 at 1:56 am

    • Hey! I adore Rainforest Black the most, but I really love all of the shades. Gunmetal is actually really unique and one of those shades that I think would like great on everyone. Usually in a set like this you get a dud or two, but I’m really happy with all of them. 🙂

      November 18, 2012 at 2:28 am

  9. Yay! I was so happy to find that you covered this product on your blog. I have been looking at the smoldereyes, especially the skinny ones, as I love Tarte products and I really need an eyeliner and/or shadow that will stay put, but not bother my sensitive skin.

    Now after reading your post I am eager to rush out and buy a few 🙂

    November 18, 2012 at 10:15 am

    • Oh I am so glad to hear that! Tarte products are so great, not just because of what they have in them, but also because of what they don’t! I’ve heard of so many people with sensitive skin loving their products and having success with their different lines. I personally love their SmolderEYES liners. The colours are vibrant and the formula is creamy and easy to work with. You’ll have to let me know what you think of them when you give them a try!!!

      November 18, 2012 at 3:12 pm

  10. Pingback: Feeling Festive? A Christmas Makeup Look « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

