A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

nail GLITTER

Quite a while ago I purchased some nail glitter made by Sephora by OPI.  It was on clearance for $3.00 so I figured I had to try it.  From what I can tell, they don’t have them any more.  But I have seen this product at local drug stores, made by other brands such as Smashbox and Quo.  So it shouldn’t be difficult to find something like it if it looks like your cup of tea.

Nail Glitter, Sephora by OPI

It was very easy to use and I had my full mani done in less than five minutes.  I do have to warn you though, this glitter, like all glitter, makes a mess.  It gets everywhere!  I laid paper towel down which caught most of it, but it was all over my hands and subsequently everything and anything I touched thereafter.

How do you use it?

how to apply nail glitter

You simply paint your nail with one coat of nail lacquer and then dunk your nail face down in the container of glitter.  When you pull it out, the glitter will be stuck to the polish.  The excess glitter on your skin brushes off easily with the brush of a finger tip (but it will now be everywhere lol).  I think a damp cloth would’ve been better as it would’ve picked up the glitter instead of sliding it around or transferring it somewhere else.

nail glitter, Sephora by OPI

 

Repeat for all fingers and then seal with a top coat.

Once your top coat has completely dried, you can give your hands a wash to get the remaining excess glitter off.

***I recommend not using your favourite topcoat.  You are bound to get a small amount of glitter in your topcoat.***

Because this was my first time using this product, I wanted to test something out.  I was curious how heavy the coverage was and if it mattered what shade of polish you used underneath.  So I did two fingers with white and two with dark purple to match the glitter.  You can see here that the nails with the white are certainly a bit lighter in colour.  The nails I used the purple for have a deeper and more vibrant look.  I definitely recommending using either the same colour as the glitter you are using, or slightly darker, in this case a black would also work.  This will ensure your nails wear nicer as the excess falls off and any missed or imperfect areas will be less noticeable.  

nail glitter tutorial, how to apply

How long did it last?

As far as the actual manicure itself, it held up better than I expected, but still showed tip wear after 24 hours.  Keep in mind though, I was fussing with them more than normal.  The texture of this manicure is very gritty and they look crazy intense – so I couldn’t stop messing with them!  With that being said though, this manicure will likely only last you 2-4 days.  So keep that in mind when giving this a go.  They are super fun for a special occasion, but given how long it lasted me, its not something I would do all that often because I don’t change my nails that frequently if I can help it.

Is it hard to Remove?

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I went to take this off.  I couldn’t tell if it was going to chip off, slide off nice and easy or require my foil fingertips like actual glitter nail lacquer.  But it was really quite easy, for the most part, it came off just like regular nail lacquer would, plus some dry glitter transferring around.

Have you already tried out this style of manicure?  What did you think?

xox,

Shannon

14 responses

  1. I’m too lazy to make this mess! Lol

    November 15, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    • Haha, it is fun, but it truly gets everywhere! I want Isabelle to try this with her daughters, I think they will have a blast!

      November 15, 2012 at 8:49 pm

  2. It looks fabulous! I worry that the texture would drive me insane. I would pick it all off in 6 hour flat.

    November 15, 2012 at 11:32 pm

    • Haha Rebecca! The texture was very gritty, but the top coat definitely helped making them feel a bit smoother But by day 2 that was definitely me and wherever it started to wear or flake….I helped it along!

      November 16, 2012 at 12:00 am

  3. Very pretty! I have a few nail glitters which i love, but I find them really hard to remove tough!

    November 16, 2012 at 7:47 am

    • Really? You must be using a much better top coat than I was then! Mine came right off, with very little trouble. It was almost too easy, would’ve been better if they put up more of a fight. What do you normally use with them Nicole? What nail glitter color is your favourite from the ones you own? I sort of wish I had a silver, I think it would be amazing for the holidays!

      November 16, 2012 at 9:49 am

  4. omg purple glitter! Yes xx

    November 16, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    • Hehe – yes, that was my exact thinking when I purchased this!!

      November 16, 2012 at 3:17 pm

  5. I’d have glitter everywhere except on my fingers.

    November 16, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    • Haha, there was definitely a lot of glitter all over the place, there is no denying that!

      November 17, 2012 at 12:56 am

  6. Gorgeous! I love it! ❤

    November 18, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    • Thanks dear! It does look very glam and snazzy, despite the hella mess. LOL

      November 18, 2012 at 7:35 pm

  7. ouuuu i gotta do this!! ❤

    November 20, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    • You definitely should, it is really quick and easy to do too! Just a little messy! hehe Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

      November 20, 2012 at 8:41 pm

Leave a Reply

