A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Dramatic Encounter Lipstick

Holiday collections have already hit all of the shelves this year in mass.  Sephora value sets and special palettes are all over the place and MAC’s collections have already seen some early sell outs.

MAC’s new sets have some definite re-promotes but I did see one lipstick that I just knew I had to have.  After my 10 Gorgeous Lipsticks for Fall post, I realized I was really missing a nice deep purple/burgundy for this fall and coming winter.  So I grabbed “Dramatic Encounter” from their limited edition Glamour Daze Lipstick collection.

Glamour Daze Collection - Dramatic Encounter

Dramatic Encounter is  a MAC Aplified Crème Lipstick, which I believe means that it is supposed to have a creamy moisturizing texture.  If someone has more information about that, I’d love for you to comment below! 🙂

Glamour Daze Lipstick by MAC

The shade itself is described by MAC as a deep purple.  Indoors I found it was a very deep purple, at first glance almost black on my lips.  But outside in natural light, you can see the red and burgundy tones in it.

Dramatic Encounter lipstick review, swatches and photos

 

The below swatches are all in natural light:

"Dramatic Encounter" lipstick swatch by MAC Cosmetics (dark purple lipstick)

Personally I found it felt quite nice on my lips.  Not too creamy as to be a smudge-fest and not too dry as to be uncomfortable.  I kept a close eye on it throughout dinner and drinks with my compact and found it wore incredibly well.  I was worried about it looking uneven and horrendous throughout the meal, but didn’t find that to be the case at all.  The shade itself is quite opaque and covers easily with very little fuss.  No need to be layering this one on over and over to get the true colour.

lipstick swatch of Dramatic Encounter

Are any of you sporting dark shades like this one this fall?

What holiday sets are you most excited about??

xox,

Shannon

Full ingredient listing for MAC’s Dramatic Encounter Lipstick:

What is in "Dramatic Encounter" lipstick by MAC?

26 responses

  1. looks great on you! i wish i could pull off that type of color or have the confidence for it. amazing post girl!

    November 5, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    • Thanks Holly! It is the kind of shade that when I first put it on, I thought “holy crap, I can’t wear this”. But then after a few minutes, it really grew on me and I walked right out of the house with it on while I had the courage! lol.

      November 5, 2012 at 6:40 pm

  2. Brilliant colour!!!

    November 5, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    • I felt the same way when I saw it. Its so unique, I knew I had to have it! 🙂 I didn’t have anything even close to this shade in my collection.

      November 5, 2012 at 6:41 pm

  3. Reblogged this on Fashion For Lunch..

    November 5, 2012 at 6:17 pm

  4. This is such a cool colour!!!

    November 5, 2012 at 6:17 pm

  5. This is a great one! It certainly looks pretty creamy!

    November 5, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    • It really is a stunning colour. My husband hasn’t warmed up to it yet though. It is so much darker than anything I own…I think he will take some “coming around” time. lol

      November 5, 2012 at 7:51 pm

  6. Me encanta MAC y entre muchas otras cosas tengo labiales, me gustan mucho sus texturas, pero creo que este color es muy oscuro para mí, besos

    November 5, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    • Their lipsticks really are fabulous and they have such a wide range of shades, that if this one is too dark for you, I’m sure you can find a softer version with similar colourings that you’ll love for this season. Thanks for commenting!

      November 5, 2012 at 7:53 pm

  7. DressedinMYcloset

    I love this! Looks great!

    http://dressedinmycloset.wordpress.com

    November 5, 2012 at 7:54 pm

  8. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    My kinda lippie…

    November 5, 2012 at 8:41 pm

  9. I bought some of the lipsticks again after a long period of time. I realized how great they are… again!

    November 5, 2012 at 10:06 pm

    • Hey Producthoochie! So true! I love that feeling, when you are away from something for a very long time and then get to rediscover it all over again. Nice to hear from you! 🙂

      November 5, 2012 at 10:49 pm

  10. I looove this colour! I need to head out to mac and get it ASAP! 🙂

    November 6, 2012 at 11:08 am

  11. this is so pretty! I think it’s so lovely for fall looks x

    November 6, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    • I think so too! I couldn’t resist when I saw it. 🙂 Especially this time of year.

      November 6, 2012 at 4:58 pm

  12. Absolutely fab lip colour. Minimal make up and those lips…. Wow!

    November 9, 2012 at 10:31 am

    • Yep! That was the only way I had courage to wear it out of the house. Just a little eye makeup, very soft blush and THOSE LIPS! Hehe.

      Thanks for your comment! 🙂

      November 9, 2012 at 12:48 pm

  13. Ww! This is gorgeous, looks amazing on you! I was looking through my massive collection of lipsticks / glosses the other day trying for a drk color, and i didnt have a single one! I need to pick up some for sure

    November 10, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    • I have so many lip products as well, but when I saw this I knew I didn’t have anything close. It is so unique! So glad I got it, even though its not an “everday” colour for me. 🙂

      November 10, 2012 at 11:10 pm

      • Wouldnt bef or me either, just so gorgeous, we all need at least one gorgeous dark color 🙂

        November 10, 2012 at 11:13 pm

Leave a Reply

