A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Wicked: a China Glaze collection for Halloween 2012

This collection has been out for a few weeks already, but unfortunately I am just getting around to sharing it now.

WICKED is China Glaze’s 2012 Halloween Collection.  It is made up of 6 new polishes plus a Ghoulish Glow in the dark nail polish.

China Glaze Nail Lacquer Collection "Wicked"

From Left to Right: Cast a Spell, Immortal, Bizarre Blurple, Glitter Goblin, Roguish Red, Make a Spectacle

Ghoulish Glow is however only available in their special 4 pack of nail lacquers, where as 3 of the shades above are only sold individually (Cast a Spell, Immortal and Make a Spectacle).  I grabbed the 4 pack as well as “Make a Spectacle” because it was just TOO pretty of a glitter to walk away from.

Value Pack from China Glaze's Halloween 2012 "Wicked" Collection

The 4 pack is an incredible value at $11.99 CAD or $9.99 US at Sally Beauty Supply Store’s.  Otherwise, the polishes are sold individually for $5.99 CAD or $4.99 US.

Roguish Red, Glitter Goblin, Bizarre Blurple and Ghoulish Glow (China Glaze's Wicked Collection)

Here is a look at Roguish Red complete with Glitter Goblin Tips.

Roguish Red Manicure with Glitter Goblin tips - a Halloween manicure

Roguish Red is an orange-red creme nail lacquer.  It has a very nice opaque formula with which you can almost get away with one coat.  You will need two to make it perfectly opaque though.

China Glaze's 2012 Halloween Collection "Wicked"

Glitter Goblin is a clear base polish packed with orange, silver and iridescent glitters.  They are very fine and will require multiple coats if you are going for full coverage.

Festive Manicure, Halloween Nails, manicures for short nails

My favourite use of “Make a Spectacle” so far is in a Jelly Sandwich manicure.

Katherine Nail Polish by Zoya in "Jelly Sandwich Nails"

But it is an absolutely gorgeous opalescent glitter with a clear base that makes for a beautiful top coat, no matter the base colour.  Here I have layered it over top of “Bizarre Blurple”.

"Make A Spectacle" Glitter Top Coat - a Nail Lacquer from China Glaze

“Bizarre Blurple” on its own is a very pretty polish too.  It is a rich blue-purple shade (no shock given the name) with mainly blue shimmer.  Depending on how the light hits it, it can appear more blue or more purple.  I experienced slight bubbling with this polish, but it is definitely my fault and not that of Bizarre Blurple.  I know I was impatient and didn’t wait long enough in between coats and my first coat wasn’t completely dry.

swatch on nails of Bizarre Blurple by China Glaze

I’m still debating whether or not go to back for “Cast a Spell”.  It is a very dark polish that appears completely black in lots of lighting.  But it is actually a dark olive base with gold and green shimmer.  If I end up caving and picking it up, I will be sure to add it to this post.

All in all I’m very happy with this collection.  Make a Spectacle is my new favourite glitter polish that I own and the 4 pack is great value.  I wasn’t sure I would like Roguish Red very much when I grabbed the set, but after wearing it last week with the glitter tips, I managed to fall in love – so I’m super happy I now have an orangey-red in my collection.

What polishes are you most excited about this Halloween?

Do you have a favourite from China Glaze’s “Wicked” Collection?

xox,
Shannon

10 responses

  1. I’d love to have Cast a Spell! Love your manis. I’m increasingly digging the idea of a jelly sandwich 🙂

    October 21, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    • I will convert you yet Sunny – I can see you sporting a fancy jelly sandwich already! 😛 I can picture a nice dark plum with perhaps some gold or silver glitter sandwiched…

      And of course you have to comment on “Cast a Spell” which I am currently experiencing inner turmoil over! With my luck, I will go back and they will be sold out of that one polish. lol

      October 21, 2012 at 3:35 pm

  2. I just picked up Make A Spectacle today, and I love it! It’s so pretty and sparkly. I should use it with my jellies from Zoya. That would be awesome.

    October 23, 2012 at 1:59 am

    • Do it Rebecca! You won’t be disappointed. I loved that combination! But really, it is just so pretty no matter what you do with it…even if you just stare at it in the bottle. lol

      October 23, 2012 at 3:47 pm

  3. oohhh i love all of these, that blue is simply fabulous! and i love your first glitter mani!

    October 25, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    • Thanks Amanda – that blue is super pretty. I found it a biotch to photograph too. I couldn’t seem to capture the different shades it hides! I found that inside it looks a lot more purple and outside it looks a lot more blue. That just makes it so much fun!

      And I had so much fun doing the glitter tips. It was SO fast, it took like two minutes and was a fun mani which was something more exciting than a regular solid polish.

      October 25, 2012 at 4:09 pm

  4. I just picked up this four pack at Sally’s but I haven’t had a chance to wear any of them yet since I put on China Glaze “Riveting” the same day and I want to try to see if it’ll keep until Halloween >.> Thanks for swatching!

    Have you tried the Ghoulish Glow stuff? It doesn’t really look like my cup of tea but since the four pack was only 8.49 and the single polishes were 6.49, I picked up the four pack instead of buying them individually.

    October 27, 2012 at 10:35 pm

    • Hi Phyllis – thanks for commenting. The four pack is such good value, I couldnt pass it up either. I figured as long as I used even two of the polishes it was a good deal. 🙂 I still need to try out Ghoulish Glow, but from what I understand it is just a top coat that won’t change the look of your nails(except for in the dark of course). Not sure how much you need to apply for it to work, I will have to give it a try soon. Or if you do, let me know what you think!!

      October 28, 2012 at 12:33 am

      • Yeah I may throw it on top of what I’m already wearing for Halloween night and see how it looks. The black light thing is kind of cool but I don’t know that I’d get much use out of it, hah.

        October 28, 2012 at 3:24 pm

        • Same here, not much use on the overall. But still fun to have for those special times. Especially when it is as good as free, hard to complain! 🙂

          October 28, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Leave a Reply

