A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Feeling Earthy? (a rainforest makeup tutorial)

It feels like forever since I’ve done an eye makeup tutorial.  This one is super simple and fast to do.  I tried to make a season appropriate look for this time of year, but still have some fun with it.  With this eye shadow combination I still get my “necessary” pop of colour with the bold green, but the look is grounded by the brown eye shadow.

 

I used 3 eye shadows from MAC Cosmetics – Swimming, Humid and Mystery.

MAC eye shadow swatches - "Mystery", "Swimming" and "Humid"

But you can certainly recreate this look with any similar combination of shadows.

How to create this super simple look:

green and brown eye makeup

*follow any of the links below for swatches, where to buy and other shades available*

  1. As always, fill in your brows first to help frame the area.  I used Mystery eyeshadow by MAC Cosmetics for this.
  2. Prime your lid and all the way up to your crease.  I used Urban Decay’s Primer Potion.  It is super important to use a primer if you want long wear time and to avoid creasing.  Your shadows will also apply more vibrantly and stay true throughout the day/night.
  3. Using a flat eye shadow brush, dab Swimming eye shadow by MAC all over your lids. (from the inside of the eye to the outside of the eye).  Any bright green will work for this, you don’t need this specific shadow.  Just make sure it is not lime green, you want it to be more of an earthy tone.
  4. Using the same brush (brush off all the green pigment first on a kleenex) use your Mystery eye shadow (any dark brown matte eye shadow will do) throughout the crease and up onto your brow bone.
  5. Then, using a fluffy crease brush, sweep Humid eye shadow (or a nice dark forest green) gently back and forth through your crease. This will help meld the dark brown and the bright green together, creating a more fluid and blended look.
  6. For eyeliner I used Master Precise Felt Tip Liquid Liner (available at Ulta in the US and at Shoppers Drug Mart in Canada) on my lid.  I didn’t apply any on the lower side of my eyes.  I wanted to create a softer and more open look rather than closing off my eye.
  7. Finish the look with at least two coats of mascara.  I used They’re Real! mascara by benefit.
  8. (Optional) Add false eyelashes to your look.  I get such volume and curl out of this mascara I decided not to bother with lashes.

how to apply eyeshadow

How to get the rest of this look:

Face > For my under eye concealer I used Erase Paste by benefit in shade No.1.  Then, all over I used Clinique’s Moisture Surge Tinted Moisturizer in shade 01 topped with MAC’s Studio Careblend Pressed Powder in shade Light Plus.

Cheeks > Margin Blush by MAC Cosmetics (a frost powdered blush)

Lips > Bite Lip Shine in shade “Vintage”

rainforest makeup

What do you guys think?  Are you a fan of this combination or do you hate it?  I’d love to hear your thoughts.  Tell me, what make-up are you sporting this fall??

Thanks for reading!

xox,
Shannon

11 responses

  1. Ahhh such a pretty look! You really have the talent to combine colors and I adore all your creations 🙂

    October 16, 2012 at 5:21 pm

    • Sunny – you are too sweet, thank you! That means a lot. 🙂 I’m just glad you liked it!

      October 16, 2012 at 6:54 pm

  2. Fay

    I like the colours very autumnal and relevant. I am especially in love with Mystery as it is very neutral and would work well with many other colours. Great post – thanks for the like and don’t be a stranger with your comments 😀

    October 17, 2012 at 9:59 am

    • Hey Fay – thanks for visiting and for your comment. Mystery eye shadow is my favourite matte brown from Mac. It is really a soft shade and can be built up heavier and darker. Its really versatile too and can be used with so much!

      October 17, 2012 at 3:47 pm

      • Fay

        No problem! I think I may have to get some Mystery! Don’t be a stranger on my blog! 😀

        October 17, 2012 at 5:00 pm

        • I absolutely won’t be Fay. 🙂 I’m looking forward to your upcoming posts!

          October 17, 2012 at 5:45 pm

        • Fay

          As am I yours!! 😀

          October 18, 2012 at 6:38 am

  3. I love this look, sorry I am so far behind on my comments!! haha this is gorgeous it accents your eyes well i love this look

    October 24, 2012 at 10:46 am

    • Thanks Amanda! I love the brown and green together too. It turned out okay for a pretty quick job. But I think I might do it a little differently next time. I was so rushed I didn’t even highlight the inner corner or the brow bone. (Which is also when I usually blend out the top) So I definitely have room to improve. Thank you for your sweet words though, it means a lot coming from you!

      October 24, 2012 at 11:59 am

  4. These are some great make up tips here- thanks for sharing!
    http://www.theflamboyante.com

    November 8, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    • Glad you enjoyed them! Thanks for visiting and for your comment! 🙂

      November 8, 2012 at 9:22 pm

Leave a Reply

