A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Matte About You

I’d heard a lot about matte top coats for nails, but was never able to find any in stores when I was looking.  So I was recently placing an online order at nailpolishcanada.com and needed to spend a couple more dollars to get free shipping.  I decided that it would be a great time to finally get a matte top coat.

I opted for Essie’s Matte About You which states:

“Instantly transforms nail color from high gloss to matte in seconds.  Use with any shade from light sheer to dark creme to create a smooth matte finish.”

matte top coat for nails

matte top coat by essieessie matte top coat

I found that it does just that!

I wasn’t overly in love with my fall mani of green and brown, but after I applied the matte top coat it really came together.  With such earthy tones, the shine seemed out of place.  But with the matte finish, it was like a whole new manicure – AND I LOVED IT!

Simply apply this finisher like a top coat over your nail polish and viola!

matte about you, top coat by essie

Take a close look at the difference:

matte about you top coat by essie

There is a huge difference with the amount of light reflected.  This matte top coat completely changes the look.  Other brands do offer matte top coats as well, so take a peek for it next time at your local drugstore/beauty supply store!

"matte about you" matte finisher by essie

Note: In case you are wondering…if you don’t like the matte top coat and want your nails shiny again, simply put a normal top coat on and it will be like it never happened.  (I had to try because I was curious!)

How do you feel about the matte look for nails?

xox,

Shannon

12 responses

  1. I have this matte top coat and love it! Great choice! Beijos

    October 6, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    • I was soo happy with it when I tried it out for the first time. Very glad I got it!

      October 6, 2012 at 2:12 pm

  2. I still don’t know where I stand on matte nails! I think originally I’m more attracted to shimmer (in everything! Eyeshadows, lipsticks and so on), but now I’m finding some matte stuff nice. Good to know if I don’t like it I can reverse the effect with a regular top coat. Thanks for the tip!

    October 6, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    • Hey Sunny! That was a big thing for me too. I wanted to know that I wouldn’t have to start from scratch if I didn’t like the effect the matte top coat had. So that was reassuring. 🙂 If you try it out you will have to let me know what you think.

      October 6, 2012 at 4:00 pm

  3. I have this and LOVE it!!

    October 7, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    • Sometimes I buy things and enjoy them, but then don’t get a tonne of use out of them. This however, I LOVE and know I am going to use up completely!

      October 7, 2012 at 6:13 pm

  4. DressedinMYcloset

    This is awesome! I have never heard of matte topcoat polish… I just thought you bought matte polish in the color you wanted! I am going to look for this! Thanks for the great post!

    http://dressedinmycloset.wordpress.com

    October 7, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    • Oh yay – I’m glad you liked the post – thanks for commenting! It’s such a great product, because rather than having both matte and shiny polishes in the same color, you just need the top coat to completely change the look of your mani. I’m so glad I finally got one, I really love it!

      October 7, 2012 at 9:39 pm

  5. I’m into matte nails too! can’t wait for my butter london matte topcoat to arrive!

    October 14, 2012 at 10:19 am

    • ShannonBearzatto

      I’ve never tried any Butter London polishes before, but I’ve heard nothing but good things. And they look SO nice. But they are so expensive for me to get my hands on unfortunately. 😦

      October 14, 2012 at 11:01 am

  6. I dont love the idea of matte nails.. i feel like it almost looks a bit chalky! But it’s always fun to try somethin new 😉 Check out my blog at blendtousletease.com ! I have some posts about nail polish too!

    October 17, 2012 at 10:04 am

    • It is a bit chalky looking, but I just like being able to have a different look as an option. Not to mention, they actually feel really really soft and smooth. Thanks for commenting and for visiting Eyemasq!

      October 17, 2012 at 3:48 pm

Leave a Reply

