A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Give Me Some Lip

A few weeks ago I picked up the “Give Me Some Lip” set from Sephora’s website.  I love trying new products and I always find that Sephora’s pre-made sampler kits are a great way to do that.  You get to try new brands and shades that might be outside your comfort zone, or price range.  You don’t need to spend an arm and a leg, or invest in full size products that you end up wanting nothing to do with.

The set comes in a small glossy pink “book” with a shimmery ribbon on the right hand side that you can tie to keep it closed.

Sephora Favorites - lip sampler "Give Me Some Lip"

Full Ingredient List (click to englarge):

Ingredient List for Sephora Lip Sampler

When you untie the ribbon, you can open it up to find your six products tucked away neatly.

Give Me Some Lip review

The “Give Me Some Lip” set contains:

  •  0.08 oz Fresh Sugar Rosé Tinted Lip Treatment (very sheer berry rose)
  •  0.12 oz Hourglass Extreme Sheen High Shine Lip Gloss in Child (sheer nude)
  •  0.1 oz Bite Beauty Lip Shine in Vintage (sheer mauve/plum)
  •  0.1 oz Laura Mercier Lip Glace in Baby Doll (soft pink gloss with lots of shimmer)
  •  0.1 oz Tarte LipSurgence™ Natural Matte Lip Tint in Hope (warm rose shade)
  •  0.5 oz Sephora Collection Glossy Gloss in Precious Pink (described as a very sheer pink with iridescent shimmer)

That is 2 full size products and 4 travel sized products.  This lip sampler of Sephora Favorites can be purchased on-line for $30.00 CAD or $25.00 US.  The Tarte product itself retails for $31.00 CAD or $24.00 US.  So really, think of it as buying one of those…and getting everything else for free!

I want to take a closer look at all the products and shades here, to help you decide if this value set is truly for you.

Let’s start with the Sugar Rose Tinted Lip Treatment by Fresh:

Sugar Rose Tinted Lip Treatment by Fresh - swatch and review

Sugar Rose Tinted Lip Treatment by Fresh - natural sheer lip tint

  • This was my first product by Fresh and I’ve got to say that it is just lovely.  I finally understand what all the fuss is about!  It is so soft, it almost melts onto your lips as you apply it (no need to press hard with this product).  This lip treatment leaves your lips feeling hydrated with a pretty, natural, subtle tint.  It is also SPF 15, so that is a nice added bonus too!  The scent that accompanies this lip product is sweet like fruit yet lightly floral.

Next up let’s look at Tarte Lipsurgence Natural Matte Lip Tint in “Hope”:

swatch and review of Tarte lipsurgence natural matte lip tint in Hope

swatch on lips of tarte lipsurgence natural matte lip tint in shade "Hope"

  • This is my second LipSurgence product from Tarte and I love it just as much as my other one.  I find this shade very wearable for the everyday.  The nice matte finish doesn’t make it too intense, but “Hope” still adds a nice deep colour to your lips.  All of their LipSurgence products have a slight minty scent to them (to me they smell exactly like dental floss) and have a long hydrating wear time.

Now for, Hourglass Extreme Sheen High Shine Lip Gloss in “Child”:

"Child" Extreme Sheen Lip Shine by Hourglass

swatch of "Child" on lips of Hourglass Extreme Sheen High Shine Lip Gloss from "Give Me Some Lip" Sampler

  • This is a fantastic nude lip gloss that glides on sheer and softens your natural lip colour while adding a nice neutral shine.  It has a very light scent of vanilla to it and has a flexible flat-sided sponge applicator that was soft and comfortable against my lips.  I see myself getting a lot of use out of this for bold eye make-up that calls for a nice soft and subtle lip.

Laura Mercier Lip Glace:

Laura Mercier Lip Glace in "Babydoll" from Sephora Favorites lip sampler kit

swatch of "Babydoll" by Laura Mercier, Lip Glace collection

  • Babydoll is a nice pink shimmer gloss with a lot of shimmer and sparkle that comes with a sweet dessert smell.  The sponge applicator is angled and stiff which makes application quick and efficient with little room for error.  I think “Babydoll” is a nice complimentary shade to go with a variety of skin tones and make-up styles and preferences.

Bite Lip Shine in “Vintage”:

Bite Lip Shine from "Give me Some Lip" - shade "Vintage"

swatch on lips of "Vintage" by Bite

  • The light scent that goes along with “Vintage” I can only describe as a black cherry, or a spicy cherry of sorts- it is definitely sweet, but has a little bit of punch as well.  This lip shine is a gorgeous sheer mauve/plum shade that basically deepened my natural lip colour and added shine.  It has a really nice consistency and I love the natural richness of it on.

Last but not least, Sephora’s Glossy Gloss in “Precious Pink”:

Sephora full sized product in their "Give Me Some Lip" kit

swatch on lips of "Precious Pink" glossy gloss by Sephora

  • This product is by far the glossiest of the set, I definitely see where it gets its name “Glossy Gloss”.  This sheer soft pink gloss basically goes on clear and contains a great deal of iridescent shimmer.  Your lips will feel soft and slippery, look plump and smell like watermelon.  This is a great everyday gloss, especially for the summer months.

Comparison Swatches:

Sephora Favorites Lip Sampler - Contents

(In the same order as shown above)

swatches from Sephora's Give me some lip favorites lip sampler

All in all, for the price I’m really happy with this multi branded value set.  I find it offers a nice variety of shades as well as textures – I really have no complaints with this purchase and am really glad I bought it!

Is there a certain brand from this sampler set that you love/hate?  I’d love to hear about your favourite lip products for the season!

xox,

Shannon

P.S. Here is a look using “Hope” LipSurgence natural matte lip tint by Tarte:

mermaid makeup

18 responses

  1. Oh my God this is such a lovely set, and the price is so great for what you get! That Tarte lip pencil probably has to be my favorite out of the whole bunch! Matte is just in season 🙂

    October 4, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    • Hey Sunny – yeah, that Tarte matte lip tint in “Hope” is my favourite product too. It is such a great colour for fall and I’m so happy it is one of the ones that is full size! I also really love the nude gloss by Hourglass. I think it will pair nicely with my crazy eye make-up. LOL

      October 4, 2012 at 5:30 pm

  2. Soooo pretty, a friend of mine is obsessed with lip glosses and such so ipicked this up for her for christmas cant wait to see her try em out. Ps ur magnetix polish looks awesomeeeee!

    October 4, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    • I’m sure she is going to love it – what a good idea! It really is great value, it’s such a good deal for people on your shopping list.

      October 4, 2012 at 7:58 pm

  3. Wow that’s such a good value! I love the Fresh Sugar Rose Tint….I’m currently on my second tube. I may just get the box as well since everything looks amazing :). Thanks for sharing!

    October 5, 2012 at 7:50 am

    • Hi Becca – thanks for commenting! It really is such great value. The colors are all so versatile and look great on most skin tones! I know the last time I bought a lip sampler from Sephora, the mini’s all lasted FOREVER too, they are a good size. Then you can really know which ones you love before you go pay full price. You’ll have to let me know if you end up trying it out! 🙂

      October 5, 2012 at 7:57 am

  4. Wow You look Gorgeous ❤
    Every shade is lovelyyy.. Total Bargain!!

    October 12, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    • ShannonBearzatto

      The shades are so versatile and wearable. Not one of them is a “ahhh I have no idea when I will use this” kind of shade. You’re right, it is a total bargain!

      Thanks for your comment. 🙂

      October 12, 2012 at 6:23 pm

  5. Pingback: Feeling Earthy? (a rainforest makeup tutorial) « eyemasq

  6. Wow that is such an awesome value set! Wow.

    October 29, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    • I know! I couldn’t resist when I saw it. I actually just bought the eye liner set too so will have a post about that coming soon too! 🙂

      October 29, 2012 at 8:08 pm

  7. Pingback: Date Night Makeup « eyemasq

  8. Pingback: Draw the Line: Sephora Favorites Eyeliner Sampler « eyemasq

  9. I love Sephora too. And I was thinking about purchasing this kit btw)) I love ur Hourglass lip gloss

    November 18, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    • Hey – thanks for commenting! These kits are such amazing value, I can’t get over them. 🙂 The Hourglass lip gloss is really perfect for creating a subtle lip with some darker eye makeup or a more prominent blush. Everyone needs a nice nude gloss!!

      November 18, 2012 at 3:15 pm

      • Right! Have you tried these Sephora lip glosses? http://www.sephora.com/ultra-shine-lip-gloss-P266811?skuId=1364579 They are AMAZING!!!))) I have it in color ’42 precious pink jewels’ and it looks perfect over a nice nude lippy)

        November 19, 2012 at 5:15 am

        • Ohhh I haven’t! Thanks for the tip!! 🙂

          Does the “Precious Pink” in that style of gloss look similar to the “Precious Pink” in the Glossy Gloss swatched above? I would imagine they must be pretty close? I always find it interesting to see comparisons between the “same colour” in different products.

          November 19, 2012 at 7:40 am

  10. Pingback: “In the Light” eye shadow palette by Stila « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

