A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

to bang or not to bang

Now, before everyone goes crazy thinking this post is about something it isn’t…let’s be clear that I’m referring to HAIR.

I have had long hair for as long as I can remember.  I think the last picture of me with hair shorter than my shoulders would’ve been at about 6 years old.  Bangs however are something I go back and forth with.  When I have them, I seem to find them more of an inconvenience than they are worth and once they’ve grown out…I want them again.  For a couple of months, I’ve been going around telling people “I think I’m going to get bangs again”.  But here I am still, no bangs.  I recently saw a post on a beauty blog, by a woman by the name of Danae, talking about different styles of bangs for different face shapes.  It inspired me to give this some extra thought and perhaps reach out to all my fellow bloggers and friends for some help with my dilemna…should I get bangs again??

Bangs really can and generally do change your entire look.  But the question is, is that a good thing?

hairstyle with bangs and long brown hair

I have a cow-lick right in the centre of my hairline where it meets my forehead…which results in the beautiful side swept bang being a sort of mini nightmare.  I can never get it to fall the way I want.  This also sometimes interferes with straight bangs as well, but never as severely in my experience.  So most recently (about 3 years ago), when I had bangs I had a straight bang to about my eyebrows.  The only trouble is, my hair grows so fast I can’t keep them at that “perfect” length for very long.  I would need to get them trimmed about every two weeks to keep them out of eyes.  But who has time to go to a salon that often…or rather…who makes time to do that?  So my dilemna always came from them getting too long and I would then pin them back and out of the way…which never resulted in a very attractive look.  As Danae reminded me, there are a bunch of people on youtube with tutorials in regards to cutting your own bangs.  I’m not saying I would just go into the bathroom right now and do it myself…but I would be more interested in the trimming/maintenance side of things.

So I rummaged through and found a few pictures of myself with bangs and some without.  Do you think they suit me, or do I look better without?

With

blunt bangs with long brown hair

Without

long dark hair, no bangs

Let me know your thoughts – perhaps you can help get me off the fence!  Because right now, I can’t tell if I just want a change, or if I actually like the look of bangs.

Thank you in advance for your input – I welcome all kinds of feedback!

xox,

Shannon

 

31 responses

  1. I think you’re cute with and without, but just for the sake of changing things up yesss?!

    October 1, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    • Thanks Sunny. I think this post/poll will be beneficial for me regardless, because at least after I see what the result is…I’ll be able to really evaluate how I feel about it all. I think! Or at least that is what I’m hoping for. Thanks for your feedback, as always! ❤

      October 1, 2012 at 4:55 pm

  2. allyelly

    I’m forever having a full fringe then letting it grow out then want a full fringe again! It suits you both ways 🙂 so I guess it’s what you’re feeling?
    Me personally I always have a faze of wanting a fringe then 2weeks with it I’m already pinning and sweeping it aside lol! Can’t win xx

    October 1, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    • Hey allyelly! The worst part is that awkward middle length stage when you are growing them back out. And I swear, every time your bangs disappear and are a normal length I start thinking “hmmmn, bangs might be nice”. *sigh* Thanks for your comment!

      October 1, 2012 at 6:24 pm

  3. I like bangs on me, because I think it makes me look younger haha. And mostly because my face is so darn round. I do go for uneven bangs rather than straight, across-my-forehead bangs though because of my face shape. But you have a nice oval shaped face that really goes well with just about anything. So if you want to try something new, I’d say try a different style of bangs!

    I do agree that they require quite a bit of upkeep though 😦 as soon as mine start getting long it looks silly. My hair grows reaaaaaally slowly though…

    October 1, 2012 at 5:39 pm

    • That is a good idea! Perhaps I need to check out some different styles and mix it up that way. That might definitely help me decide one way or the other anyway. Thank you for your thoughts!

      P.S. Going to Niagara Falls for the long weekend. I will wave at you as we pass through Toronto!

      October 1, 2012 at 6:29 pm

      • Ahaha that’s awesome!!! Have lots of fun and take lots of pictures 🙂

        October 1, 2012 at 6:33 pm

        • You know that I will! I’ve actually never been before, so I’m super excited about it. The husband is less excited…but he is being a good sport! 🙂

          October 1, 2012 at 6:34 pm

        • WHAT?! You’ve never been to Niagara Falls?! This is a horrible time to choose to go, then! I’d suggest taking time off the summer and staying at a hotel where you can enjoy an outdoor pool AND see the Falls 🙂 I went with Dark over the winter, and they had Christmas light figures all over the place, which was nice. I’d still have preferred summer, though! Nothing beats the sun on the Falls 🙂

          October 1, 2012 at 6:37 pm

        • Well, the autumn trees will be lovely and the Maid of the Mist as well as Marineland are still running. And those were the two big things for me!

          And nope, never been before. I’m originally from Calgary though and have only been out East here for 2.5 years…so we just haven’t made it over there until now. It is like a 5.5 hour drive remember. Not just around the corner from Ottawa like it is for you! 🙂

          October 1, 2012 at 6:41 pm

        • Haha well it does take a while for me to get there too. I just hope you dress warmly, getting wet from the Falls in this weather is no walk in the park! I just think water events are more enjoyable in the heat of summer 😉

          October 1, 2012 at 6:44 pm

        • You are right about that. This summer just flew by so quickly and I didn’t want to wait until next summer. Hopefully we won’t die of pneumonia. If I never post again, you will know what happened. And then you can comment saying “told you so”. lol

          October 1, 2012 at 6:46 pm

        • O___O *knocks on wood*

          October 1, 2012 at 7:08 pm

  4. Both is great, but I prefer you without bangs. I completely understand this wish! I love bangs, but it doesn’t fit very well for me. I like your pictures with bangs, but I prefer the bangs without the glasses. 😉

    October 1, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    • That is a good point too Samira…bangs with the glasses…because I do wear glasses everyday to work and am rarely with contacts. Maybe only once or twice a week unless I am travelling. So there is THAT to consider as well! Thank you!

      October 1, 2012 at 6:33 pm

  5. Think you look beautiful either way! But i think i prefer the bangs only by like 55 / 45

    October 1, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    • Thank you Amanda for you very specific comment! 🙂 Every little bit helps, I have no idea what I want and I’m afraid of drastic change lol

      October 1, 2012 at 8:19 pm

  6. I say get bangs because I just cut mine again. 🙂 I was growing mine out, but then I got bored.

    October 1, 2012 at 8:58 pm

  7. I love bangs! I’m thinking of cutting bangs myself, so go for bangs 🙂
    btw I just nominated you for 3 blog awards:)
    http://niicolea.wordpress.com/2012/10/02/blog-awards-long-overdue/

    October 2, 2012 at 11:28 am

    • Thanks for the nominations Nicole – that is so sweet of you!

      I can’t wait to see you with bangs, if you take the plunge. I’m sure you will look great. Would you go side swept style bangs?

      October 2, 2012 at 3:42 pm

  8. I vote no bangs! But you’re a beauty queen regardless. xo

    October 2, 2012 at 11:55 am

    • Aww Jenny, you are so cute, thank you!

      Your vote should count for extra because you experienced my life with bangs the most out of probably anyone by seeing me everyday at work. I will way your opinion heavily!

      P.S. I miss you terribly and think of you often! ❤

      October 2, 2012 at 3:44 pm

  9. You are gorgeous!! I vote BANGS! xoxo

    October 2, 2012 at 9:08 pm

  10. Izy

    I would see you with fringed bangs that frame your face 🙂

    October 3, 2012 at 9:19 am

  11. I miss you terribly as well!!
    Oh! Maybe try some of the side swept bangs. I’m obviously partial to them since I have them myself but I like that they’re a little longer than blunt bangs and they’re easy to pin back if I feel like having a no bang day. 🙂

    October 3, 2012 at 10:03 am

    • I’ve always wanted that look but never been able to get it to look the way I want. Not sure if that was a hairdresser thing or a cow-lick thing. But it might be time to try it again!

      October 3, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Leave a Reply

