A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

How to remove glitter nail polish – the easy way!

I have a love hate relationship with glitter nail polish.  I love them because they are sparkly, fun and downright beautiful.  Glitter nail polishes are great for spicing up a mani that is a couple of days old and they also act as a great top coat to make your mani really last.  BUT I hate them because they can be absolutely impossible to get off.  You end up slaving away trying to get rid of these beautiful, little, pain in the ass sparkles – shredding cotton ball after cotton ball and seemingly getting no closer to your goal – it drives me nuts!  It drives me so nuts, that I actually go out of my way not to use them, simply because I find myself dreading the removal stage.

I mean really, look at what this ONE COAT of Mermaid Tale by Orly is doing to my cosmetic pad.

tired of glitter nail polish?

It is a constant battle, with every finger.

tips for getting off glitter nail polish easily

Just imagine if this was a full manicure of glitter polish…I would literally be at this all day.  So, I’ve been one to use glitter nail polish sparingly, or at least I was..before I stumbled across this useful tip…

Cotton balls, tin foil and polish remover!

how to remove glitter nail polish

You will need one cotton ball for each finger and a fairly small strip of tin foil.

Doing one finger at a time, apply some nail polish remover to the cotton ball, in a large enough circle to cover your entire nail.

tutorial for removing glitter nail polish

Press it down onto your nail and wrap your finger tip in tin foil to hold it in place.

how to easily remove your glitter nail polish

Repeat for all your fingers.

how to easily remove glitter nail polish from your nails

Wait about 5 minutes and simply pull off your little alien finger tips.  Any glitter or colour remaining on your nail is just floating on the surface and comes off with a simple, single swipe of a cotton ball.

how to easily remove glitter nail polish

This method is SO fast and allows you to do all of your fingers at the same time…with no frustration and no headache!  So wear those glittery polishes without fear and enjoy them!

Do you have a secret method for removing glittery nail polishes?  If so, please share below – the more tips the better!

Thanks for reading everyone and GLITTER UP!

xox,

Shannon

20 responses

  1. I don’t wear glitter nail polish for this reason. Thanks for the tip Shannon!

    September 30, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    • Perfect – now you can rock something fun and glitzy over the holidays if you want…without dreading the removal stage! I swear, I heard angels sing when I tried this and it worked like it was supposed to!

      September 30, 2012 at 4:13 pm

  2. Great tip! I love wearing glitter on my nails, but hate to remove it! Thanks 🙂

    September 30, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    • Hi Nicole – I know, right? It is always such a nightmare, but looks so pretty. Now hopefully you can indulge your glittery side more often! Let me know what you think, once you give it a go. 🙂

      September 30, 2012 at 4:14 pm

  3. Lacquerice

    Yes maam

    September 30, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    • Being the nail guru that you are, I have no doubt you’ve known this trick forever! I’m a little behind the times, but so happy now that I can reach for those glittery polishes with no drawbacks. 🙂

      September 30, 2012 at 4:15 pm

  4. What a great tip!! I avoid glitter nail polish for the same reason.
    Thank you for posting this!

    September 30, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    • Oh yay! I’m glad I was able to help by sharing this, hopefully this will let you expand your horizons back into the world of glittery goodness!!

      I actually have a couple of glittery polishes that came in sets, that I never tried, ever…because I didn’t want to fuss with getting them off. I’m excited to give them a try, finally!

      September 30, 2012 at 4:28 pm

  5. I heard about this trick recently and it works so well!

    September 30, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    • It sure does. I’m not nearly so turned off of glitter polishes now. I used to look at them in the store and be like “it’s pretty, but look at all that glitter, what a pain that will be” and then put it back on the shelf. Now I can have some fun!

      September 30, 2012 at 5:06 pm

      • Lol! I would still buy it and torture myself cuz i loce glittertoo much! Lol

        September 30, 2012 at 5:29 pm

        • Haha, it is certainly awesome. Whenever I have it on my nails I keep staring at them thinking “you’re so pretty” lol.

          September 30, 2012 at 5:34 pm

        • Lol! Glitter is pretty! ❤

          September 30, 2012 at 6:04 pm

  6. That is such a neat idea! I will definitely have to try this. I love glitter polishes but wear them sparingly because I can’t stand the removal process. Thanks for sharing!

    October 3, 2012 at 7:17 am

    • Yay Nicole – so glad this little trick will help you out! The world needs more glitter! hehe

      October 3, 2012 at 3:31 pm

  7. Reblogged this on Glam Life Without Strife and commented:
    This is and awesome way to get glitter nail polish off! 🙂

    October 6, 2012 at 1:40 pm

  8. Pingback: Jelly Sandwich Extravaganza with the Fall 2012 “Gloss” Collection by Zoya « eyemasq

  9. I’ve heard about this before and have seen it at my local manicurist. I actually tried it twice and though it works, it can be a pain just to do.

    November 4, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    • It is still an inconvenience sure, but its nothing compared to trying to remove glitter nail polish the way you would normal polish. I definitely prefer this method! But yes, you are right, it is still tedious to have to do this at all. So I can see why some people still avoid the glitter polishes. But for me, this is easy enough where I don’t feel bad indulging myself with them from time to time. Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      November 4, 2012 at 6:55 pm

  10. Pingback: nail GLITTER « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

