A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Nails fit for a mermaid

I was playing around with some polishes on the weekend and wanted to do something fairly bright, seeing as summer is practically over.  😦   I’m in denial and am trying to get used to the fact that I’m going to have to get used to more muted, darker shades soon for the course of fall and winter.   I also wanted to use a couple of new shades that I haven’t tried out yet.

green glitter nail polish, baby blue/aqua nail polish

Club Prive is a baby blue (with an aqua tint) from L’Oreal and is a part of their permanent collection.  It is sheer but milky and I found that it required about 3 coats to be perfectly opaque.

Club Prive Nail Lacquer by L'Oreal - swatch

I used Club Prive as my base and then layered on a generous coat of Mermaid Tale, by Orly, from their Flash Glam FX Collection.

Mermaid Tale nail polish overtop of Club Prive

Click me – so you can REALLY see my glitter!

Mermaid Tale is a full on glitter polish with a clear base.  It is made up of both small and medium sized glitters in a variety of green and blue shades.  

mermaid tale nail polish over a blue polish

I had a lot of fun with this manicure and am really looking forward to trying out “Mermaid Tale” in a Jelly Sandwich!

Tell me, are you still clinging on to summer colours?  Or have you already made the transition into fall?

xox,

Shannon

mermaid nails

25 responses

  1. gchicnotes

    I have club prive and love it! I always get compliments.

    September 25, 2012 at 5:32 pm

    • It’s a really unique colour, I’m really happy I picked it up too!

      September 25, 2012 at 5:41 pm

  2. So beautiful!! This loreal color is really awesome!
    (and I miss the view from your window… I hope I can go there again soon)
    Beijos

    September 25, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    • Yeah, it was really unlike anything I had already, so it was a great addition!

      I hope you can come back soon too. Hopefully I can come to Brazil too – I miss you my dear! ❤

      September 25, 2012 at 8:24 pm


      • Do you find loreal polish at drugstore or walmart? We dont have this here… So sad 😦

        September 26, 2012 at 4:15 pm

        • Both! But I got this specific one at WalMart. I can send you some. Should we do a Christmas gift box exchange?

          September 26, 2012 at 4:22 pm

  3. justBglam

    Pretty!

    September 25, 2012 at 7:26 pm

  4. What a gorgeous combo – thanks for sharing. 🙂

    September 26, 2012 at 6:05 pm

  5. pearlessence

    I have to admit… seeing the crummy weather every morning doesn’t make me so inclined to reach for colour 😦 but maybe I’m going about it the wrong way!

    September 26, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    • Haha, for me, I think it is more of a “well it’s crummy outside, I might as well make it pretty inside” type of mentality. Although I think this is probably my last bright manicure. Once we hit October, my excuses will have run dry. lol

      September 26, 2012 at 8:31 pm

  6. great manicure! i love mermaid tale but never thought to try it over a light blue. i might have to try this one out!

    September 26, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    • Thanks Holly! I thought it would create a fun mani and I’m really happy with how it turned out. 🙂

      September 26, 2012 at 10:05 pm

  7. I’m sure we can do a christmas box exchange!! It’s so exciting!! Let’s talk about! Beijos.

    September 28, 2012 at 4:18 pm

  8. purrplecatclaws

    i love your mermaid-y combination too! i actually have orly mermaid tale as well, but it’s drowned in my huge pile of untrieds :S

    September 29, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    • Haha it sat there for a while in my collection too actually! I’m glad I finally used it though, Mermaid Tale is a super gorgeous colour and I’m glad I got it. Can’t wait to try it out in a Jelly Sandwich!

      September 30, 2012 at 9:18 am

  9. Lauren

    Love it! I have made the transition to fall nail colors, but I’m still rocking glitter over them as well lol!

    September 29, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    • That sounds like fun. I actually have a gold/bronze type glitter that would be a nice way to spice up the fall shades!

      September 30, 2012 at 9:16 am

  10. So pretty!! ❤

    September 30, 2012 at 12:37 pm

  11. Pingback: How to remove glitter nail polish – the easy way! « eyemasq

  12. http://lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com
    I love this color, and I love mermaid stories. Nice blog, Betty

    October 12, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    • ShannonBearzatto

      Thanks Betty! I thought Club Prive was a super pretty base for underneath Mermaid Tale. I love the combination for spring/summer, but it felt a little too bright for autumn. I’ve since turned to shades that are a tad darker and deeper.

      October 12, 2012 at 11:19 pm

  13. Pingback: Jelly Sandwich Extravaganza with the Fall 2012 “Gloss” Collection by Zoya « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

