A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

They’re Real! by benefit – the World’s #1 Mascara?

They’re Real! mascara by benefit is quickly becoming  a cult favourite and it is in no way news to the blogging community, but I still wanted to share my experience with it nonetheless.  I actually purchased it quite a while ago but was waiting for a time when I could photograph my first application of it for all of you!  I’ve always thought the best way to review a product is to simply show you real pictures and my experiences.  Then it is up to you to decide how you feel about them.  🙂

But first, a little bit of background.

What’s its claim?

They’re Real! mascara lengthens, curls, volumizes, lifts & separates beyond belief.  The jet black, long-wearing formula is smudge-proof & budge-proof…and the specifically designed brush reveals lashes you never knew you had!

They're Real! Mascara by benefit cosmetics

Value pack of They're Real! Mascara by Benefit

As you can see, right on the front of the box, it claims “WORLD’s #1 MASCARA”.   I’m not sure how they have substantiated that, if at all – it seems like too bold of a statement for any mascara if you ask me.  It is benefit’s best selling mascara though and has received a great deal of rave reviews on-line.

How to Apply:

Wiggle wand from base to top for maximum volume, length & lift.  Hold wand vertically & stroke upward to curl & separate.

mascara review of "They're Real!"

close up of They're Real mascara wand by benefit cosmetics

My Before and After Pictures:

before and after mascara pictures

before and after pictures - mascara review

before and after pictures featuring They're Real! mascara

before and after pictures using They're Real! mascara by benefit cosmetics

Where to buy:

You can of course get this at Sephora if you are a Canadian or US resident.

The full size retails for $29.00 CAD or $23.00 US.  If that is your plan though, I recommend you grab it online because they have the full size that comes with the bonus mini for the same price as the full size sold alone (I didn’t see the duo in the Sephora store when I went).

They're! Real mascara by benefit, review complete with before and after pictures

The mini is also sold individually if you would like to try it out for yourself and see if it lives up to the hype – $12.00 CAD or $10.00 US.

You will also be able to find this anywhere benefit cosmetics are sold.  That means Shoppers Drug Mart in Canada and Ulta in the US are also options.  They will have the same prices as Sephora though, so my recommendation is just to go where ever is most convenient.

My Pros:

  • Extremely long lasting, no smudging or fall out below your eyes after a long day.
  • The wand truly finds lashes I didn’t know I had.  It gets right into your inner eye and finds them all, without making a mess.
  • Great mascara if you only have time for one coat!
  • Fantastic value if you purchase the duo and receive the travel size mascara for free!

My Cons:

  • Currently only available in black, so for those of you ladies that prefer a brown mascara, you are out of luck for right now.
  • Its “waterproof-like” formula can make removing it a bit of a pain.  It will take more work than other non-waterproof brands to get it all off.
  • No actual waterproof version available yet.

Note: I’ve found after trying this mascara for the past couple of weeks that this mascara will clump if you apply more than 2 coats.  So I recommend you stick with 1 or 2!

With full make-up:

bright summer eye makeup  - passionate, coral and orange eyeshadow

They're Real! mascara by Benefit

My verdict:

I think this is a fantastic mascara, and good value if you are able to pick up the duo.  Do I plan to stop trying other mascaras though and only use this one?  Definitely not.  It will however get more use than the other mascaras I have hanging around on my vanity right now.  The no fall-out under my eyes is a quality that  I haven’t experienced with any other non-waterproof mascara – and shouldn’t be overlooked!  Will I buy again?  Probably.

For other before and after pictures with various brands of mascara, please check out my Ultimate Mascara Review featuring mascaras by Urban Decay, Stila, Too Faced, MUFE, Tarte and many more.

For those of you that have given this one a try, I would love to know what you think in the comments below!  And tell me, what is your favourite mascara?

Thanks for reading!

xox,

Shannon

bright summer makeup, funky makeup, dramatic makeup

30 responses

  1. This looks really impressive on you, Shannon! Now I feel the need to try this one (maybe after I’m done with the gazillion unopened tubes lying around)!

    Your eye makeup is as stunning as usual. I admire how freely and easily you can incorporate so many colors!

    September 23, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    • Oh Sunny, you really are too sweet – thank you!

      I hope you do give it a try once you work through that stash of yours because I’d love to hear what you think of it too. 🙂

      As for the bright makeup, I figured I was running out of time to play with bright, fun, summery colours like this. After all, the leaves are starting to change here already!

      You didn’t say what your favourite mascara is right now?! I’m curious which one you would pick, if you could only have one for the rest of your life?! 🙂

      September 23, 2012 at 8:04 pm

  2. Reblogged this on Project Beauté and commented:
    I think I might be in love!!!

    September 23, 2012 at 7:14 pm

  3. Wonderful!!! I want it!!! 🙂

    September 24, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    • You will have to let me know what you think if you end up getting it!

      September 24, 2012 at 3:41 pm

      • For sure! I have already seen the advertisement and I was curious! Now I really want to try it! 🙂

        September 24, 2012 at 4:05 pm

        • Very cool! I hate mascara ads and commercials because they always have fake eyelashes or extensions on. I mean really – no ones eyelashes look like that just by adding mascara. Sometimes you can straight up see the band from the fake lashes if you look close enough. That’s why I always think real peoples pictures speak louder!

          September 24, 2012 at 4:41 pm

  4. very pretty! love that look too!!

    September 25, 2012 at 3:23 pm

  5. pearlessence

    I love your eye makeup! And your review for this mascara is reassuring. I’d been staying far away from Benefit mascaras because Bad Gal smudged so terribly on me, even though so many rave about it. Maybe I’ll try this one sometime if I get the chance!

    September 26, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    • Thanks! This mascara was at the other end of the “smudge” spectrum for me. It really is fantastic for that. Even if I do that really bad thing that I’m not supposed to do…(go to bed wtih my makeup on), I wake up the next morning and still don’t have fall out under my eyes. It’s amazing for that!

      P.S. It is SO nice that you are back, I really hope you find your balance and can stick around!!

      September 26, 2012 at 8:33 pm

  6. purrplecatclaws

    wow, the lengthening and volumising effect is impressive!! does it hold curls well, though? my eyelashes are stubbornly straight :/ they lose their curl easily, even though i’m using an electric heated curler!!

    September 29, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    • I must say that they held curl VERY well throughout the day. I used to have problems with that as well, from mascaras that were non-waterproof. I always found that waterproof mascaras were the only ones that held curl properly throughout the day (but really, who wants to wear waterproof mascara everyday)…but this one is so close to waterproof mascara without being actually waterproof. You will have to let me know if you end up giving it a try, I’d love to know what you think!

      September 30, 2012 at 9:22 am

      • purrplecatclaws

        :O thanks for the info! and yeah, waterproof mascara is indeed a pain to remove @__@

        i might get a small/ sample tube to try it out first, if i can find one! i’ve got sensitive eyes so most mascaras don’t work out for me :/

        October 1, 2012 at 8:45 am

        • Is it the formulas that irritate your eyes or something else? What kind of mascara do you currently use?

          Worst case, if you want to try it out, you can always purchase the mini from Sephora. They have a 30 day return policy, no questions asked. So if its not for you, or creates irritation, you can simply return it and get all your money back. Can’t lose!

          October 1, 2012 at 12:27 pm

        • purrplecatclaws

          there’s practically no return policy in my country ): which sucks cos i recently bought a department-store brand moisturiser that broke me out horribly, and now i’m stuck with an expensive product i can’t use -__-

          hmmm i’m using a japanese-brand waterproof mascara (the brand’s called dollywink)! so far only clinique’s mascara hasn’t irritated my eyes, but it did only lengthened my lashes a tiny bit lol

          October 2, 2012 at 8:32 am

        • I love Clinique products – I always find they are super gentle no matter the skin type. I can totally see why their mascara didn’t bother you! Good luck in your hunt for the perfect mascara!!

          October 2, 2012 at 3:37 pm

        • purrplecatclaws

          thank you (:

          October 2, 2012 at 7:13 pm

  7. Pingback: Feeling Earthy? (a rainforest makeup tutorial) « eyemasq

  8. Pingback: November 2012 Topbox « eyemasq

  9. Wow the They’re Real really did amazing things!!!! Thanks for sharing this. 🙂

    November 20, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    • It is my “go to” when I want dramatic lashes, but am too lazy to put on false lashes. It really does work amazing!

      The only thing I don’t like about it, is that it is harder to get off than the mascaras I was used to using, so I actually had to pick up a make-up remover that works for waterproof products. Because previously I only used an oil-free one and it didn’t work very well. Even though this mascara isn’t technically waterproof, it sure seems like it is sometimes. I don’t mind though, because that means less fall out and flaking and it seems to hold the curl better!

      Do you think you will try it Marisa?

      November 20, 2012 at 3:44 pm

  10. Well I just got a Tarte Gifted in the mail from ebay: check out review here:
    http://wearyourvitamins.com/2012/11/20/tarte-gifted-amazonian-clay-smart-mascara/
    so I think it will be awhile before I am able to try it! But I think it is definitely next on my list! Benefits of having a beauty community: lots of products you MUST try and trustworthy awesome advice. Drawbacks of having a beauty community: lots of products you MUST try. haha!

    November 20, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    • Yeah, its so true Marisa! You feel more confident about your purchases because you know more about them, you know what you want, you’ve read reviews, you’ve seen pictures……………….BUT you *need* more said purchases. 🙂

      November 20, 2012 at 4:47 pm

      • 🙂 I can honestly say I have learned more in the last few weeks than ever before – I highly value my bloggin’ community’s opinions!

        November 20, 2012 at 4:55 pm

        • I couldn’t agree more! I am always learning new things from other bloggers. 🙂 Beauty blogging is such a fun hobby to have and I find it so rewarding. You meet great people that you get to share your experiences in the world of beauty with. Starting EYEMASQ was one of the best decisions I ever made – its just too much fun!!

          November 20, 2012 at 5:12 pm

  11. ¡Me encanta!, la tengo y es mi favorita, besos

    November 20, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    • Hey, thanks for reading and for commenting! 🙂 It is my favourite mascara as well, but I don’t use it everyday because it is more difficult to remove than others I own. When really, I should just get in the habit of removing my makeup before bed like I am supposed to! 🙂

      November 20, 2012 at 4:49 pm

  12. Pingback: Feeling Sexy? A Holiday Makeup Look & Tutorial « eyemasq

  13. Pingback: Feeling Festive? A Christmas Makeup Look « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

