A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Magnetix II: a new collection from China Glaze

China Glaze is back at it this fall with “Magnetix II”, a whole new collection of Magnetic Nail Polishes and another 3-in-1 Magnet with all new designs.

Fall 2012 Magnetix Collection by China Glaze

This magnet has a bullseye/circle design, a striped design (straight vertical lines this time) and a square patchwork design.circle, square and straight line magnet by China Glaze

circle, square and striped magnetic nail designs by China Glaze (Magnetix II fall collection 2012)

As for the nail lacquers, this collection is much brighter and more vibrant than the original Magnetix Collection which was quite muted.  What I love about Magnetix II is that is has a great variety of shades, some are darker where some are super vibrant and rich.  So whether you are wanting some fresh new fall shades, or are clinging on to the last moments of summer this collection likely has something for you.

Take a look at these swatches from China Glaze:


Gold Fusion

Positively In Love

Bond-Tastic

Get Charged

Sparks Will Fly

Con-fused?

You can currently pick up these polishes in store at a Sally Beauty Supply location, at your local salon, or on-line at Ebay.  At Sally Beauty Supply, they are $6.99 CAD (magnet sold separately at the same price).  Today, I grabbed Bond-Tastic and Con-Fused? but I must tell you that in store I had a super hard time deciding which shades to pick.  They are ALL so pretty.  And remember, they don’t need to be used with the magnet, so it is always good to pick up a shade you see yourself wearing by itself too.

magnetic nail polishes in green and orange

Con-Fused? is a rich emerald green shimmer polish and when used with the magnet a deeper darker shade of green is brought out creating a very cool 3D effect.

green magnetic nail polish by China Glaze

China Glaze Magnetix 3-in-1 magnet, magnetic nail designs, green magnetic nail polish

Whereas Bond-Tastic is a rusty brown/burnt orange shimmer polish with steel grey undertones (this is actually a hard colour to find as a regular nail polish, so this one will be performing double duty for me).  The magnet brings out the lighter orange/steel undertones found in the polish.

orange magnetic nail polish by China Glaze

For a full tutorial on how to create these magnetic designs, please click here.

What I like:

  • Always creates a fun and unique look, the magnets can be twisted and turned to create different patterns every time.
  • The colours in this collection are so pretty, I’d be happy wearing them with or without the magnet.
  • If you screwed up a nail or aren’t crazy about how the pattern turned out, throw on another coat of polish and try again, it isn’t necessary to start from scratch.
  • These polishes are much more opaque than the ones in the previous Magnetix collection.   While the instructions have always said to do one coat of polish and then immediately apply the magnet, the original Magnetix Collection was too sheer to get nice results.  With Magnetix II though, one coat is all you need.
  • I absolutely love the bullseye design and I found I had the most consistent results with this design.

What I don’t like:

  • The natural curvature of my nails result in only the centre of the nail changing under the magnet.  The pattern generally doesn’t reach the edges of my nails (unless I angle the magnet more to one side than other, but then the other side won’t get any design).
  • It takes some messing around to get the patterns to come out nice and clear.  I had a hard time getting the patterns to come through as prominent as they show in pictures.  You have to hold the magnet as close as possible to the nail, without touching it.  I wish the magnets were stronger (which I’ve heard is the case with some other brands).

Important Tip: Be fast getting the magnet over your wet nail.  If you take too long, no pattern will appear at all on your nail, or it will be very faint.

How do you feel about magnetic nail polishes?  Are you a fan?  I want to hear about your experiences!

Thanks for reading!

xox,
Shannon

Con-fused? and Bond-Tastic magnetic nail polishes with new 3-in-1 magnet, by China Glaze

15 responses

  1. I NEED this, now!! lol… I love the Magnetix I bought there, but I have the same problem as you with the patterns… they didn’t appear very good. 🙂

    September 16, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    • I’ve heard some brands work better and have stronger magnets, so I might something else another time. But I find these ones work “good enough” for the times that I want to use them. 🙂

      September 16, 2012 at 8:19 pm

      • Let me know the brands to search in my next trip… 🙂
        By the way, I’ll go to France in December, very exciting!! 🙂

        September 16, 2012 at 8:27 pm

        • France, exciting! Where abouts? Just Paris, or will you be travelling around? (France is actually the next travel blog I need to do!)

          As for the brands of magnetic nail polish with stronger magnets, I’ve heard good things about Nails Inc and the Color Club brand. Good luck!

          September 17, 2012 at 6:44 am

  2. Just Paris… I only have 6 days between Christmas and New Year… do you have some tips? 🙂

    September 17, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    • You are going to love it, there is so much to see! My must-see’s are the Eiffel Tower, the Notre Dame Cathedral and the Louvre. The Arc de Triomphe is worth a visit as well…and I’ve heard Moulin Rouge is nice although I never went when I was there. Can’t wait to see your pictures!!!

      September 17, 2012 at 5:22 pm

      • I booked Lido in place of Moulin Rouge (a friend recomended Lido and said Moulin Rouge is a little rundown actually) and the other places are in my list. I’m very excited… You know me, lol! I’m worring about the weather… I think will be coldest than when I was in Canada.

        September 18, 2012 at 10:15 pm

        • Well, I know you will have 8 scarves with you, so you will be okay! ❤

          September 19, 2012 at 6:53 am

  3. whoa these are awesome! I am loving the swirl!!

    September 19, 2012 at 8:01 am

    • I know – it is so fun isn’t it!? Have you tried Magnetic polishes from any other brands?

      September 19, 2012 at 4:12 pm

      • The layla which was ok and the sally hanson which i loved!

        September 19, 2012 at 6:56 pm

        • Very cool, I haven’t tried either. Perhaps I will look for the Sally Hansen next time I am at Wal-Mart!

          September 19, 2012 at 7:50 pm

  4. Yeay, really liked how the emerald green & design turned out!! very cool.

    September 29, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    • Hey – thank you! It is my favourite of all my magnetic polishes too! It is such a pretty shade!

      September 29, 2012 at 3:50 pm

  5. Pingback: Magnetix Nail Polish by China Glaze « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

