A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Neutrals with a pop of colour

I’m not crazy enough to think that people love bright makeup as much as I do.  And it’s true that sometimes, all you need is a pop of colour instead of an intensely bright eye.  After all, hot pink eyeshadow isn’t always work place friendly.

So I wanted to share with you a few different ways that I like to incorporate something bright or bold into my soft and neutral looks.

1. Keep your eyeshadow and lips soft and opt for a bright contrasting eye liner.

MAC's Aloha Crushed Metallic Pigments with Pearlglide Intense Eyeliners:

neutral eyeshadow with a pop of colour

brown eyeshadow with bright purple eyeliner

2. Create either a soft or smokey eye using neutral colours like browns or greys and add a bold lip in a vibrant shade such as red, pink or even orange.

Pin-Up Style with a Bold Red Lip:

pin-up makeup

Too Faced Sweet Dreams Palette:

smokey eye makeup with a hot pink lip

3. Pair neutral shades of eyeshadow with a brighter colour like seen below in this unlikely combination of brown, peach and green.  The browns keep it soft, while the green and peach add a little bit of fun.

Lancome Makeover:

neutral eye makeup with a pop of colour

So, when you are planning to pair those brown eyeshadows with that nude lipstick and muted blush, have a little bit of fun instead and add a pop of colour!

And tell me, how do you add colour to your everyday?

xox,

Shannon

8 responses

  1. Very pretty looks! I love to add fun pop of colours to my looks by wearing a colourful lipstick 🙂

    August 18, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    • Thanks for commenting Nicole. I usually end up opting for bright eye makeup over lipstick. It is truly whatever one is comfortable with! I actually have a gorgeous orange lipstick that I haven’t worked up the nerve to try outside of the house yet. I’d better hurry, before summer is gone!!

      August 18, 2012 at 4:45 pm

      • Yes girl you better hurry, because orange lipstick is sooo pretty! You inspired me to do a neutral eye with a pop of colour look :), I’ll post it on my blog soon. Check it out if you want 🙂

        August 18, 2012 at 4:56 pm

        • I will be sure to do that. I am following you now so I won’t miss it. 🙂

          August 18, 2012 at 5:57 pm

      • Hey, You should try that Eudora orange lipstick… lol

        August 19, 2012 at 1:00 pm

        • I know! I have been meaning too, but it is so much more intense than I am used to on my lips. I think I need to make a whole nice look for it where it fits in. 🙂 I’d better hurry before summer is gone!

          August 19, 2012 at 1:04 pm

  2. Holly J

    I’m still trying to master the art of a pop of color. I love a bold lip or a neon eyeliner but I still haven’t produced it to the point that I leaving the mirror feeling like I look like myself.

    August 18, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    • Hey Holly, I know what you mean. Sometimes I get that feeling with lipsticks..which is why I so often end up with bright eye or bold eye makeup instead of bright or hot pink lips for example. I will put it on and then wipe it off before I get out the door.

      August 18, 2012 at 8:20 pm

Leave a Reply

