A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

The Ugly Truth of an Untamed Brow (How to shape your eyebrows at home)

I’ve always thought that eyebrows can make or break a face.  Sometimes they are so intense they are all you notice and other times they’ve been so over-plucked you can’t help but wondering what bathroom nightmare took place.  The key is to find a balance somewhere in the middle where your eyebrows compliment your face, instead of reeling in all of the attention.  You want your eyebrows to frame your face, open it up and give the eyes definition.

I’ve been preoccupied as of late, which I’m sure you could gather with my lack of posts during the month of July and early August.  During this time period, I have not been a very good friend to my eyebrows.  So I figured it would be a good opportunity to post a before and after featuring my unkempt eyebrows and the difference they can make to a look when they have been properly taken care of.

What you need to shape your eyebrows at home:

  • a straw/pencil/thin make-up brush (in the steps below, this item will be called “stick of choice”)
  • a good pair of tweezers
  • a  mirror (a magnifying mirror is best, but any mirror will do)
  • good lighting

eyebrow tutorial

How to shape your eyebrows:

  1. Using your stick of choice, line it up against the outside of your nose and hold it straight up vertically.  This should show you where you want the inside of your brow to start.  The inside of your brow should begin directly above the inner corner of your eye.  Pluck any hairs that are past this line.
  2. Now, looking straight ahead, angle your stick of choice so it crosses directly over your pupil and up through the brow.  The brow should arch highest at this point, where the line crosses through.  This is where you want to start thinning out and shaping the outside half of your brow to create your arch.
  3. Again using your stick of choice, keeping one end against the outside of your nose, angle it so the other end is in line with the outside corner of your eye.  This marks the end of your brow.  Pluck any hairs that are past this line.

***If this is your first time shaping your own brows, I recommend filling in your brows in the shape these 3 steps direct you.  And then if you like the way they look, simply pluck any of the hairs that are outside this filled in area.***

So, let’s take a look at how mine turned out.  They are far from perfect, but it was a vast improvement.

eyebrow shaping tutorial

Tips:

  1. Don’t tweeze along the upper edge of your eyebrows.  It will ruin the natural line and shape of your brow and can even encourage growth of new hair in unwanted areas.
  2. When plucking, always pull in the direction the hair is growing.  This is less painful and the hair is less likely to break.
  3. Pluck your brows right after showering so your pores are open and your face is free of any make-up or moisturizer that might cause your tweezers to slip.
  4. Your eyebrows should be one shade lighter than your hair colour.  You can use an eyeshadow or brow pencil to achieve this look as well as fill in any areas of the brow that are too sparse.
  5. Caitlin C, a MAC make-up artist says “your brows should be sisters, not twins”, so don’t try to make them look perfectly identical as though they were stamped on.  You still want a natural look.
  6. Last but not least, remember that your eyebrows will have a natural shape and arch already, mostly you just need to tend to them.  Don’t fight the hand you were dealt!

eyebrow shaping tutorial

***If all of this sounds too complicated, you can always go to a salon for an eyebrow wax or threading.  It costs anywhere from $10-$15 (depending on where you live) and you will need to go every month.***

I hope some of you found this post helpful and that my before and after pictures are at the very least entertaining.  🙂

Thanks for reading!

xox,

Shannon

eyebrow tutorial

9 responses

  1. Erin Hall Lewis

    Wow. This is a seriously awesome brow tutorial! Thanks for taking the time to post this, it’s wonderful.

    August 15, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    • Erin – thanks for visiting and thanks for commenting! I’m really glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

      August 15, 2012 at 4:29 pm

  2. Great brow tutorial! I tend to let mine get a little unruly before I tend to them, and I may give this a go next time. Typically they come out well enough, but I like the idea of this a lot and would love to see if it made things easier. 🙂

    August 15, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    • Hey Mary – thanks for commenting! You will have to let me know how it works out if you give it a try. It is always my guideline so I can make sure I don’t overpluck or get too crazy with them. Everyone’s eyebrows of course have their own natural shape and arch, but I really find that this helps keep them in order. 🙂

      August 15, 2012 at 6:22 pm

  3. They should be sisters, not twins. Oh thank you for that! My brows are not the same, and I always hated it. I think I just need to let it go.

    August 15, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    • Absolutely you do! I think people’s eyebrows always look ridiculous when they look drawn on. Thanks for commenting hunn!

      August 15, 2012 at 7:51 pm

  4. gchicnotes

    This is an awesome post! I do my own brows but I’m going to have to try that straw trick to make sure I’m not over plucking! Nice !

    August 16, 2012 at 4:03 pm

  5. Great Brow tutorial! love your brows they look fabulous!

    August 17, 2012 at 8:07 am

    • So sweet of you to say, thank you! I’m really glad you liked the tutorial. 🙂

      August 17, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Leave a Reply

