A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

A red, white, blue and green nail marble

It had been far too long since I’d put any effort into how my nails looked.  So I decided to go all out and do a nail marble, instead of just painting them a single boring colour.

Depending on how familiar you are with Nail Marbling, you might want to first visit my full picture tutorial “The Art of Nail Marbling“.

I wasn’t actually blown away by how this manicure turned out.  I found it, just “okay”.  I blame it on my being rusty!  But I figured I’d still post about it and let you all take a peek anyway.

funky nails

To start out, I used a white basecoat: Paper Mache by Fingerpaints.  I did two coats and let dry.

White Nail Polish by Fingerpaints

Then I taped around each nail on one hand using scotch tape.

tape around your nails using scotch tape

For my marbling colours, I went with a green, red and blue nail polish – all from China Glaze.  (I’ve used these polishes multiple times for nail marbling and have never had any problems getting them to expand in the water.)

tutorial for nail marbling

I decided I wanted a lot of white in this manicure, so I alternated each colour with a drop of white in between (again, using Paper Mache nail lacquer by Fingerpaints as my white).   My bullseye pattern ended up looking like this:

water design in for nail marbling

Using a toothpick I created a design.

white, blue, red and green nail marble

 

Next you simply dunk your finger in (be sure to clean up the rest of the water with a toothpick before pulling out your finger).  Depending on the design, you may choose to dunk more than one finger at a time.  But I never do more than two.  (Too much opportunity to smudge a design.)

multi-coloured nail marbling design

Repeat for all fingers.

nail marbling tutorial

Remove tape carefully.  Clean up anything the tape missed with a q-tip soaked in nail polish remover.

Viola!  A bright fun manicure!

nail marbling tutorial

I’ve had so many people respond to these nail marbling posts saying that they were going to give it a try.  Has anyone done that?  How did it go?!?!

Thanks for reading everyone!

xox,

Shannon

If you’d like to see more nail marbling creations please visit:

Water Marble: A Burst of Blue

A Brazilian Nail Marble

A Spring Time Nail Marble

St. Patrick’s Day Nails

Have you picked your colour scheme?

Peppermint Nails

7 responses

  1. That is so cool! I tried to do a bit of marbling myself one time but, alas!, all I got were polished fingers instead of nails! 😀 Great color combination, too. I envy your skills. 🙂

    August 13, 2012 at 3:57 pm

  2. fancieland

    This is so pretty and creative! Thanks for the tutorial!

    August 13, 2012 at 4:47 pm

  3. I didn’t do again yet… I think I should try again!

    August 13, 2012 at 5:36 pm

  4. gchicnotes

    I’ve never tried it but it looks so cool!

    August 16, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    • Thanks Hunn! It is super fun, you should definitely try it. 🙂

      August 16, 2012 at 4:21 pm

Leave a Reply

