A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

A Fruity Manicure

Over the past few months I’ve had three posts about Konad Nail Stamping.  Not that long ago I had a mini-haul and got a bunch of new plates and some new Konad Special Nail Polishes.  From that haul, one of the plates I was dying to try was the m55 stamping plate with a bunch of fruit designs on it.  I thought this was just too cute and couldn’t pass it up when I saw it.  Wouldn’t you say that it’s the perfect time of year to be sporting fresh fruit on your finger tips!?!?

bright multi-fruit manicure (nail stamping using the m55 plate)

The m55 plate from Konad has the following nail designs:

  • a bunch of Grapes
  • a slice of Watermelon
  • a cluster of Blueberries
  • a couple of Strawberries
  • a slice of Citrus (could be lime, lemon or orange depending on the colour you choose to paint it)
  • and half a kiwi
nail designs from the m55 plate (fruit designs)

This was my first time using the nail stamping plates where I had to use multiple colours of nail polish on the same design.  I wasn’t sure how well that would work out…but it was surprisingly easy.

fruit nail designs (nail stamping, plate m55)

Want to know how??  Let’s get started with the picture tutorial!

  1. Select a base colour of nail varnish for your nails.  Because I knew I was going to do multi-coloured fruit, I chose to use a white nail polish so I could have a blank canvas.  After all, I wanted the focus of this manicure to be on the fruit, not the base.  For this step, I used Paper Mache nail polish from Fingerpaints (available at Sally Beauty Supply).white nail polish to use as a base
  2. Let your base colour dry completely!  If your nails aren’t completely dry, when you push down on your nail with the stamp you might smear your base.)
  3. Next, lay your plate flat on a piece of paper towel and be sure to have your scraper, stamper and a cotton ball ready (your cotton ball should have some nail polish remover on it).nail stamping tutorial
  4. Using your Konad Special Nail Polishes, paint the designs in the colours you want your fruit.  You can see my example picture here for the blueberry design:How to: Nail Stamping
  5. Next, you want to grab your scraper and hold it at a 45 degree angle to the plate.  Swiftly swipe the extra polish off the plate.  This will leave a little bit of polish in the grooves of the design leaving you something that looks like this: nail stamping tutorial
  6. Quickly press the stamp down onto the design, transferring the design to your stamp.nail stamping tutorial
  7. Now, you want to either press, or roll the stamp across the surface of your nail.  This will transfer the design from the stamp to your nail.blueberry nail art (m55 nail plate)
  8. Grab your cotton swab, wipe clean the scraper, stamp and nail plate.
  9. Repeat for all nails.
Fruit Nail Artfunky nail art

So tell me, what do you think of this Fruity Manicure???  Do you have a favourite Konad nail plate you like to use for stamping?

nail designs using the m55 plate (fruit)

Thanks for reading!

xox,
Shannon

Please check out my full Konad Nail Tutorial here.

***Konad nail stamping products can be purchased on-line at Konad Nail Art and at Nail Polish Canada.***

Green, Black, Blue, White, Purple and Red Special Konad Nail Polishes

8 responses

  1. WAH. I’m impressed with how easy that it and how great it turns out! I checked out your other stamp posts too and they’re just so cute! Maybe I should give it a go. I hope they’re easily accessible in the US…

    June 15, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    • You can order at konadnailart.com. That to me looks like the best online option for people in the US such as yourself. One of our shopping centres here also has a little kiosk. The items are about $1 more per item, but you don’t have to wait for them to come in the mail. Keep your eyes peeled, you might have one near you that you’ve never noticed before. The one here is called La Bella.

      And yes, it is super easy and fast! The first time I did it, I was shocked at how quick it was to do all 10 fingers. I really love how fresh and fun it is. There are so many options too!

      June 15, 2012 at 8:23 pm

  2. Oh wow Shannon this is really cute! I didn’t really know you could use different colors on the same pattern, but it looks even cooler!

    June 16, 2012 at 6:25 am

    • Thanks Sunny! I saw a picture on the packaging of my starter kit, so I knew it had to be possible, so I figured I would try and see what happened! Turned out pretty cute!

      June 16, 2012 at 7:58 am

  3. LACQUERLUST

    I have been thinking about getting this from this little kiosk in the mall I may just get it now thank you

    June 21, 2012 at 9:02 pm

    • Oh you definitely should, they are really so easy to use and the stamping results in such a fun look. I was floored by how quick it was to do all 10 fingers!!

      June 22, 2012 at 9:08 am

  4. http://lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com
    wow so cute!

    October 12, 2012 at 11:13 pm

    • ShannonBearzatto

      Thanks for visiting, I’m glad you liked my fruity manicure! It was a lot of fun to do and see it all come together. 🙂

      October 12, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Leave a Reply

