A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

a fun makeup look using only Drugstore products (for under $20)

After my 24 hour test of the Maybelline Color Tattoo eyeshadow, I just had to grab a couple more colors when I saw they were on sale at Shoppers Drug Mart again for $4.99.

This time around, because I already knew I loved the product I opted for some brighter colors to have fun with.  I grabbed Edgy Emerald and Painted Purple.

Color Tattoo 24 hour eyeshadow review24 hour cream eyeshadows by Maybelline

The consistency of these two is much like Tough as Taupe.  They are creamy, smooth and glide on easily.

Edgy Emerald and Painted PurpleColor Tattoo 24 hr cream eyeshadows

The packaging for this product is fantastic – nice clear glass pots that allow you to see the colour easily in your mess collection while you are quickly trying to get ready.

24 hr color tattoo eyeshadows by Maybelline

As you can see from this swatch, the colours are rich and heavily pigmented.  They are easy to use and blend well together.  I was worried blending would be difficult (I don’t have much experience with cream shadows) but I was pleasantly surprised.  🙂

***I know lots of people who are used to purchasing higher end makeup are skeptical of this product immediately because of the price tag…and if that sounds like you, then you absolutely MUST check out my pictures and 24 hour test results here showcasing this products wear time and its quality.***

The drugstore I picked these up at had a sale on various cosmetics so I grabbed a mascara by L’Oreal that came with a bonus eyeliner.  You know me and free things….

The package for both was on sale for $6.99, down from it’s regular price of $9.99.

voluminous false fiber mascara

On the side of the packaging there is a little diagram showing how this mascara creates the effect of false lashes.  It also says “visuals are dramatized”.  🙂  At least they are honest about it.

Voluminous False Fiber Lashes Mascara

The Voluminous False Lashes mascara itself comes in a highly reflective, twisted triangle shaped, gold container.

Loreal Mascara

The wand isn’t too bulky so it should work on the majority of eye shapes as well as those hard to reach lower lashes and inner corner lashes without making a mess.

Voluminous False Fiber Lashes

The bonus Voluminous eye liner comes in a sleek easy to handle tube, with a chisel felt tip.

Loreal Voluminous Eyeliner

chisel tip black eyeliner

Given the shape of the tip, you can actually use this eyeliner to create 3 different thicknesses quite easily.  Take a look at my swatch below:

Voluminous eyeliner swatch - black

As you can see, you have a lot of versatility with an eye liner that has a chisel tip like this one.

I thought it would be fun to create a quick eye makeup look using all four of these new products to see exactly what is possible for under $20.  Here is what I ended up with:

makeup look using Color Tattoo 24 hour cream eyeshadows (Edgy Emerald and Painted Purple)

I really love “Painted Purple” and “Edgy Emerald” together, I find they really compliment each other for a fun summery look.

teal and purple makeup look

What shades are your favourite from the Color Tattoo 24 hour collection?  Do you have cream shadows you prefer to this product?  AND tell me, what is your favourite drugstore mascara???

Thanks for reading!

xox,
Shannon

23 responses

  1. Eee this is so much fun! My favorite Color Tattoo has to be Bad to the Bronze (love Bold Gold as well, but it’s slightly less smooth and pigmented in comparison), and I think they’re hands down the best cream shadows I’ve tried, in ALL price ranges! My favorite drugstore mascaras are the Maybelline fatty tubes! LOVE it! I heard Color Tattoos are here now (not yet in my town when I last checked), and I’ll have to swatch all of them and maybe get a couple more 😉

    June 14, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    • Hi Sunny! If I were to get any more, I’d probably get the gold and the bronze as I imagine they look really nice together…but I was just in the mood for something bright and fun. You know how I get. LOL I really hope they come out with some more colors. I love the range they have already, but I like this product so much, I hope they expand it even more. I would love like a chocolate brown and a nice rich emerald green!!

      June 14, 2012 at 5:14 pm

  2. These are the shades I’ve been eyeing! I may give them a go soon. 🙂

    June 14, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    • If you do, let me know how you like them!! I love the purple and green together!

      June 14, 2012 at 7:00 pm

  3. I have a couple of these that I haven’t even used yet. I think I want more lol

    June 14, 2012 at 10:17 pm

    • Haha, if only we could wear six kinds of eyeshadow at once. lol

      June 14, 2012 at 11:47 pm

  4. I really like the eyeliner!

    June 15, 2012 at 12:11 am

    • I think I still prefer the regular pointed felt tip…but maybe it is just that I need to get used to this. We’ll see!!

      June 15, 2012 at 6:46 am

      • They also have a regular felt tip or is it from another brand?

        June 15, 2012 at 12:07 pm

        • They might, I’m not sure. The one I have at home is by Maybelline, called Master Precise. Just a basic black skinny felt tip. I prefer it because with the chisel tip, if I make a mistake or hold it at the wrong angle, I might end up getting a way bigger thickness than I want. Whereas with the regular pointed felt tips, I seem to have more control and can naturally build it up thicker if I choose.

          I think part of my dislike for the chisel tip is that I’m also NOT AT ALL used to using it. So it might grow on me the more experience I get with it.

          June 15, 2012 at 12:43 pm

        • Yeah I can understand that. They can be a bit tricky at first! I think I prefer the basic ones; I’m not very skilled at eyeliner pens haha

          June 15, 2012 at 1:42 pm

        • I find that it just comes down to practice. Especially for eye liner. Whatever I end up doing the most, I end up having as my favourite, because it is the easiest for me at that time.

          June 15, 2012 at 3:35 pm

        • yeah I agree 🙂

          June 17, 2012 at 12:14 am

  5. I have Audacious Asphalt, but I really want Bad to the Bronze. I can never find it though! And my favorite drugstore mascara is Covergirl’s Lash Blast 24 Hour.

    June 15, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    • The bronze and gold shades are so pretty but I haven’t picked them up yet! I think those two are probably next for me!!

      The Lash Blast 24 hour is one I actually have here but haven’t opened yet. From time to time I buy new ones on sale and stash them until I need them. That is one of them. Now I’m even more excited to try it though – YAY!

      June 15, 2012 at 3:36 pm

  6. Very beautiful!! I loved the eyeliner… I want it! lol

    June 17, 2012 at 6:17 pm

  7. Oh my gosh I love these! They are wayyy less expensive then MAC paint pots but they still are great quality… I have the bad to the bronze:) Anyway, I love your blog! I just started on wordpress and any tips you had would be helpful!!

    July 8, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    • Hey, thanks for stopping by my blog! Welcome to wordpress! The best advice I can give you is to have fun creating content for your blog. Make sure you are enjoying yourself, it shouldn’t feel like work. 🙂

      July 8, 2012 at 3:09 pm

  8. I totally love MAC Paint Pots as a cream base, but I tried these for the first time a few weeks ago and I was very impressed! I still love my paint pots but I’ve been adding a good selection of these to my collection lately as well! You can never have too much make up! 🙂 xx

    December 2, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    • Hey Saima! I agree. I like the MAC paint pots as well, but comparatively, these Maybelline cream shadows are great too and a much better price point. I love the MAC ones for the variety of neutral shades, but it doesn’t hurt anyone’s collection to add some of these Maybelline one’s to round it out and add more variety! Like you said, you can never have too much makeup…or at least that is what I tell myself….haha.

      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      December 2, 2012 at 7:20 pm

  9. Pingback: I won a Giveaway! « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

