A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Have a Heart

After my “too dark for Spring” mani “Seduce Me“, I was ready for something bright, fun and refreshing.  I decided to go with a new neon I picked up from the China Glaze summer neon collection for 2012, “Flirty Tankini”.  This shade reminds me a bit of “Flip Flop Fantasy”, another neon by China Glaze (from their permanent collection).

Flirty Tankini is a super pretty coral neon with just the right amount of shimmer!

Flirty Tankini: indoors with flash

coral nail polish from China Glaze's 2012 neon collection for summer

Flirty Tankini: outdoors in natural daylight

I was dying to use my new top coat by Nicole that is a clear base with tiny little glitters and big chunky hearts (purchased at Wal-Mart for about $9).

Nicole by OPI - heart nail polish

If you are wanting a heart on each nail, be prepared to do some fishing to pull them out of the bottle.  It’s not overly convenient, but very much worth it in my opinion!

Nicole by OPI heart nail polish top coat

Because the hearts are so large, they will stick up off your nail a little bit.  Once I had them all in place, after about a minute I top coated again with this polish (avoiding the hearts) to help seal them into the manicure.  It really helped smooth out the texture on my nail and I’ve had no issues with any hearts falling off.

Have a heart nail polish from Nicole by OPI

Flirty Tankini and Have a Heart nail polishes

What do you think of this fun coral manicure?  Do you have a favourite from the China Glaze 2012 Summer Neon Collection?

xox,

Shannon

Flirty Tankini and Have a Heart nail polishes (how to make the perfect coral manicure)

4 responses

  1. Very cute mani! Those hearts sound a bit troublesome like the Nothin’ Mousie ‘Bout It polish I posted last week, but it’s such a sweet and girlish look. ♥

    June 13, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    • Yeah, from what I can see, it is very much like that polish. But it looks so cute once you have it just right…it is just a bit of trouble to work with.

      June 13, 2012 at 8:33 pm

  2. Izy

    Really cute mani! I bought the same Nicole top coat with hearts a while back, but I’m just not sure what nail colour to try it with. What colours or colour family would you recommend?

    June 14, 2012 at 11:56 am

    • Hi Izy! I guess it truly depends on what look you are going for and how noticeable you want the little hearts to be. I think it would be super cute on white or really soft pink nails so there is more of a contrast but not clashing. As cute as they are blending into “Flirty Tankini” I wish I’d used a lighter shade so you could see them a little easier. I think next time I try this, I will use a soft pastel pink so the hearts in “Have a Heart” show up more.

      I guess you could also try them on a really dark shade to get the same contrasting effect (like a black or a deep purple). I can’t wait to see what you come up with!! You’ll have to show me next time you try it. 🙂

      June 14, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Leave a Reply

