A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Headband Curls (my first attempt and my failure)

So, I was perusing around on youtube and I found a very cool tutorial on how to get curls by using only a stretchy headband (a no-heat method).  You should all have an idea of my laziness when it comes to hair after my last hair post: How to get a full head of crimped hair (in 10 minutes or less).  So when I saw this tutorial, I just couldn’t wait to try it.

The tutorial:

My attempt:

long dark hairhow to get curls using only a headbandheadband curls

My results:

curls using only a headbandmy headband curls first attempt

As you can see, aside from the hair around my face (where my shorter layers are) and the very ends of my hair, it didn’t do much of anything other than create a bit of a soft wavy look.

I’ve seen reports of other people that have thick hair struggling with this technique as well.  So I am thinking that was my issue.

But if your hair isn’t super thick, I hope you give it a try and let me know how it goes!  Lots of people use this daily and rave about the results, so I hope you are one of the people that has success with this no-heat technique for getting curls!

xox,

Shannon

P.S. I have yet to try the sock-bun method for getting overnight curls.  Has anyone with thick hair tried it and had it work for them?

9 responses

  1. I tried this a while ago. I didn’t work for me either. I have long, thick, wavy hair and would love the same curls this video showed. The hair framing my face got some serious curl, but because of my texture, was very frizzy. The hair in the back didn’t get curled at all because I ran out of room while wrapping it. I tried two headbands to see if I could get more headband real estate. It helped a bit, but not as much as I’d like. I’m still better off with my curling iron or hot rollers. It takes more time, but it looks better.

    June 11, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    • I’m glad to know I’m not the only one that had trouble with this! I SO very much wanted it to work, but I guess that is a draw back of having thick hair. Thanks for the tip about the two head bands, perhaps that will help out some people with less thick, or shorter hair that might see success with this technique. Have you tried the sock-bun already too?

      June 11, 2012 at 7:14 pm

      • No, I haven’t tried the sock bun. I suppose that’s next.

        June 11, 2012 at 7:21 pm

        • Certainly up on my list of things to try. 🙂

          June 11, 2012 at 7:22 pm

  2. I’ve tried this and it actually made my hair TOO curly! I have extremely thin hair though, but it likes to go frizzy. I had to tame it down with some product and later in the afternoon it ended up looking really nice. I did do it when my hair was pretty wet still, I’ve found it works best when my hair is just damp.

    I’ve done the sock bun thing too and I LOVE that, way more than the headband idea. It gave me great volume, pretty curls and it lasted through the day (which never happens with my hair). I hope you try it and post pictures! 🙂

    June 12, 2012 at 9:40 am

    • Hey! Thanks for commenting Jazmin! I’m so glad someone responded that actually had success with this (even if it was TOO much success). I will definitely have to try out the sock bun technique soon…and of course there will be pictures!!!

      June 12, 2012 at 9:54 am

  3. Pingback: Flexi Rods (a no-heat, no-hairspray way to curl your hair) « eyemasq

  4. Marley

    I have extremely thick long hair that hits the small of my back. I’ve always had real thick frizzy hair and I only grew it out so it would be more manageable. When I first tried it I could not tell a difference between it and my natural curl so I took two headbands when my hair was deipping wet and wrapped all that I could then I took what I had left and rolled them up and pinned them with a Bobby pin. In the end they did come out pretty nice, but I did do this midday on Sunday and take it out at 9:30 before my class on Monday and it was still a bit damp, which was expected. But they stayed all day which never happens with my hair when I don’t use any heat.

    November 10, 2012 at 8:31 am

    • Hey Marley, thanks for your feedback!

      Certainly parts of my hair curled well, but, only the parts around my face, nothing else. I don’t think my hair was damp enough, that was likely my biggest problem.

      Since this post, I fell in love with Flexi Rods (Super Rollers). They have been a great way to curl my hair with no heat. They look and feel great and have a soft curl, no hairspray required, so it isn’t crunchy. Check it out if you like, not sure if you’ve tried them before?? https://eyemasq.wordpress.com/2012/09/14/flexi-rods-a-no-heat-no-hairspray-way-to-curl-your-hair/

      November 10, 2012 at 9:26 am

Leave a Reply

