A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Feeling Dramatic? (eye makeup tutorial)

I believe everyone knows by now that I love playing with bold and bright makeup, but I also have a lot of fun with dark and dramatic makeup as well.

I wanted to use one of my MAC pigments that I hadn’t gotten around to trying out yet, the Gold (pro) metallic shade.  And I ended up with this dark golden cranberry look.

metallic eye makeup

It is a very dramatic makeup look and not very suitable for day, but perfect for a night out.

eye makeup look using Gold (pro) MAC pigment

Let’s take a look at how to create this look:

eye makeup tutorial

*follow any of the links below for swatches, where to buy and other shades available*

  1. As always, fill in your brows first to help frame the area.  I used Mystery eyeshadow by MAC Cosmetics for this.
  2. Prime your lid and all the way up to your crease.  I used Urban Decay’s Primer Potion.  It is super important to use a primer if you want long wear time and to avoid creasing.  Your shadows will also apply more vibrantly and stay true throughout the day/night.
  3. Using a flat eyeshadow brush, dab the Gold pigment all over your lids (from the inside of the eye to the outside of the eye).
  4. Using the same brush (brush off the gold first on a kleenex) use your Cranberry eyeshadow throughout the crease and up onto your brow bone.
  5. Then, using a fluffy crease brush, lightly dust a true black gently back and forth through your crease.  For this, I used Corrupt eyeshadow by Makeup Geek.  I’ve never seen a black so black!
  6. I then highlighted my brow bone and inner corner of my eye using Zephyr eyeshadow by Urban Decay, a shimmery white.
  7. Using the same Gold pigment again, I went and lightly smudged it below my lower lashes.
  8. For eyeliner I used Master Precise Felt Tip Liquid Liner (available at Ulta in the US and at Shoppers Drug Mart in Canada) on my lid and Blacktrack Fluidline by MAC on my waterline.
  9. Finish the look with at least two coats of mascara (remember we are going for dark and dramatic here).  I used Clinique’s High Impact Mascara.
  10. (Optional) Add false eyelashes to your look.  I used #305 accent lashes by Ardell.  (They are only on the outside corners)

how to create gold and black eye makeup look
How to get the rest of this look:

Face > For my under eye concealer I used Erase Paste by benefit in shade No.1.  Then, all over I used Makeup Forever HD Foundation in shade #118 topped with MAC’s Studio Careblend Pressed Powder in shade Light Plus.

Cheeks > Margin Blush by MAC Cosmetics

Lips > Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Polishin shade Leslie

Hair > I used a 1″ Bombshell Curling rod by Sultra to create the long waves.  I love to use this on my hair, because your hair keeps its length as opposed to using a curling iron or a straightener where you get ringlets and your hair shrinks up several inches.

Golden dramatic makeup look

What do you think?  Do you see yourself ever wearing a look like this?  If not, what would you change?

Thanks for reading!

xox,

Shannon

dramatic makeup look

16 responses

  1. Love it Shannon! I’d love to try this, but I am very limited in the lid space department so I don’t think I can fit so many colors lol

    June 9, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    • Thanks Sunny! Perhaps you should opt for just gold and black then, that would be very pretty on you!

      June 9, 2012 at 2:39 pm

  2. Gorgeous!

    June 9, 2012 at 7:03 pm

  3. Very pretty look Shannon! The color combination is just gorgeous!

    June 9, 2012 at 9:21 pm

  4. Shannon, you have inspired me to start wearing more eye shadow. I’m branching out from my neutrals. I’ve been buying eyeliner like a fiend! I can’t believe how much more eye makeup I’m sporting these days. Thanks!

    June 10, 2012 at 1:12 am

    • Rebecca, that is the sweetest thing! To think that I’ve inspired anyone is just so rewarding and exactly why I like to blog. Thank you so much! I can’t wait to see what comes of your branching out. Perhaps some bold eyes to match that beautiful wavy hair!

      June 10, 2012 at 9:42 am

      • Aww, that’s so sweet of you. Next time I wear a bold eye look, I’ll post a picture just for you.

        June 10, 2012 at 12:20 pm

  5. Hi Shannon,

    I love the combo!!! I would never have thought about it. I am so excited to try it but first I have to go get a all the colours! More shopping for me. So exciting!! 🙂

    June 10, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    • Hi – thanks for stopping by Eyemasq! I’m glad you liked the color combination, I thought it was different and fun. 🙂 Looking forward to seeing what you come up with!

      June 10, 2012 at 3:22 pm

  6. I loovvvee this

    June 10, 2012 at 5:08 pm

  7. Absolutely gorgeous! Thanks for stopping by my blog and I will definitely be checking out more of your posts…I love the looks you create and how you break it down so anyone can recreate them!

    November 18, 2012 at 10:11 am

    • Hey – thanks for checking out my blog too! I’m really glad you like the look and find the steps helpful. I always found it intimidating to see a full eye makeup look with a bunch of different colours, but have no idea where to start. So I am trying to help bridge the gap! Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      November 18, 2012 at 3:10 pm

Leave a Reply

