A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Does Maybelline Color Tattoo eyeshadow really last 24 hours? (Full Pictures)

Today I want to talk about Maybelline’s Color Tattoo Eyeshadow by Eyestudio.  They make the claim that this is a 24 hour eyeshadow, so I decided to put it to the test and share my findings.

Before we get into the messy pictures, I want to start out with some basic details about this product.

The Color Tattoo 24 Hr Cream Gel eyeshadows are available in 10 different shades.  I have seen them retail at regular price for between $8.99 and $10.99 at different locations here in Canada, including Shopper’s Drug Mart, Rexall Pharmaplus and Wal-Mart.

color tattoo collection of shades

I was on the fence about trying this product, thinking “I won’t end up using this”.  But when I saw them on sale for $5.99, I figured there was no harm in trying out one shade.  After much deliberation, I went for a neutral shade, on the theory that if I am to get any use out of this at all, it will be during the week for work, when I commonly do a single shade and some quick eyeliner and mascara.  So “Tough as Taupe” was purchased.

Color Tattoo eyeshadow review

Color Tattoo Tough as Taupe

I actually love the container this comes in.  It is a glass pot with a plastic lid, reminding me of higher end products.

Tough as taupe 24 hour eyeshadow

The consistency is a creamy gel as advertised and slides on smoothly.

Tough as Taupe swatch

24 hour eyeshadow swatch by Maybelline

So for testing, I wanted to document what the eyeshadow looked like at three different intervals.  First, we needed a place to start, so I took pictures of what the eyeshadow looked like when it was first applied, at 7:30am.  Please note that I did use an eyeshadow primer prior to the application of the Color Tattoo eyeshadow.

Color Tattoo Testing - how long does the 24 hour eyeshadow really last?

24 hour eyeshadow test and review

Second, I wanted to see what it looked like by the end of the day.  And to me, that doesn’t mean as soon as work was over.  Generally people have committments in the evenings, whether that involves running errands, going for dinner or making your way to yoga…but no matter how you spend your time, your day doesn’t end when your work day does.  So I took my next set of pictures at the 15 hour mark, before going to bed at 10:30pm.

tough as taupe 24 hour eyeshadow testing

Other than issues with my eyeliner, the eye still looks much like it did 15 hours earlier.  You could even make the argument that the shadow hasn’t budged or been affected at all.

tough as taupe 24 hour eyeshadow testing

So after this, although I found the results very compelling so far, I decided to let the test run the full 24 hours, even though I had no intention of pulling an all-nighter.  So I went to sleep, with full makeup and woke up the next morning to this…

24 hour eyeshadow test

Tough as Taupe 24 hour eyeshadow testing

So obviously, I am in no way recommending people do their makeup the night before…but I do believe the pictures speak for themselves in regards to the longevity of these 24 hr cream eyeshadows by Maybelline.  I was very impressed with the results and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend these for full day use.   After all, the shadow after 24 hours looks much like it did at 0 hours!  And best of all, I experienced no creasing  at any point!  I have always loved Maybelline’s mascaras and I can now add these 24 hour shadows to my list of favourites!

Next time I see these Color Tattoo eyeshadows on sale, I plan to grab a couple more shades for sure!

What do you think?  Have you tried these 24 hour eyeshadows already?  How did they last for you?

xox,

Shannon

P.S. The jelly sandwich manicure shown in the pictures above was the longest lasting manicure I ever had.  After 8 days they were still absolutely perfect, not a single chip.  But I did remove them so I could change up my look.  I have decided that this jelly nail polish is some sort of witchcraft.

40 responses

  1. That’s pretty awesome! I generally don’t purchase drugstore brand cosmetics because I feel as though their pigments are lacking. However, the results of your experiment are quite impressive! I may have to snag some next time I’m at CVS or Walmart!

    May 31, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    • I am the same way. I almost never purchase cosmetics from the drug store. But I also love a good sale! I am so glad I tried these and I hope you decide to give them a go as well! I’d love to hear what you think of them. 🙂

      May 31, 2012 at 8:42 pm

  2. Hey Shannon! I love that you actually did a 24 hour experiment! I’ve purchased a few of these colors and I agree… the colors haven’t budged at all. I’m also quite pleased with how easy they are to remove with makeup remover. I can’t remember the names of the colors I purchased, but it was the white, black, and bronze ones. I rarely use them though!!

    Does that mean something’s wrong with me? =P

    May 31, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    • Thanks Ashlyn! I thought it was the only way I could test it’s claim. This was actually the first time I ever used the product either, so it was pretty fun. Now, it just makes me want more colours!

      I don’t think there is anything wrong with you though! I have SO much product, I have a lot of things I love that don’t get the use they deserve. So don’t feel bad, you aren’t alone!!

      May 31, 2012 at 8:46 pm

      • LOL, I think that’s the issue… we have too many products that we can’t wear all at once! (I mean, you could, but let’s save that for Halloween… =P)

        May 31, 2012 at 8:52 pm

  3. Thanks for this review! Will definitely pick some up too 🙂

    May 31, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    • I’m glad you liked it! I hope you let me know what you think of them! Thanks for stopping by!

      May 31, 2012 at 8:46 pm

  4. justcallmeb

    I love them! I have most of the colors… Look great alone and works wonders as a color base! Great post!

    May 31, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    • Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed the post! What colour is your favourite that you find you use the most often? Looking at them all, I’m not even sure which ones I want next, they are all so pretty!

      May 31, 2012 at 10:45 pm

  5. justcallmeb

    I have the taupe, gold, orange, purple, blue and teal! I probably use the taupe and gold the most but I’m loving the orange for the summer!

    May 31, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    • Very cool, the teal is sooo pretty! I could see myself using that one a lot…same with the purple. *sigh*

      June 1, 2012 at 6:32 am

  6. Whoa Shannon, you honestly wore this for 24 hours? Bravo! My eyes are a bit too sensitive for testing it out like this! This does last very well on me. To be honest it lasts better than my high-end or even luxury cream shadows. I don’t need a primer when I wear this, and it just lasts and lasts and lasts however long my day is! I really hope they’ll add more colors to the range and bring it to Belgium soon! It’s so amazing!

    June 1, 2012 at 5:16 am

    • This 24 hour test was actually the first time I ever wore it. So I thought to be safe, I’d best use a primer. So I haven’t tried it without yet.

      I was super impressed though and want to grab a couple more shades. I’m wondering how well they will blend…if I decide to use more than one shade on my eye. Have you tried that?

      June 1, 2012 at 6:34 am

      • Yup! I’ve worn Bold Gold and Bad to the Bronze. It actually blends just fine! Let me know if you try! xx

        June 1, 2012 at 9:31 am

        • Thanks Sunny – that is good to know! I’m envisioning a purple and teal eye….could be fun. 😛

          June 1, 2012 at 9:34 am

  7. I have these in Tough As Taupe, Edgy Emerald, and Painted Purple and I love em! I use the green and purple for eyeliner most of the time :). I’d like to get all of these but they’re usually sold out whenever I go to Walmart or Target.

    June 1, 2012 at 9:14 am

    • Sold out!?! That is crazy! I’ve never seen them sold out here. Perhaps I don’t live near as many cosmetic junkies as you do!

      The bright colors are so pretty. I have no idea how I am ever going to decide which ones to get when I go back for a couple more. :/

      I bet they work really nice as eyeliner, they would be perfect for that. Depending on what colours I get, I will have to try that. Thanks for the tip!

      June 1, 2012 at 9:27 am

  8. Haha its so funny Iwas about to do a reveiw of the color tattoo eyeshadows! Btw I love your nails! 🙂

    June 1, 2012 at 10:43 am

    • Yeah? It is amazing that they are still such a hot topic considering how long they have been out! I look forward to your review!!

      Thanks for the compliment on the nails – I absolutely loved them too. I can’t wait to pick up some more chunky glitter polishes so I can have some variety when I feel like doing this mani!

      June 1, 2012 at 10:48 am

  9. wow!

    June 1, 2012 at 12:12 pm

  10. this is an amazing post! makes me want to pick one of these up now. i’ve always seen them and didn’t realize that they really could last that long. just another thing to add to my wish list. oh and i nominated you for the sunshine award!

    June 1, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    • I was super impressed with my testing too, I just had to share it with everyone!!

      And thank you so much for the nomination, that is very sweet! ❤

      June 1, 2012 at 8:35 pm

  11. Wow really impressive! Not to mention it looks amazing on! I have one that I never even opened. I want to try it and get a couple more lol

    June 1, 2012 at 11:54 pm

    • I was actually the same way fancieland. I had it for over a month before I even opened it, but now it is definitely going to be a basic among my work routine. Now I can mix it up with the MAC paint pots I have and not have to wear the same one to work everyday when I am feeling lazy. I definitely want a couple more colors now too!

      June 2, 2012 at 10:31 am

      • I’ve been loving cream shadow bases at the moment and these look so perfect!

        June 2, 2012 at 12:03 pm

        • Well they really do make for an easy and simple look. Maybelline found a real winner with this product!

          June 2, 2012 at 3:09 pm

  12. Hey beautiful, this was a great post! These long lasting shadows are really tempting, especially with the gorgeous colors they have. I swear, you’re going to get me back into wearing makeup on a regular basis if I keep following you! 😉

    June 2, 2012 at 8:51 am

    • Hi Mary! I hope that is the case! There are lots of fun easy ways to do makeup that don’t require a lot of work or money. This product really does come in beautiful shades too – I am having a hard time making my mind up about which one I will grab next time I see them.

      Thanks for commenting my dear and please let me know if you end up trying them out!!

      June 2, 2012 at 10:32 am

  13. Nicole P.

    Normally, I avoid any cream-based eye shadows because they crease almost immediately on me. But I may give one of these a try. Thanks for the review! 🙂

    June 2, 2012 at 10:00 am

    • In the past, I’ve generally stayed away from cream based shadows too. The only ones I’ve found success with are MAC’s paint pots, and they are sort of half primer/shadow.

      But I was honestly blown away when I tried this product out. So surprised and so glad that I bought it. Let me know if you give it a try, I’d love to hear how it works out for you. I can’t imagine it will crease on you after what I saw!

      I’m just hoping all the colors have the same formula and won’t be an issue from shade to shade.

      June 2, 2012 at 10:34 am

      • Nicole P.

        Temptalia did a two-part review and said the lasting power seemed to be consistent (though, to be fair, she only tested a few of the shades, not all). The only difference was, based on her findings, the matte shades (such as the color you reviewed) applied more easily and evenly than the shimmer shades. Overall, I’m still eager to check it out.

        June 2, 2012 at 6:34 pm

        • Good to know, I will have to keep that in mind when I select another shade or two. Thanks!

          June 2, 2012 at 7:13 pm

  14. I really like the one I have. I think it is like something Asphalt.
    And I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Award!
    http://crazynailpolishgirl.wordpress.com/2012/06/02/the-sunshine-blog-award/

    June 2, 2012 at 11:07 am

    • Thank you so much for the nomination, so sweet of you to think of me!!

      June 2, 2012 at 3:09 pm

  15. Great review! I have tried this product before. It’s pretty good. Although I have to say I have not worn it very often. My shade was a pearlized white color which is not an everyday shade for me. Great pics to accompany the writing.

    June 2, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    • Thanks Gina for stopping by! Time will tell how often I end up using this product. When I did this test, that was the first time I used it. But I can see myself using this for work 1-2 times per week. I’m sure I will have no trouble getting my $5.99 out of it. 🙂

      June 2, 2012 at 10:38 pm

      • Lol. Yes. That’s an excellent price for make up. 🙂

        June 2, 2012 at 11:36 pm

  16. Pingback: a fun makeup look using only Drugstore products (for under $20) « eyemasq

  17. Pingback: I won a Giveaway! « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

