A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

a BLUE makeup look with a touch of ORANGE

I’ve always thought that blue and orange are colours that compliment each other nicely.  Both are bold and beautiful on their own, but side by side, you are forced to focus on their uniqueness and see how they accentuate each other.

blue and orange eye makeup

I guess that is why I chose to create a makeup look with them again…and I say again, because it was one of the first combinations I used when I first started experimenting with bright dramatic makeup.

Not wanting to be too overpowering this go around, I opted for creating a look that was full of colour, yet soft and wearable.

Orange and blue makeup look

To create this look, I used my Inglot Freedom System palette.  This look was very easy to create and only requires 3 shades of eyeshadow.

The light blue shade all over my lids is #13 from the swatch below.  And the dark blue throughout my crease and the outer edge of my eyes is #482 from the same swatch .

blue and brown eyeshadow swatches from Inglot

I wanted to use a contrasting colour for underneath my lower lashes and opted for #10 from the below swatch, a soft orange.

orange and pink eyeshadows from Inglot

Let’s get started:

Inglot makeup look

  • Make sure your eyebrows are shaped and filled in.  I like to always do this first, because it helps frame the eye area.  I used Mystery eyeshadow by MAC cosmetics.
  • Spread an eyeshadow primer all over your lids and up to your brow.  I used Mary Kay’s eyeshadow primer.
  • Dust a light blue eyeshadow all over each of your lids.  I used Inglot’s #13, a soft shimmery blue.
  • Then, blend a darker blue through the crease and to the outer edge of your eyes.  I used Inglot’s #482, a dark navy blue with a subtle silver shimmer.
  • Smudge a light orange under your lash line.  I used Inglot’s #10.  If you don’t have orange (I’m aware that it’s not a super common shade for people) any soft jewel toned shade will do.  Just make sure you pick a contrasting colour to create a nice accent.
  • Then, go ahead and line your eyes.  I used Master Precise Felt Tip Liner on my upper lashes and Blacktrack Fluidline by MAC on my waterline.  I opted for the cat-eye eyeliner look to elongate my eyes.
  • Finish with mascara and enjoy your blue and orange makeup look!
how to create a blue and orange makeup look
light and dark blue eye makeup

You can take a peek at one of my very first posts Yellow and Orange and Blue Oh My! if you would like to see another look using orange and blue together (and yellow) in a very different way.  The shades I used for that look are highly pigmented matte pigments.  It created a very bright, funky, dramatic look.  I feel like my look with the Inglot shadows here though is a lot softer and a lot more wearable for the everyday.  What do you think?

xox,

Shannon

2 responses

  1. Tanya

    I never think about using orange in my eye makeup, but this looks nice together, and I think that I can pull off. Thanks for posting!

    May 24, 2012 at 1:40 pm

    • I’m so glad you found this post helpful – thanks for commenting!

      May 24, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Leave a Reply

