A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

New to contouring? Introducing the Natural Face Palette by Too Faced (Review and Swatches)

Even though I am no stranger to bold dramatic eye makeup, the world of contouring my face is new and scary to me.  So if you have any secret tips, please feel free to share them!

And all of this, is exactly why when I saw this product at Sephora with the “contouring for dummies” cards, I knew it was for me.  You might remember I loved the feature from their Sweet Dreams Palette that came out during the 2011 holidays too.  I actually picked up this Too Faced Palette up a couple of months back, but hadn’t gotten around to posting about it yet.  But this works out, because now I’ve actually had a chance to try it out and form an opinion, rather than just a first impression.

Natural Face Palette reviewNatural Face Palette review

What you receive in this palette:

  • 0.28 oz Bronzing Veil
  • 0.1 oz Crème Blush
  • 0.11 oz Powder Blush
  • 0.05 oz Concealer
  • 0.06 oz Luminizer
  • 0.05 oz Brightener
  • 3 tutorial cards on how to use the palette (conveniently tucked away behind the mirror)

Natural Face Palette Review

This palette retails at Sephora for $39.00 US or $48.00 CAD.  It is also available at www.toofaced.com.

This palette is super multi-functional.  You can add these products into your already existing routine for making up your face, or you can use them on their own to create a very natural look or simply touch up on the go.  This palette is also the perfect size if you are going away for the night or weekend.  It is small and sleek and saves you from having to pack 6 full sized and individually packaged products.

I found the actual products to be very neutral colours that will work on a wide array of skin tones.  Just take a look at the below swatches.  There is nothing harsh about them, they are soft and subtle.  You will also have no problem building up the bronzer or blushes to achieve your desired look.

Swatch of Bronze Veil from Too Faced

Bronze Veil Swatch (blended out on the right hand side)

swatch of Creme Blush and review

Creme Blush Swatch (blended out on the right hand side)

Swatch of the powder blush from Natural Face Palette

Powder Blush Swatch (blended out on the right hand side)

swatches from Natural Face palette

Conceal, Luminize and Brighten Swatches

My favourite part about this palette though is the tutorial cards.  They are perfect for quick reference and really help me with what goes where!

lesson cards from Natural Face Palette

They have created 3 tutorial cards and 3 completely separate looks.

“Day Glow” is a very soft summery sun-kissed look:

Lesson Card from natural face palette "Day Glow"

There is a short video here if you want to see how to create the “Day Glow” look for your face and pair it with a natural eye look from Too Faced as well.  You will have to use your imagination a little bit…because the model they used is drop dead gorgeous even before the makeup is applied….but you can certainly see how her using the palette accentuates her features and creates a nice healthy radiant glow on her skin.

“Classic Radiance”:

Tutorial Card from Natural Face Palette "Classic Radiance"

“Supermodel Sculpt”:

Tutorial Card from Natural Face Palette "Supermodel Sculpt"

Even though I knew that no card would make me look like a supermodel, I was most excited to try this look because it was the most different from my daily powder and blush routine.  By applying the bronzer below the blush on my cheek, it makes your cheekbone pop and appear more prominent.

The luminizer is something that was totally new to me as well.  It creates a very natural dewy look that catches the light and creates a healthy shimmer.  You can see it run down the bridge of my nose and on my cupid’s bow.

natural face palette review

9 responses

  1. This palette looks so good! Yet another makeup items to add to my wishlist…… 🙂

    May 20, 2012 at 6:47 am

    • The shades are really nice, I was super happy with them!

      May 20, 2012 at 6:48 pm

  2. This looks like a great kit! I systematically contour my face so it would look slimmer haha. Highlighting however is a step that I often skip, though when I do it I see a difference! The blushes look nice and natural as well 🙂

    May 20, 2012 at 10:48 am

    • I am very happy with the blushes and the luminizer. I certainly get the most use out of those!

      May 20, 2012 at 6:49 pm

  3. Food Stories

    I have enjoyed reading your site so I’ve nominated you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for illuminating, informative blog content. You can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Have a great holiday weekend!

    May 25, 2012 at 2:57 pm

  4. Pingback: Date Night Makeup « eyemasq

  5. Pingback: Feeling Sexy? A Holiday Makeup Look & Tutorial « eyemasq

  6. Pingback: Feeling Festive? A Christmas Makeup Look « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

