A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Decades of Dysfunction and a Mysterious Curse (Swatches and Review)

Just a few days ago I was talking about the new Summer 2012 collections that are either out already/or are to be expected shortly for the big name nail polish brands…and today I made it to a Sally Beauty Supply store to see what had already hit the shelves in Canada.  Crackle Glitter was there, so was the new Fingerpaints Neon collection and both of Orly’s collections were already available too.  (China Glaze’s neon collection due to be released next month.)

With so many options and so many limited edition nail lacquers to choose from…it was not an easy decision.  I ended up grabbing two Orly nail lacquers from the limited edition Dark Shadows collection.

Orly Summer 2012 nail polish collections

Dark Shadows came out in theatres today May 11th, 2012 (starring Johnny Depp and directed by Tim Burton).

Dark Shadows, in theatres May 11th, 2012

This nail polish collection struck me as the most unique with a couple of colours that really drew me in.  I gravitated towards “Mysterious Curse” (second from the right) and “Decades of Dysfunction” (furthest right).

Orly's Limited Edition Dark Shadows Nail Polish Collection

Dark Shadows Collection by OrlyDark Shadows Nail Lacquer collection from Orly

Decades of Dysfunction is a beautiful milky, creamy shade with a subtle hint of pink. This shade is perfect for spring or summer.

And Mysterious Curse is one of those shades that looks different every time you see it.  Depending on how the light catches it, it could be blue or purple and sometimes you’ll even think you are seeing red.  Mysterious Curse is just a beautiful, rich, metallic shade that is a lovely addition to any nail addicts collection.

Decades of Dysfunction and Mysterious Curse nail polishes by Orly

Orly polishes are actually my favourite polishes.  At $6.99CAD at Sally Beauty Supply stores, they aren’t the least expensive option, but you also recieve 20% more per bottle than their competition (each bottle of Orly is 18ml).  Orly nail lacquers are always such an amazing texture and slide on so easily.  I even have a few polishes from over 12 years ago that still aren’t chunky and unusable, you’d never be able to tell their age (other than the very dated old style of bottle).  I’ve never needed to add my polish thinner to a bottle of Orly nail lacquer…and I think that is pretty damn awesome!  I do end up with a fair amount of China Glaze polishes in my collection as well, mainly because I find they have a more extensive range of colours than Orly.

These two polishes didn’t disappoint either.  I’m super happy with both shades and am glad, that with all of the options, I opted for Decades of Dysfunction and Mysterious Curse.  (If I have any regrets though, I am wishing I’d grabbed all four shades from the Dark Shadows collection, Buried Alive and Grave Mistake are gorgeous too!  I might need to head back.)

Now let’s take a look at my swatches and see just how many coats were required to reach an opaque affect.

Decades of Dysfunction and Mysterious Curse Nail Lacquers by Orly

One Coat of lacquer

Decades of Dysfunction and Mysterious Curse Nail Lacquers by Orly

Two coats of lacquer

Decades of Dysfunction and Mysterious Curse Nail Lacquers by Orly

Three coats of lacquer

I found that three coats was required for complete opaqueness.  But I was doing very thin coats so you could see a real difference as the coats build.  Generally I apply a heavier coat to start with and can get away with two coats, no matter the polish.  (But that is just me and I have bad habits!  LOL)

Decades of Dysfunction and Mysterious Curse Nail Lacquers by Orly - Reviews

I hope you enjoyed this mini review for these two polishes and consider giving them a try, I can’t imagine you being disappointed if you do!!

What do you think of these two shades?  Is there something else you can’t wait to get from the 2012 Summer Nail Polish Collections?

xox,

Shannon

7 responses

  1. purrplecatclaws

    i just watched dark shadows yesterday, and now i have a huge lemming for buried alive!! prolly cos the movie features a heavy use of dark reddish brown colours (:

    May 12, 2012 at 12:48 am

    • If I were to go back and get another one, that would be my first choice. It looks really pretty!

      May 12, 2012 at 9:33 am

      • purrplecatclaws

        yeah, and it’s such a unique colour 😀

        May 13, 2012 at 2:13 am

  2. I like Mysterious Curse, I just don’t know if I have the patience to apply 3 coats!

    May 12, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    • You could probably get away with two coats pretty easily, depending on how you like to apply it. I know I will next time. 🙂

      May 12, 2012 at 9:42 pm

  3. Mysterious curse is official!

    May 16, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Leave a Reply

