A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Classic Smokey Eye Makeup

As much as I love crazy bright, dramatic makeup…certain occasions may call for something a little more subdued…or at the very least more of a classic look.

Smokey Eye Tutorial

The Smokey Eye is probably the most sought after makeup look out there right now.  Everyone puts twists and turns on it, but it seems to be what the majority of looks stem from.  There are many ways to create one, but I’m going to show you how I created what I consider to be the classic smokey eye using silver and black eyeshadows.

How To: Make a smokey eye

What you want to do is select three monochromatic eyeshadows (meaning they must stem from the same shade).  For my look, I used Forgery, Print and Black Tied eyeshadows – all by MAC Cosmetics.  All of them are cool shades containing silver sparkles (see swatch below).

Forgery, Print and Black Tied eyeshadows by MAC Cosmetics

Forgery – Sterling Silver (Lustre)

Print – Muted grey with shimmer (satin)

Black Tied – Black with silver sparkle (velvet)

Forgery swatch, Print swatch and Black Tied swatch

How to make a smokey eye:

Sexy Smokey eye makeup

  1. My first step is always my eyebrows and under eye concealer.  I used Palladio’s eyebrow gel to hold my brows in place and then filled them in using Mystery eyeshadow by MAC.
  2. Using an eyeshadow primer, cover your lid and all the way up to your eyebrow.  For this  I used Mary Kay’s eye primer.
  3. Then, using your lightest shade from your three shadows, cover the middle part of your eyelid and stop at the crease.  The inner and outer portions of your eyelid should be bare.  For this step I used Forgery.
  4. Then, using your middle shade, (in my case “Print” eyeshadow) you want to begin filling in the inner and outer portions of your eyelid.  Blend this in gently with your lightest shade, be careful not to go too far into the middle of your lid.
  5. Using the middle shade still, gently blend up into the crease of your eye and go back and forth throughout the entire length of the crease –  connecting the inner and outer sections of shadow.
  6. Now, you want to take the darkest shade of your trio (in my case, Black Tied) and begin dusting it on top of the middle shade, focusing mainly on the outer and inner corners of your eyes.  This will help create depth and dimension.  Again, be sure to blend evenly.  You shouldn’t be able to tell where one colour stops and the next begins, everything should flow together.
  7. For under your lower lash line, you want to take your darkest shade and blend it into the lashes on the outer half of your eye, connecting it to the dark outside corner of your lid.
  8. Then, take your lightest shade and blend it along your lower lash line throughout the inner half of your eye.  This will help open up your eye and not make it appear “closed off”.
  9. Using your lightest shade still, go ahead and highlight your brow bone.
  10. Apply your eye liner next.  I used Master Precise Felt Tip Liquid Liner on my upper lashes and used MAC’s Blacktrack fluidline gel liner on my waterline.
  11. Finish with mascara on both your upper and bottom lashes.  I used Clinique’s High Impact Mascara.
  12. Apply your lashes (completely optional).  For this look, I used Ardell’s 102 Demi lashes.

How to create a smokey eye (diagram)

All of the above pictures are taken with flash and you can see a real difference in this look when you capture it in natural light or direct sunlight.  It’s not as intense as you might initially think.

Smokey eye makeup using MAC shadows

I absolutely love this look for that very reason.  It is super wearable for daytime and sexy enough for evening.  And with MAC eyeshadows being super long lasting…you can literally wear this classic smokey eye all day!

perfect smokey eye for the everyday

MAC makeup look - a smokey eye

What do you think?  Do you have a technique for creating a smokey eye that you like better, or do you think you will give this a try?  I’d love to hear from you!!

Thanks for reading!

xox,

Shannon

perfect makeup for day and night

13 responses

  1. Very helpful tips.. Thanks! 🙂

    May 8, 2012 at 7:21 pm

  2. I love this tutorial! A very pretty “smokey eye” 😉 I have a Mac Wonderwoman pallette that I use for eyes, loves it!

    May 8, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    • Thanks Amelia! I have a wonderwoman palette as well, the green one. It makes a really nice “smokey eye” 😉 as well. Which wonderwoman palette do you have?

      May 8, 2012 at 8:57 pm

  3. Great Tips I will have to try this look out again! Looks really pretty!

    May 9, 2012 at 7:36 am

    • Thank you Amanda! Let me know how it turns out, I’d love to see what you do with it!

      May 9, 2012 at 7:40 am

  4. So pretty, Shannon! I really appreciate your step-by-step too! I think I do things a little differently because of the amount (lack? haha) of lid space I have and the lack of crease, but the idea is the same 🙂

    May 9, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    • Thank you Sunny! All application techniques need to be altered to your eye shape and size, but like you said, the idea is the same. I’m glad you liked it Sunny! 🙂

      May 9, 2012 at 5:25 pm

  5. Pingback: New to contouring? Introducing the Natural Face Palette by Too Faced (Review and Swatches) « eyemasq

  6. Pingback: EOTD Olivy Golden Sunrise « Mae's beauty reports

  7. I love this tutorial! I am going to reblog it 🙂
    Could you do a similar tutorial for a more natural look?

    May 30, 2012 at 6:32 pm

    • That’s great – thank you!

      I can certainly work on a softer smokey eye look tutorial. Are you wanting to see natural brown shades?

      May 30, 2012 at 6:37 pm

  8. Reblogged this on Glam Life Without Strife and commented:
    Here is a great smokey eye tutorial! I got this from a blog called eyemasq (https://eyemasq.wordpress.com/). Enjoy!

    xoxoxoxoxoxox,
    thundermtfashion

    May 30, 2012 at 6:36 pm

Leave a Reply

