A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter review (complete with swatches) and how to remove your nail polish “on the go”

So I know I am about seven million years behind when it comes to the Revlon Colorburst Lip Butters, but I got some a couple of weeks ago and thought I would toss in my two cents.

I was certainly on the fence about this product given the reviews I had seen.  Some people love them and can’t live without them and others thought they weren’t worth all the hype.  With a $10-$11 price tag at local drug stores, I had decided not to gamble…until I found them on sale.  I saw them sitting there for $4.99 and couldn’t resist the temptation.  So I picked up two!

Peach Parfait and Gumdrop:

Peach Parfait and Gumdrop reviewsRevlon Lip Butter Review

First, let’s look at the swatches so we can give my comments and thoughts some context.

Peach Parfait and Gumdrop lip butters

revlon lip butter reviews

Peach Parfait

lip butter swatch and review

lip butter swatch and review

lip butter swatch and review

lip butter swatch and review

Peach parfait lip butters by Revlon have a nice peachy pink base with gold flecks of glitter in it.  It is smooth, creamy and glides on easy.  I found it gave the lips a nice summery sheen…but given that my lips naturally are a bit dark, I found that I had to apply quite a lot of product to build it up and get the colour pay off I was looking for.  Don’t expect a coral/orange look like you might have seen in the ads featuring Emma Stone, I don’t find that it is pigmented enough to give you that look.  (Perhaps if you are very fair skinned with pale lips…or maybe if you were to use a concealer/lip erase before application you can achieve that look.)

Gumdrop

lip butter swatch and review

lip butter swatch and review

lip butter swatch and review

lip butter swatch and review

Gumdrop is a soft lilac shade that is milky, but sheer.  Again, I found you had to put several coats on to get the colour pigmentation to show up and when I finally built it up…I didn’t find this colour all that flattering on me.  It seemed to blend into my natural lip colour too much and wash me out.  (You can really see what I mean in the “natural light” swatch above.)  I can absolutely see this colour being beautiful on other people though.

My thoughts:

All in all the lip butters are just what they are advertised as.  They are a hydrating, glossy lip colour with more pigmentation than a regular gloss.  They are less drying that your standard lipstick, but I also feel they have less staying power.  For me, I don’t see myself picking up any more at their regular price tag…but if I were to catch them on sale again, I would certainly snoop through and see if I could find 1 or 2 other shades.

I also grabbed another product to go along with the purchase of my lip butters that I believe is worth a mention.  It was Nail Polish Remover pads by LA COLORS.  I figured these would be a great addition to my purse…for those days when your manicure starts to chip and you wish you could take off your lacquer.  I am one of those people that once they start to chip, I can’t help but…”help them along” and I end up fidgeting with them all day.  So this screamed to me!

LA Colors Nail Polish Remover

You get 32 pads in each plastic case and drug stores carry them for under $2.  (I think I paid about $1.70 before taxes)  They also come in different fruit scents so if you find peach a turn off, don’t worry – you have options. 🙂  (They come in lemon, strawberry, pear, grape, melon and peach.)

LA COLORS nail polish remover pads

The pads are super thin and very moist.  I was able to use one pad to remove the polish from all 10 nails.  Depending on how many coats you have, you might need to use more than one.

LA COLORS nail polish remover pads

*Please ignore my nails, they were stained yellow by a polish about 6-7 weeks ago and I have been too lazy to do anything about it.  I just keep my nails painted while they grow out.*

My thoughts:

These nail polish remover pads certainly got the job done, and are great to tuck away in your purse – just be conscious of when you are going to pull them out and use them.   I found them very greasy and messy.  The remover would pick up the polish and then sort of spread a very diluted version of your polish all over everything else.  So make sure you either have a kleenex or napkin nearby to wipe off the excess, or are in a bathroom and can give your hands a quick wash afterwards.  But honestly, for the price tag, I’m very happy I got this and have no doubt that I will put them to good use!

Well, I hope you enjoyed my mini drugstore haul even if I’m behind the curve on this one.  The way I see it though, the world always needs more swatches! ❤

Thanks for reading!

xox,

Shannon

14 responses

  1. I remember when you bought it. I love my nailpolish remover and I use it very often. Beijos

    May 7, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    • Yes, you were there! How do you like Peach Parfait Samira? Have you used it much?

      May 7, 2012 at 8:34 pm

      • I like the most pigmented lipstick, but I carry it in my purse to use throughout the day. It’s ok for the price we paid. 🙂

        May 8, 2012 at 7:23 pm

        • I agree, for $4.99, it is hard to complain!

          May 8, 2012 at 7:25 pm

  2. Oooooh Peach Parfait looks so pretty – I wonder if it’ll work with my skin tone…? Gumdrop still looks more flattering on you than on me! I want to pick up a few more but they never have any in stock, they’re so popular 😦

    May 7, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    • Peach Parfait in my opinion is a very neutral shade. I can see it working on most everyone. It really just adds a nice healthy looking shine to your lips. And depending on the pigmentation in your lips, the peach shade might be more or less noticeable. But it was by far my favourite out of the two. I’m hoping Gumdrop will look nicer on me once I get some sun this summer…but for now, it is going to stay in the drawer where it can’t hurt me. 😛

      May 8, 2012 at 7:38 am

  3. Shannon, I think it’s a matter of finding the right color of Revlon lip butters. I know it’s hard when you can’t try things on. Do any of your large chain drug stores have good return policies on cosmetics? I know here in the States, we have two very large chain drug stores that will allow you to exchange or return any cosmetic item for any reason. I would have never known, except someone told me about it. I suppose its something you could ask about. That way you could try a few, and see if they are ones you like. If not, just return them. I have 2 that I like very much. I tend to like reds more than pinks or corals. If you ever find them on sale again, try the Candy Apple, or the Red Velvet. Those are two that just might win you over.

    May 7, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    • This is fantastic advice and to answer your question, I don’t know! Does Wal-Mart take back cosmetics in the state? I’ve never tried here. I will also have to ask at our big main drugstore and see if I can take advantage of that and get some colours I really love. Reds and berry shades are certainly next on my list for this product, but because I have so many already, I thought I would try something else to round out my options….and now I’m stuck with Gumdrop. LOL

      I’ve committed Candy Apple and Red Velvet to my memory though, thanks so much for the tip!

      May 8, 2012 at 7:42 am

      • I haven’t tried at Wal-Mart, but if you have Walgreen or CVS they’re the ones with the awesome return policy on cosmetics.

        May 8, 2012 at 10:56 am

        • Too bad, we don’t have either of those. 😦

          May 8, 2012 at 11:04 am

  4. Gum Drop looks awesome!! I want to try one soon.

    May 9, 2012 at 9:47 pm

    • You definitely should, there is such a wide range of colours available!

      May 10, 2012 at 6:40 am

  5. I recently bought this Lip Butter in Lollipop, that’s the color I fell ion love with. I can’t pull off light colored lips. lol

    May 21, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    • I just looked up Lollipop, it looks so pretty! I think I just might just have to keep an eye out for that one. Thanks for commenting!

      May 22, 2012 at 6:46 am

Leave a Reply

