A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

A Konad Nail Design

You might remember the Konad Nail Stamping Tutorial I did a couple of months ago showcasing my first look at the starter kit I purchased.  I enjoyed the product and the end result a lot.  It is such a fun, easy and quick way to do your nails!  Nail stamping allows you to be super creative with both colour and designs and presents endless opportunities to mix and match.  You never have to have the same manicure twice!

My only problem was that  my starter kit had no full nail designs or french tip designs.  So I made my way to one of the malls near here that I recently discovered had a kiosk with the Konad products.  Planning to just grab one or two plates, I caved and ended up grabbing a few things….

Konad Nail Stamping

I opted for a couple plates with full nail designs, a plate for just tips and a plate covered in fun summery fruit designs.  I also grabbed a few polishes to give me more options.  You need to use special nail polish for stamping, the majority of standard nail polishes out there aren’t thick enough and won’t work in the plates.  You can try it though if you want and you might get lucky with a couple of your shades.

Let’s take a quick look at my new plates:

Stamping plate with just tip designs

Full Nail Stamping Plate

Animal Print Plate

Stamping plate with fruit designs

I knew I was going to have a really hard time trying to pick, so I asked my husband what he thought I should do.  I expected him to say something about not caring….but instead he picked an image from plate M80 right away.  I asked what colours and he immediately said black with the design in white.  I couldn’t believe I’d actually gotten an opinion about my nails out of him…so I did exactly what he suggested. 🙂

What you’ll need:

Nail Stamping tutorial

  1. A nail lacquer to use as your base.  I used Liquid Vinyl (a very shiny black) by Orly.
  2. A nail lacquer thick enough to use for your pattern.  I am using Konad Special Polish in white.
  3. Your plate of choice.  I’m using M80, a konad nail plate.
  4. The stamp.
  5. The scraper.
  6. Nail Polish remover.
  7. A couple of cotton balls and q-tips.

***If you don’t know of somewhere in your area that sells the stamp/scraper/plates/polishes you can purchase online from either www.nailpolishcanada.com or www.konadnailart.com.***

How To:

  • Paint your nails with the base nail lacquer of your choice.  Do however many coats are required to reach an opaque look.  For me with Orly’s Liquid Vinyl, that meant two coats.  Don’t worry too much about the skin around your nails yet, we have to clean them up later anyways.Shiny Black Nail Polish
  • Taking your plate with the design you want, use your special nail polish and cover the design.How To: Konad Nail Stamping
  • Hold your scraper at a 45 degree angle to the plate and cleanly swipe away the polish.  (this will leave only a small amount of polish sitting inside the etched design)Konad Nail Tutorial
  • Very quickly, press your stamp down on the design.  You need to do this immediately after scraping!!  If you aren’t fast enough, only about half the design will make it to the stamp and make it unusable.  It should look nice and clean, like this:Design from plate M80 (Konad)
  • Then, simply roll the stamp over your nail, transferring the design to your nail.Stamping tutorial (konad nail art)
  • Using a cotton ball wet with nail polish remover, wipe the plate and scraper clean.
  • Repeat for all nails.M80 Konad Plate
  • Top coat to seal your design.  I used Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat.Nail Stamping tutorial for konad nail stamping

Two things to note: 

  1. Depending on the design, if you have short(ish) nails like I do, it might be too large for your nail.   Simply roll it on however you like to get the placement you want.  Don’t worry about getting it on your skin.  If you pick at it right away, the skin of polish simply comes right off, or you can wait until the end and use a q-tip to clean up all of your fingers.Nail tutorial for stamping
  2. With a design like this, where you are trying to get all of your nails to look the same, it can be a bit challenging to master the stamp.  Don’t worry too much, I’m pretty sure you will be your biggest critic.nail stamping tutorial for plate m80
What do you think of this look?  Have you tried stamping?  Do you have a favourite plate?  I personally can’t wait to try the zebra print from plate M57!!
Konad Nail Art

For a look at some other plates and designs, please visit my first post on Konad Nail Stamping.

Thanks for reading!

xox,
Shannon

Konad Nail Art

6 responses

  1. Beautiful!

    May 5, 2012 at 7:04 pm

  2. This is great, Shannon! I’m gonna have to set some money aside and brave into the world of stamping. 🙂

    May 6, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    • You won’t regret it Mary! Nail stamping is so much fun and it is super fast and easy to give yourself a nice looking manicure that people think you slaved over or had professionally done.

      May 6, 2012 at 3:42 pm

  3. Pingback: a NEON manicure for the TIGRESS in you « eyemasq

  4. Pingback: A Fruity Manicure « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

