A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Russian Red: A Matte Lipstick by MAC Cosmetics

I’ve been aching for a nice true red lipstick.  And I found myself  in search of a lipstick that either had bluish undertones, or was simply a nice neutral red.  I think I found my new “go to” with MAC’s Russian Red matte lipstick.

Described by MAC as an “Intense bluish-red” it certainly sounded like it fit the bill.  Items from this  lipstick collection cost $14.50US or $17.50CAD for 3g of product.  MAC’s Russian Red is also currently a shade featured in MAC’s “Fashion Sets” collection where they are offering lipsticks, glosses and nail lacquers all of the same shade.

Matte Lipstick packaing by MAC

I found I had a bit of a hard time capturing the true colour in photos, so I have provided several pictures here, in different lighting to try and give you the best idea of what it’s truly like.

Russian Red lipstick swatch, by MAC

I always love to swatch on the lips as well  because I really find that it helps capture the colour.  And in order to give proper swatches, I made sure that I took pictures of MAC’s Russian Red lipstick both with flash and without flash.  The first one here is with flash:

Russian Red on lips

And without flash:

Russian Red lipstick swatched on lips

I’ll try to use this lipstick in a look soon so you guys can see it in action.

What do you think of this shade?  What is your favourite product to get that bold red lip?

xox,

Shannon

swatch of Russian Red matte lipstick

Russian Red matte lipstick by MAC
*This picture was taken with a flash*

13 responses

  1. Love it auch a pretty shade!

    May 3, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    • I love it too! I can’t wait to try it out “officially”.

      May 3, 2012 at 5:20 pm

  2. I love the red swatch against the nails haha. Have you seen how it looks in sunlight yet?

    May 3, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    • What is sunlight? LOL It has been doing nothing but rain here, so unfortunately not. 😦 Hopefully the sun will start shining and I can start playing with some fun spring and summer time colours.

      May 4, 2012 at 6:07 am

      • Ottawa too?! I know it’s been raining stupid amounts both in London and Toronto 😦 I want my Spring, darn it! It’s May 😦

        May 4, 2012 at 11:55 am

        • Yes! And when it hasn’t been rainy, it has just been overcast, cloudy and thinking about raining. I am running out of patience!

          May 4, 2012 at 1:22 pm

  3. I love your nails! The lipstick looks really nice on you too! Can’t wait to see you ROCK it!

    May 4, 2012 at 1:40 am

    • Thanks Sunny, I’m looking forward to it too! I will be sure to post pictures. 🙂

      May 4, 2012 at 6:08 am

  4. Loving this color!! It does remind me of Hot from Covergirl Lip Perfection, my favorite!

    May 5, 2012 at 9:11 am

    • That is good to know, especially because it would be a fraction of the price!

      May 5, 2012 at 10:24 am

  5. I found Russian Red while on the hunt for a “true” red. It’s an amazing but scary shade! 😀 I don’t wear it very often and when I do, I make sure to combine it with a neutral eye because it’s so bold.

    May 5, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    • Yeah, it is super bold and will certainly be the focus of any look. A very soft natural eye will be the only way to go with this baby!

      May 5, 2012 at 12:54 pm

  6. Pingback: 10 Gorgeous Lipsticks for Fall « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

