A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Water Marble: A Burst of Blue

Feeling like my nails have been neglected as of late, I decided to do a fun water marble last night.  But rather than just random patterns, I opted for a design that would allow me to get a similar look on each nail.

Using Sexy in the City (blue polish by China Glaze) and Paper Mache (white polish from Fingerpaints) I came up with this:

A Burst of Blue Water Marble

If Nail Marbling is something new for you, please check out my nail marbling introduction here complete with lots of photos.

  1. In order to recreate this look you will need: scotch tape, a cup of room temperature water, toothpicks, white nail polish and a second contrasting polish of your choice.
  2. Prep your nails with two coats of your white polish.
  3. Scotch tape around your nails to make your life easier later.
  4. Begin dropping your polish into the water, alternating white and your second colour.  Create a bullseye that looks something like this: Nail Marbling Tutorial
  5. Take a toothpick and create the design of your choice.  For my burst design, drag your toothpick in towards the centre, creating an almost flower like shape.  (If your centre gets super messy, take your toothpick and push it straight down into the centre and pull it back out, keeping your toothpick straight.  This will clean up your centre.)Nail marbling tutorial
  6. Now, with your nail parallel to the surface of the water, hovering over the very centre of your design, push it down into the water.  Then, using your toothpick clean up the rest of the polish from the surface of the water (leaving your finger submerged.)
  7. Once the surface of the water is clean, go ahead and bring your finger out of your water.
  8. Give your fingers a bit of time to dry before removing the tape.  I like to do a complete hand before I remove the tape. Blue and White nail Marbling tutorial
  9. Then, all you need to do is a little bit of clean up.  Using a q-tip and a touch of nail polish remover, clean up the areas that your tape didn’t protect.
  10. Viola!  A Burst of Blue manicure.

White and blue nail marble - nail art, funky nails

The draw back of  being determined to get a similar design on each nail is that you will only be able to dunk one nail at a time, so this will take longer than normal if you are used to doing 2 fingers at once.

How do you like this nail design?  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

***On a side note, I will be putting together a video tutorial on nail marbling soon.  I did a test run last night and it turns out…when I use the toothpick I like to lean my head in and block the camera lens…haha.  Please stay tuned!***

nail marbling tutorial

Thanks for reading!

xox,
Shannon

If you are obsessed with everything nails, please feel free to visit the Nails section of EYEMASQ.

30 responses

  1. Wow! That’s so neat – I’ve never seen that before. I think I’m a bit too clumsy to try it but I might get brave one day. 🙂 I look forward to seeing your video tutorial.

    May 1, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    • Thanks, I’m glad you liked it!

      Maybe once you see how easy it is on the video you will give it a go. It just takes a bit of practice, but really isn’t very difficult, I promise!

      May 1, 2012 at 6:33 pm

  2. I can’t marble my nails for crap lol!

    May 1, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    • Oh no! What was the biggest problem you had with it? I think I’ve run into almost every issue there is…

      May 1, 2012 at 6:42 pm

      • The nail polish would sink and not spread out and by the time I put my finger in there it just gooped together in one big mess :[. What temp. of water are you supposed to use? And does the nail polish have to be fairly new?

        May 1, 2012 at 6:55 pm

        • A couple things come to mind first. When you put your drop of polish in the water, don’t drop it in from super high. I like to let the brush gently touch the surface of the water and have the water pull the drop off. That should help with your sinking problem.

          As for water temperature, you want to use room temperature water. If you are going to err on one side or the other, cooler is better. The polish doesn’t have to be new either, but if it is too thick it won’t work. You might want to pick up a polish thinner if you don’t already have one. It costs about $5 and can help thin out some goopy polishes you might have.

          I also have the best luck with shimmery or metallic polishes, they seem to work much better in the water for some reason.

          The best advice I can give is to mix up what polishes you are trying. Lots of times I will sit down with a couple of polishes in mind and one of them just won’t spread in the water, so I have to swap it out for a different one.

          I hope something in there is helpful for you! I’d love to hear if you actually end up trying it again and how you make out. Keep me posted!!

          May 1, 2012 at 7:00 pm

        • I need to do my nails soon since they look horrible, so I’m going to take your advice and try it out. It def. looks pretty when you do it! Hopefully I’ll get the hang of it lol and when I do… I will let you know :)! Thanks so much <3!

          May 1, 2012 at 7:09 pm

        • Yay! I can’t wait to see how they turn out, good luck!!! ❤

          May 1, 2012 at 7:13 pm

  3. wow, you are good! that is so pretty:-)

    May 1, 2012 at 6:40 pm

  4. So pretty 🙂 Don’t switch entirely to videos and stop writing, okay? 🙂

    May 1, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    • Oh pearlessence, don’t worry, I would never! I was just thinking that I would start incorporating short helpful videos into my regular posts. Especially like things for nail marbling where you can describe and describe and describe…but sometimes it is just easier if you can see it. 🙂 Welcome back by the way, have things calmed down for you now?

      May 1, 2012 at 7:03 pm

      • Some blogs that I have been following just changed to only putting up videos, which I’m not so hot about because if I wanted to watch videos only I’d be on YouTube, not visiting blogs! But I totally agree, sometimes there’s just no better way than to show it!

        Exams are finally over, but since moving back home it’s been hectic running around trying to get my papers in order. And unpacking – how on EARTH did I manage to accumulate so much?! Every day I think about how I’m missing out on reading and blogging, though 😦 I still have to unpack and clean up (throw out half of) my room before work starts next week! Time passes too quickly when there’s so much to do!

        I have so much blog-writing and reading to catch up on. Hopefully I’ll be back more frequently from now on 🙂

        May 1, 2012 at 7:16 pm

        • Sounds like you’ve been insanely busy my dear! I’m glad you are back though and that things are settling down a little bit for you. Hang in there, because we missed ya!

          May 1, 2012 at 8:07 pm

  5. Rediculous! Love them! I am definetely going to need to try this again! these are awesome!!

    May 2, 2012 at 9:25 am

    • Thanks Amanda! I hope that you do, I would love to hear/see how you make out!!

      May 2, 2012 at 9:38 am

  6. Absolutely loved this step by step process of how to do this effect, I had to press it! I can’t wait to try it!

    May 2, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    • It is super fun and almost addictive in a way. I can’t wait to see what you come up with!!

      May 2, 2012 at 8:54 pm

      • I’ll be sure to let you know when I try it!

        May 2, 2012 at 10:04 pm

  7. I have yet to try water marbling but I really want to. Up until your post, though, I hadn’t seen anyone do it that had relatively short nails so I have renewed hope that mine is actually going to come out.

    May 2, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    • Oh I’m glad! You certainly don’t need long nails to have fun with nail marbling. I hope you give it a try!

      May 2, 2012 at 8:52 pm

  8. You’ve been nominated for the Sunshine award!! Congrats!
    http://wp.me/p249m6-6b

    May 3, 2012 at 11:19 am

  9. I am absolutely in love with this nail design and everything your blog is about!!!! 🙂

    May 4, 2012 at 9:19 am

    • Wow, thank you! I’m glad you like it. Everyone seems to be loving this “burst” design. It seems to be getting more attention than my other marbles. 🙂 Thanks for checking out Eyemasq! I’m on my way to your site now. 🙂

      May 4, 2012 at 10:36 am

  10. Very very pretty!!!

    May 17, 2012 at 3:41 am

  11. Pingback: A red, white, blue and green nail marble « eyemasq

  12. Jenelle Snow

    What kind of tape do you use?

    August 21, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    • Hi Jenelle! Just any scotch tape will do, like something you’d use for wrapping presents. I usually pick up a three pack from Wal-Mart and it lasts me ages!

      August 21, 2012 at 4:45 pm

Leave a Reply

