A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

MAC Pigment Swatches

I recently, over the last month or so, picked up a few more pigments from MAC’s collection.  I wanted to do swatches of them for you…and realized that I had a couple of other ones from before that I could swatch as well.  So I decided to swatch all of my MAC pigments today, plus the few samples I have picked up along the way.  (This post will not include Butterfly Party and Aloha crushed metallic pigment sets which have already been fully swatched and reviewed on EYEMASQ.)

What is pigment? 

Reviews of MAC Pigments

Pigments are highly concentrated loose coloured powder.  They are very buildable, so you can just add a subtle touch of colour or really get an intense look.  MAC Cosmetics advertises them saying: “Does not streak or cake. Easy to blend and long-lasting.”  With each pigment you purchase you receive 4.5g of product, this is 3 times the amount of product in a standard eyeshadow pan.  MAC pigments retail for $24CAD or $20US.

MAC Pigment Review

At any time, you can go into any MAC store and request samples of pigments.  I’ve recently started buying one and requesting a sample of another.  Generally, the samples are large enough to get several uses out of them.  Depending on the colour, you may never need to replace these and simply use your free sample forever.  As you can see, you get a fair amount in each sample.

Violet, Emerald Green, Platinum and Blue Brown Pigment

Let’s take a look at some of the pigments.  I swatched the pink and purple toned pigments together.  These four shades are available at all MAC counters and stores, they are not from their Pro stores.  Grape is the first MAC pigment I actually ever bought.  I was trying to find a nice deep purple to use along side Parfait Amour and Satellite Dreams to create a nice purple smoky eye.  To this day, it is still one of my favourites.  After picking up the sample of Violet just yesterday, I’m excited to try the two of them together.

Pink and Purple Pigment Swatch

Violet – vivid bright violet purple

Grape – vibrant deep purple

Rose – rose with copper sparkle (frost)

Kitchmas – shimmering pink/mauve pearl (frost)

Pink and Purple Pigment Swatches

A couple more shades from their collection are Golden Olive and Blue Brown.  Blue Brown I expected to be a lot like Club (swatched here), one of MAC’s pressed eyeshadows, but it is actually much warmer where Club has cooler undertones.

MAC Pigments

Golden Olive – high frosted green gold

Blue Brown – brown with blue/green pearl (frost)

MAC Pigment Swatches

Now MAC does have different shades available from their PRO collection that are only available at PRO stores.  For more about this, or to find a store near you, please click here.  The next shades I am going to swatch here are all only available at PRO stores.  Please keep in mind though, even if you don’t physically live close to a PRO store, you can always call them and they can ship you whatever you need.  I know at the Canadian stores, shipping is $7, no matter where you are in Canada.  I am not sure about the cost in the US.

MAC Pigments from their Pro shades

Emerald Green – a vibrant true emerald green with silver sparkle

Basic Red – a true matte red (no obvious blue or orange undertones)

Gold –  deep golden metallic yellow

Copper – copper with a metallic sheen

Platinum – gorgeous metallic silver

Pigment Swatches from MAC Pro's Collection of shades

The texture of the 3 metallic shades are unbelievable.  They are smooth, creamy and slide on your skin like a dream.  I used Platinum in a look here, but am excited to try out Gold and Copper so I can see them in action.  I’m thinking they will be stunning paired with black for a smoky metallic eye.

Is there a certain pigment that you can’t wait to see in a look?  Please let me know, I would love to hear from you!

Thanks for reading!!!

xox,

Shannon

MAC Cosmetics

12 responses

  1. I love this! 🙂

    April 29, 2012 at 7:46 pm

  2. Thank you for this! I’ve never tried any Mac Pigments, but you have some colors I definitely want to try!! 🙂

    May 1, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    • Oh I’m glad! Let me know if you get any, I would love to hear what you think of them!

      May 1, 2012 at 3:38 pm

  3. You have so many pigments! And they’re all so pigmented, haha. How do they compare in terms of staying power to the regular MAC shadows?

    May 1, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    • I do have a lot of pigments…and that is just my MAC ones. I have a few MUFE ones as well. Pigments are just so nice to work with. And their lasting power, in my experience, is better than their regular shadows. Because the colour is so concentrated, they are generally more vibrant and long lasting. You need some good makeup remover to get it all off your skin, so you don’t have that “tinge” left over look.

      May 1, 2012 at 8:11 pm

  4. Pingback: Feeling Dramatic? (eye makeup tutorial) « eyemasq

  5. Pingback: Oh MAC, Where Have You Been All My Life? « The Lipstick Gal

  6. Pingback: MAC PRO products NOW available ONLINE! « eyemasq

  7. Pingback: Feeling Sexy? A Holiday Makeup Look & Tutorial « eyemasq

  8. Pingback: Feeling Festive? A Christmas Makeup Look « eyemasq

  9. Pingback: December 2012 Topbox « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

