A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Feeling Sweet…or Sour?

A few weeks ago I picked up another mineralize eyeshadow from MAC.  I loved Fresh & Mint so much, I was aching to get another duo.  I ended up falling in love with Sweet & Sour, described by MAC as a Dirty Gold paired with a green and deep blue veining/warm gold.

Keep in mind, these are all hand made, so every one is a little different than the one next to it.  So for me, I wanted one that was more green than blue, so I actually went to a couple of stores to find the one I was in love with.  But if you aren’t as picky as I am, you don’t have to worry.  You won’t hear any regrets from me on this product, I love the colours together and this product lives up to what I’ve come to expect from MAC Cosmetics.

Sweet & Sour Eyeshadow Duo

These gorgeous duos retail for $24 CAD or $20 US and give you 2.5g of baked colour goodness.  For comparisons sake, in a regular MAC eyeshadow, you receive 1.5g and pay $18 CAD or $15US.

Sweet & Sour Mineralize Eyeshadow by MAC

Dry swatch of MAC’s Sweet & Sour:

Swatch of Sweet & Sour Eyeshadow by MAC

I think what I love most about their mineralize baked eyeshadows are that they are super easy to apply, work with and blend together.  They always seem to just seamlessly form a gorgeous eye with no work at all.

Sweet & Sour Mineralize Eyeshadow Duo from MAC

If you want a softer look, use a dry brush.  If you want your colours a bit more vibrant, use a wet brush to apply these mineralize eyeshadows.  For my look, I used a wet brush.

How to create this look for your eyes:

  1. Fill in your brows and shape them how you like.  I used MAC’s Mystery Eyeshadow for this.
  2. Apply your primer all over your lid.  I used Urban Decay’s Potion Primer.
  3. Wet your eyeshadow brush and apply the greenish/blueish side all over your lid.  (You don’t need to use this MAC duo, any green or blue shimmery shadow will work for this.)
  4. Wipe your brush off on a kleenex, re-wet your brush and apply the dirty gold throughout your crease and the outer edge of your eye.
  5. Using an eyeliner brush, apply the dirty gold under your lower lashes as well to bring the look together.  (Again, if you don’t have this duo, feel free to use a shimmery gold that you may have from another brand.)
  6. Line your upper and lower lash line with black eyeliner of your choice.  I used Maybelline Master Precise Felt Tip Liquid Liner in Black on my lids and Blacktrack Fluidline by MAC on my waterline.
  7. For my lashes I used Ardells #102 Demi False Lashes on top and Clinique’s High Impact Mascara on my bottom lashes.
  8. Viola!  Super easy, no blending required with this MAC duo.  You simply slap it on and just by having the two colours touch each other, they blend themselves.  Fool proof!

Sweet & Sour Eyemakeup

For the rest of this look I used the following:

Skin –  Makeup Forever’s HD Foundation in shade 118

Lips – Smashbox’s Lip Enhancing Gloss in Fame

Cheeks – powder blush and bronzer from Too Faced’s Natural Face palette

This picture is indoors with flash:

Sweet & Sour Mineralize Eyeshadow Makeup Look

This picture was taken in natural light, no flash:

Sweet & Sour Makeup Look

 

Do you own any MAC Mineralize shadows?  How do you like them?

xox,

Shannon

10 responses

  1. Shannon you always make the most fun looks!

    I don’t own any mineral eyeshadows. I think I had one briefly, couldn’t really make it work so I gave up. I might have given up too soon though! Maybe if I try again now I would be better!

    April 27, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    • Thanks Sunny, I’m glad you like it!

      As for mineral eyeshadows, I had the first same experience too. I stayed away from them for a long time, but now I’m starting to really come around. I think you should give them another try, you might just love it! Just get it at MAC or Sephora and then you can always return it if you don’t like it/don’t use it at all in the first month.

      April 27, 2012 at 8:23 pm

  2. hey girly! i love your blog! and i love M.A.C! I just started following your blog, and I just started my own blog, breakfastatsephora. If you could follow my blog too, I would love that! I’m blogging about everything beauty, and my reviews are 100% my own. I’m just getting started up, but there will be more to come, i promise!

    stay beautiful

    Hattie

    April 27, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    • Hi Hattie, I’m glad you liked Eyemasq! Welcome to the wonderful world of beauty blogging. I started Eyemasq back in November and just can’t get enough…there is no turning back now! I’m now following your blog as well. Looking forward to what is to come! 🙂

      April 27, 2012 at 8:26 pm

  3. Shannon, this is gorgeous! I’ve always appreciated MAC, but I’m a lazy girl and don’t take the time to do such pretty makeup like you do. Lovely, you’re inspiring me to try but I fear my money all goes to polish these days. 😉

    April 27, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    • Hi Mary – thanks for visiting my blog! When I first got into makeup, I couldn’t rationalize spending a tonne of money, so I started small and made my own 4 shadow palette from MAC, filled it with mainly neutrals and than grabbed one bright colour – green. Even just having 5 shadows, made room for so many combinations and I had so much fun experimenting….then it was all down hill from there!

      Do you have a Sally Beauty Supply Store near you? That is where I stock my nail polish collection from mainly. They are much less expensive than salons and retail. Where do you source all of yours from?

      I’m following Lacquer. Lit. Love now, can’t wait to see what’s next! 🙂

      April 28, 2012 at 10:42 am

      • Oh, you’re so sweet! And yes, I frequently make Sally visits but I really wish they had a larger selection. 😦 I used to have a bit of MAC makeup, but it’s been a few years now! Following you as well, I’m going to have to get a link up in my blogroll for you! 🙂

        April 28, 2012 at 4:51 pm

        • That sounds great! I need to go through and update mine as well!

          April 28, 2012 at 6:03 pm

  4. Nice look and I also love the lip color! I just bought some Too Faced shadows that look very similar to this one, we’ll see how they work out for me. I just love how each eye shadow is so unique in color.

    April 28, 2012 at 11:30 am

    • Hi Tina! Fame by Smashbox is one of my favourite glosses, I use it so much, probably more than anything else just because it goes with everything, but isn’t too crazy pigmented that it overpowers the look.

      I like Too Faced shadows a lot too, can’t wait to see what you come up with! Ugh – I’m so in love with this MAC duo though, makes me want to go back and look for more…so bad for the wallet…haha

      April 28, 2012 at 11:37 am

Leave a Reply

