A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

The Space Between

In between our trip to Toronto and heading out for Quebec City, we had one night back in Ottawa and had a small gathering to get some friends together and enjoy the long Easter weekend.  So it seemed like a good occasion to experiment with a new makeup look.

MAC Makeup Look

This silver and blue smoky eye was easy to create and a good option for an evening or a holiday look.  I find using blue instead of black (like you would typically see with silver) also makes it a little more fun by adding a pop of colour, black would be much sexier and more dramatic.  So it just depends on what sort of look you are trying to create.

MAC Makeup Look

To create this look:

  1. Start by applying an eye primer all over your lid and up to your brow.  I used Urban Decay’s Primer Potion for this step.  Give it a minute and let it set.
  2. Gently press Platinum Pigment by MAC (or you can use any silver eyeshadow) all over your lid.  Depending on the texture of the shadow you are using, sometimes I find that pressing the shadow on results in better coverage and a nicer colour payoff than what you would get by brushing it on.
  3. Then select your darker colour of choice, I went for Deep Truth by MAC which is a shimmery navy blue.  Spread this colour throughout your crease and at the outer edge of your eye.
  4. I then took a little bit of Black Tied eyeshadow by MAC (a black with small specks of silver) and really intensified the outer edge by making it just a tad darker, adding more depth.
  5. Using a lighter colour as a highlighter, softly brighten the inner corner of your eye and your brown bone.  For this I used Forgery eyeshadow by MAC, a very light silver shade.
  6. Then, using an angled shadow brush, I dusted both the navy blue eyeshadow (Deep Truth) and the platinum pigment under my lash line to bring the top and bottom together.
  7. For eyeliner, I would recommend either a gel eyeliner or a liquid liner.  For both my waterline and my upper lashes, I used MAC’s Fluidline in Blacktrack.
  8. I finished the look off with 2 coats of Too Faced lashGASM mascara.  (If you want to see this mascara face off with it’s competitor, please visit my Ultimate Mascara Review)

Silver and Navy Blue Smoky eye

Please let me know if you like this format of breaking down the shadows, if you find it useful or interesting, please let me know and I can keep doing it!

Blue and Silver Smoky Eye Tutorial

Now, onto the rest of the evening!  Samira brought with her from Brazil, not only some recipes, but also some actual ingredients so we could make authentic Caipirinha (a Brazillian drink) and Brigadeiro (a Brazilian sweet).  It was a perfect night to try everything out seeing as we had a room full of people eager to sample.

Caipirinha!

What you need:

Caipirinha Recipe

  • A Bottle of Cachaca
  • Sugar
  • Lemons or Limes
  • Ice (Crushed ice would’ve been better I think)

Start off by cutting up your lime or lemon into four pieces

Homemade Caipirinha

Remove the peel and place the pieces of lemon/lime in the bottom of your glass.  Add 4 spoonfuls of sugar on top.

Making Caipirinha

Use anything you have to mash up the fruit and sugar until it looks like this:  (As you can see, we had to use the handle of our whisk)

Mashing lemons for Caipirinha

Now this is where this gets insane.  Add Cachaca and a few ice cubes.

This drink was insanely strong.  It smelled and tasted like pure alcohol.  No one was able to finish theirs, except for Samira.  I think this was some sort of sick joke…although she was able to finish more than one.   +1 Samira, you win!

I think if I was ever going to make this again, I would used crushed ice and pack my glass full, before adding the Cachaca…that way you only end up with about 2 ounces of alcohol in your drink, instead of 10.

Brigadeiro

After the drinks, I think everyone was a little weary of the Brigadeiro…haha, but everyone ended up loving this typical Brazilian sweet.

What you need:

  • 2 cans of condensed milk
  • 6 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • chocolate sprinkles
In a medium saucepan, pour in your condensed milk.
Condensed Milk for Brigadeiro
Add your butter and cocoa powder.
How to make Brigadeiro
Mix everything together
Making Brigadeiro
Cook over medium heat until it thickens (takes about 10 minutes), you will need to stir it constantly so it doesn’t burn and stick to the bottom of your pot.
Brigadeiro
Once it is nice and thick you have options.  Samira said that making the traditional balls takes forever so it would be best to just put it on a couple of plates and forget about the balls.  So we poured the Brigadeiro onto two dinner sized plates, added some chocolate sprinkles and put them in the fridge to cool.  (Okay, so one plate made it to the fridge, the other one I dropped on the floor making an awful mess…..)
After about 15 minutes, the plate I didn’t drop had cooled enough and was ready to eat.  Everyone loved it and it was soooooooo easy to make!  So go ahead and make some homemade chocolate and enjoy yourself some Brazilian Brigadeiro!

***If you want to make your Brigadeiro into balls: remove from heat and let rest until cool enough to handle. Form into small balls and eat at once or chill until serving.***

How many of you are rushing off right now to go make some homemade chocolate?!?!?  Be honest!!

But seriously, I would love to hear from you if you’ve ever made either of these before and what you thought!  (Or, if you think you’ll try them in the future.)

Thanks for reading!

❤ Shannon ❤

MAC Makeup Look

7 responses

  1. I like the breakdown of the eyeshadows – it would be so helpful for first-timers and experimenting 🙂

    April 20, 2012 at 12:06 am

    • That is what I was thinking, I think I will definitely keep doing it for now and see if people find it helpful. 🙂

      April 20, 2012 at 7:03 am

  2. Suzie

    I like this one!! Your look, and the fun times!

    April 21, 2012 at 7:34 am

    • Thanks Suzie! You should make the Brigadeiro with your boys and see how much fun they have rolling the chocolate into balls…..LOL I can picture the mess already. 😉

      April 21, 2012 at 9:10 am

  3. I like the breakdown of the eyeshadows too… It’s an easy way to help the beginners like me

    April 21, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    • Wonderful! I have another look to go up soon, so I will be sure to break it down like that again. It is fun for me too!

      April 22, 2012 at 1:21 am

  4. Pingback: MAC Pigment Swatches « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

