A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Bright Block Manicure

After my and Samira’s whirlwind visit, upon arriving home, I almost immediately got sick.  Feeling not so hot resulted in a lot of couch time.  I have a hard time just sitting and watching TV and not doing anything else at the same time.  So I decided to put some time in and create a manicure I really loved.  You might remember what happened, last time I was sick.  I created a very lengthy scotch tape manicure using my new Hunger Games colours…and although I loved the idea, I wasn’t crazy about the colours together when I finished…

So this time, I made sure I would love the finished result.  Best way to do that – GO BRIGHT!

First let’s look at the colours I used:

Bright Neon Polishes

From left to right: Purple Panic, Hi Def, Hook Up, In the Lime Light and Sexy in the City

I started out by painting my nails different colours.  You can see that I originally wasn’t planning on incorporating yellow into this manicure, but once I started making the blocks, I couldn’t resist.

Neon Green Nail PolishNeon Manicure

Use a fast drying top coat on your neon manicure and give it a couple of minutes to set.  (I have the best results using Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat)

From here, I simply started by creating one block on each finger until each finger had a contrasting block of colour.

Let’s take a look at creating blocks:

First, using clear scotch tape place a strip vertically on your nail.  Clear tape will work the best because you can make sure it is sealed nice and tight to help avoid any bleeding.

Scotch Tape Manicure

Then, using another piece of tape, place one horizontally on the same nail.

Block Nails Tutorial

Once your tape is on and you have a good seal, choose a contrasting colour and paint the exposed portion of the nail.

Neon Nail Tutorial

Once the exposed portion of the nail is filled in, you want to remove the tape before the polish is dry.  (This way when you lift up the tape, it won’t pull up the polish with it.)

Block Nail Tutorial

Your nail should like something like this when done your first block.  Be sure to use your fast drying top coat again and move onto your next nail.

After you have a few nails complete, your manicure should look something like this:

Bright Block Nails tutorial

I wanted to make sure my manicure had a “random” look, so I placed the blue block in different quadrants on each nail.

From this point, you simply repeat for each nail until you have four contrasting colour blocks on each finger nail.

Neon Block NailsBright Block Nails

I used Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat in between each colour to help speed up the process, but it still takes a long time.  Pop a movie in and you will be good to go! 😉

Neon Block NailsNeon Manicure

I have to say, that this is probably my most favourite manicure that I’ve ever done.  I can’t remember loving my nails this much, ever.  What is so cool about it too, is that you can really choose any colours you want.  You could even incorporate the ombre nail trend into your nails by using all shades from one colour if you wanted.  I’d love to hear what you guys think about this look and if you see yourself giving it a try!

xoxo,

Shannon

12 responses

  1. Izy

    I will definitely try this!!!

    April 17, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    • I can’t wait to see what you come up with Iz, your nails are always so colorful and creative!

      April 17, 2012 at 5:57 pm

  2. I was curious to see the result! 🙂

    April 17, 2012 at 7:14 pm

  3. Haha my first thought was: “It’s the Windows logo!” 🙂

    April 18, 2012 at 12:55 am

  4. That looks lovely! I bet it was time consuming but worth it judging by the results. Congrats – I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award: http://beautyandbrainsblogger.wordpress.com/ 🙂

    April 18, 2012 at 10:29 am

    • It was time consuming, but like I said, I get restless if I am just sitting there anyways. So this was a perfect way to pass the time…and end up with a cool manicure. Thank you for the VBA!

      April 18, 2012 at 10:44 am

  5. Suzie

    this is one of my favourites!!

    April 21, 2012 at 7:36 am

    • Hey Suzie – thanks! Mine too! It was just so bright and fun, I really enjoyed watching it come together and also see the finished product.

      April 21, 2012 at 9:11 am

Leave a Reply

