A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

A Brazilian Nail Marble

Samira’s visit from Brazil made nail marbling mandatory.  She had never tried it before, so we decided it was definitely time!  Her nails turned our really well for someone who had never done it before.  Let’s take a look at what she used:

Polishes for a blue nail marble

Frostbite and Electric Beat Nail Polishes by China Glaze

She started out by painting a white base using China Glaze’s White on White Nail Polish.

Nail marbling tutorial

Next step would be taping around your nails with scotch tape.  Once ready, you start dropping the polishes into the water, alternating colours and creating rings.

Blue Nail MarbleBlue Nail Marbling

Keep repeating this process until you have several rings and your water looks something like this:

Blue Nail Marbling

Then, using a toothpick, create a design in the water.

Blue Nail Marble

Once you have a design you are happy with, get ready to dunk your finger in.  If you want, feel free to dunk more than one finger at once.

Blue Nail MarblingNail Marbling Design, Light and Dark Blue

Repeat for all your fingers, remove the tape once dry and enjoy the finished look!

Frostbite Nail Polish by China GlazeLight and Dark Blue Nail Marbling

I thought she really did a fantastic job for her first try and she only had to redo one finger!  (Much better than my first attempt!)  She is definitely now an expert and can teach all of her friends back home in Brazil.

I also marbled my own nails at the same time, but didn’t take any progress pictures.  I do however have a couple of images of the finished manicure.  I decided to do a simple blue and green marble.

Green and Blue Nail Polishes

Frostbite and Paper Chasing Nail Polishes by China Glaze

Frostbite Nail Polish by China GlazePaper Chasing Nail Polish by China GlazeBlue and Green Nail Marble

For a more detailed tutorial on How To Nail Marble, please visit my post here, The Art of Nail Marbling.

Thanks for reading!

Shannon

If you want to take a peek at my most favourite marble ever, please check out my St. Patricks Day 4 Leaf Clover Nails.

20 responses

  1. I didn’t realize you’re also from Canada! I love your post btw! I tried water marbling once and failed miserably! Any tips? Thanks!

    April 16, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    • You betcha – born and raised in Southern Alberta and have been in Ottawa for two years now.

      As for nail marbling, what sort of issues did you have? If you can tell me a bit more, I can probably pin point your problem. I’ve done it enough, I think I’ve encountered every possible issue! I should probably make a video tutorial for nail marbling too. Everyone is always asking!

      April 16, 2012 at 3:47 pm

      • Yes a tutoring will be SO helpful! I keep getting air bubble stuck between my nail and the polish! It’s so frustrating. And does it matter if I use filtered water or normal tap water?

        April 16, 2012 at 8:22 pm

        • I will definitely have to get on making one!

          I always use normal tap water. If you are having a hard time getting the colours to spread, try water slightly colder than room temperature and make sure the polishes you are using aren’t quick dry.

          Sometimes air bubbles can happen if you are dropping the polish in the water from too high. Even the tiniest of splashes can create problems in your polish rings. I generally touch the drop of polish to the water and let the water pull it off the brush. Also, make sure you don’t change the angle of your finger when you are dunking it, keep it consistent and you will be less likely to get air bubbles in your manicure.

          April 16, 2012 at 8:33 pm

  2. Another gorgeous manicure, love it!

    April 16, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    • Thanks Tina! We were pretty happy with how they turned out! I have a very cool manicure to post about in the next day or two…with you being such a sucker for brights I think you are going to like it, stay tuned!!!

      April 16, 2012 at 7:18 pm

  3. They came out great!

    April 16, 2012 at 7:57 pm

  4. Holy cow, this is awesome! Im definitely going to try this! thanks for posting 🙂

    April 17, 2012 at 12:47 am

    • It is so much fun, I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

      April 17, 2012 at 6:27 am

  5. I really like both of them. I have only done one before, but I think I have to try again! Lauren

    April 17, 2012 at 9:17 am

    • Thanks Lauren! It gets easier and faster the more times you do it, you should definitely do it again! 🙂

      April 17, 2012 at 10:27 am

  6. I did that too but the rings don’t become as big as your did. S it because of the water/polish or do you not even know?

    April 17, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    • I have different experiences with different polishes. I find matte and super bright colours harder to work with. I have the best luck with shimmery metallic colours. If your water is just slightly cooler than room temperature, and they aren’t expanding, I would try a different polish. Some of my polishes just refuse to work while others expand beautifully. Trial and error works best. Good luck!

      April 17, 2012 at 3:51 pm

      • Thanks! It probably was the polish. One of the colors made nice rings and the other just stayed there. I looked t the polish and it looked really cheap. So thanks for the help!

        April 17, 2012 at 3:53 pm

        • If one of them is working, then it is definitely the polish. Mix up your second shade until you find a winning combination. Let me know how it goes!!

          April 17, 2012 at 3:55 pm

        • I will. Thanks!

          April 17, 2012 at 4:00 pm

  7. Reblogged this on Esmalte Sem Alergia and commented:
    Como fazer unhas marmorizadas. Post original em inglês, feito pela minha amiga Shannon durante minhas férias no Canadá. Em breve tentarei a técnica por aqui, e posto novamente.

    May 6, 2012 at 6:00 pm

  8. Pingback: Ombré invertida | Esmalte Sem Alergia

  9. Pingback: A red, white, blue and green nail marble « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

