A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Makeup Geek

Marlena , the CEO and founder of Makeup Geek is well known for her wide range of makeup tutorials.  Ranging for both the beginner and advanced makeup geek, their site has something for everyone.  Back in the fall, they launched their own makeup line including a wide range of eyeshadow shades and brushes.  Many were compared and swatched next to MAC colours and listed as dupes.  I figured, for half the price of MAC (only $5.99/each), they would be worth a try, so I placed an order for 6 shadows and the makeup geek crease brush.  I ended up super happy with my purchase and decided to place another order this past February.  Only trouble was the second time around, my order never made it to me.  I followed up a couple of times with the Makeup Geek customer service team and once the maximum allotted time ran out, they offered to refund my money or to resend my order.  I definitely still wanted my items, so they sent out my order again.  About a week later, I received my order.  YAY!  Special thanks to Makeup Geek for replacing my lost order with no hassle!

Makeup Geek Store Purchase

So let’s take a closer look at what I picked up:

Makeup Geek Eyeshadows

Makeup Geek eyeshadows

The metal pans are all labelled on the back side, just like MAC.

Magnetic Makeup Palette

MUG Eyeshadow Swatches

I’ll see if I can incorporate some of these into a look soon so you can see these eyeshadows in action.  For starters, you can see Envy featured in a look here (the second one).

Makeup Geek Brushes

My experience so far with the Makeup Geek brushes is that they are super affordable and much better than your typical Wal-Mart or ELF brush.  I’ve had no issues with bristles falling out at all – the next time I want to refresh my brush collection, I will be turning to Makeup Geek because of their amazing prices for brushes.  The crease brush shown below was $4.89 and the bent liner brush a whopping $3.79.

Makeup Geek Crease Brush

Eye liner brush by Makeup Geek

NYX

The Makeup Geek Store also carries a couple of other brands including Make-up Designory, Palladio, NYX and Sugarpill.  At the time of my order, I didn’t think NYX was available in Canada, I had never seen it anywhere.  Upon further investigation though, I learned that this brand is available at Rexall PharmaPlus’ as well as Jean Coutu Pharmacies.  You won’t find this brand at Shoppers Drug Mart or Wal-Mart.

So let’s take a look at the NYX lipsticks I grabbed.  First off, I just want to say that I am so happy with these!  I love that I now know where I can buy them locally, so I can go and peruse the different colours.  NYX’s round lipstick is available in an unbelievable 126 shades!  I picked up Fig (a rosy-pink colour) and Margarita (a shimmery peachy-pink) and paid $3.99 for each.  They have a lovely creamy consistency and my lips continue to feel moisturised even throughout long extended use.

NYX's Round Lipsticks

Swatches of NYX Lipsticks

Margarita Lip Swatch

Margarita by NYX

Fig Lipstick Swatch

I also got a Cream Blush by NYX  in shade Boho Chic.  This is my first cream blush ever, in the past I’ve always resorted to the pressed powder style, or cheek stains.  But, one of my amazing friends Rachel swears by cream blushes, so I figured NYX’s Rouge Cream Blush for $5.99 would be a good one to start out with and widen my horizons.

Boho Chic Cream Blush by NYX

Cream Blush Swatch by NYX

Boho Chic Cream Blush Swatch by NYX (blended out on the right hand side)

Palladio Brow Gel

My eyebrows are super guilty of falling down moments after I’ve shaped them.  Clear brow gel is a complete and total life saver.  Being able to hold them in place is like a dream come true.  This brow gel is $5.89 and a staple in my makeup kit.  In addition to the spool that is used for the gel application, there are two other brush styles available here to help you shape and tame your brows, or even your lashes.

How do you hold your eyebrows in place?How do you shape your eyebrows?

Z-Palette

Makeup Geek offers a wide range of Z-Palettes.  You can get them in different sizes and patterns.  The Z-Palettes are magnetized and perfect for your random eyeshadow pans.  Anything with a metal pan will stick right in here so you can keep everything together.  Nice and easy!  The see-through top is probably my favourite feature…you can see what is inside immediately.  Do you have any idea how much I wish you could see into the MAC palettes?  I have three identical ones and am always opening and closing them until I grab the right one (I guess it is time to label them on the outside somehow).

My palette featured here is size “large” (they also come in small and Pro size).  You can see how I just tossed them in here and the magnets hold them perfectly in place.

Small – $13.99

Large – $18.99

Pro – $27.99

Z-Palette, large zebra

There is actually a lot of space in the large Z Palette.  If you have a large amount you are trying to sneak in, you can really stuff them in here, all different shapes and sizes.  You can see I added a couple small Mary Kay eyeshadows in as well.  With the purchase of a large Z-Palette, you also receive a pack of metal stickers (in case your eyeshadows aren’t potted in a metal pan) so you can take advantage of this magnetic makeup palette.

Magnetic Makeup Palette

Makeup Geek offers international worldwide shipping and even some ready made value kits to save you money.  All orders are placed in American dollars and given the strength of the Canadian dollar right now, there is very little difference when your credit card is actually charged.  If this post has peaked your interest, please check out their site here www.makeupgeek.com

Happy shopping Makeup Geeks!

Thanks for reading,

Shannon

17 responses

  1. When I get the money, I plan on buying from her. I love Marlena!!!

    March 30, 2012 at 8:38 pm

  2. I just tagged you in my last post 🙂 http://maesbeauty.wordpress.com/2012/03/30/tag-youre-it/

    March 30, 2012 at 9:06 pm

  3. I love the fig lipstick ❤

    March 30, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    • Me too! It is such a nice colour for the everyday. Looks great for work, or for going out – I love it!

      March 30, 2012 at 11:24 pm

  4. Everything is so vibrant! The Razzleberry is so pretty and Margarita looks great on you 🙂 Is the shipping charge by weight?

    March 30, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    • I’m not 100% sure about the shipping charge, everything is pretty light, it might be based on a percentage of the sale or something. I have no idea. But the shipping charges on my orders ranged $5-7 if that gives you an idea.

      March 30, 2012 at 11:26 pm

  5. What a lovely haul! Everything looks great! I’m especially loving that Z palette!

    March 30, 2012 at 11:52 pm

    • It is amazing, I’m so happy with it!! Can’t wait to fill it up! hehe

      March 31, 2012 at 12:21 am

  6. Ive wanted to order from Makeup Geek for some time, I was just a bit unsure…I think ill be ordering from them soon though. thanks for this post!

    March 31, 2012 at 5:52 am

    • Hey, no problem! I’m just glad my post helped in one way or another!

      March 31, 2012 at 7:08 am

  7. Wauw, great colours. I hadn’t heard of Makeup Geek, so I’ll definitely be checking this out.
    Thanks!

    April 1, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    • Oh I’m glad I was able to spread the news then! I hope you end up enjoying it as much as I have!

      April 1, 2012 at 8:06 pm

  8. I have loved Makeup Geek for quite a few years now, she’s probably one of the first YouTubers that I subscribed to. Her looks are always beautiful and I always find myself putting them in my favorites. I’ve been trying to purchase a few of her brushes but it seems every time I try they are sold out :(. Love the haul, the eyeshadows look gorgeous!

    April 3, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    • Yeah, the looks are always gorgeous, so many talented ladies over there on the Makeup Geek team. Keep trying for the brushes, I imagine you will be as happy with them as I am mine!

      April 3, 2012 at 3:58 pm

  9. Pingback: Makeup Geek Eyeshadow Review « eyemasq

  10. For anyone interested, I just swatched some more MUG shadows and also did a review on the quality. Feel free to check it out here:
    https://eyemasq.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/makeup-geek-eyeshadow-review/

    April 22, 2012 at 6:02 pm

  11. Pingback: Classic Smoky Eye Makeup « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

