A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

A Spring Time Nail Marble

Hey Everyone!

So with the record breaking beautiful weather we had been having this March, I was inspired to do a Spring Time Nail Marble.  I went with bright colours this time to try to capture all the sunshine we’d been receiving here in Ottawa.

To start out, I used a basecoat to prevent the yellow from staining my nails.  I then painted all my nails with two coats of Orly’s Hook Up Nail Polish.

***I chose to do a yellow base for this nail marble because I wanted the colours to show up very bright and vibrant.  Giving them a bright yellow background to lay on top of, does just that.  Please keep in mind that you will have to adjust your base depending on what colours you use.  For example: purple on top of yellow might end up looking sort of brown.  You can always use white to be safe, but it can also lighten the colours a bit and almost wash them out in a sense.  When in doubt, experiment and find a combination that works for you!***

Bright Yellow Nail Polish Swatch

Once dry, I taped around my nails with scotch tape and was ready to start my nail marbling in the water.  Here is a look at one of the designs:

Green yellow and blue nail marble

The polishes used are:

Green – Paper Chasing by China Glaze

Blue – Sally Hansen’s Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear Polish in Pacific Blue

Yellow – Orly’s Hook Up (same as the base used above)

Here is a look at some of my nails before the removal of the scotch tape:

Blue green and yellow nail marbling designs

 

All finished and cleaned up:

Nail marbling designNail marbling design

***Remember to keep in mind, when you are using really bright colours like this, you will need your water to be quite cold otherwise the drops won’t expand properly in the water.***

Bright neon marble

What do you guys think?  Do you love or hate the colour combination?

Thanks for reading!

xox,

Shannon

If you are new to the blog, or new to nail marbling, please check out my Nail Marbling introduction for beginners:

The Art of Nail Marbling

For other Nail Marbling creations check out:

St. Patricks Day Nails

Peppermint Nails

Have you picked your colour scheme?

23 responses

  1. these look really awesome! I love it!

    March 26, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    • Hey! Thanks very much! I was quite happy with how the turned out. 🙂

      March 26, 2012 at 7:55 pm

  2. Brazilian nails?!?

    March 26, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    • I didn’t even notice that – but you are right – they are!!

      March 26, 2012 at 8:23 pm

      • Hahahaha ❤

        March 26, 2012 at 8:54 pm

        • I guess I was sub-consciously getting ready for your visit!

          March 26, 2012 at 9:20 pm

  3. Pretty! love the colors!

    March 26, 2012 at 9:57 pm

  4. this looks awesome! so the temperature of the water affects how the polish spreads out?

    March 27, 2012 at 12:40 am

    • Thanks Natasha! Yeah, if you are using metallic like colours, room temperature water will be okay. But if you try and use that for brights, they will skin on top of the water immediately rather than spreading out and make it impossible. When in doubt, cooler water will make your life easier. The hotter the water the quicker the polish tries to dry.

      March 27, 2012 at 6:28 am

  5. This is so cute and creative! I love the colors you used!

    March 27, 2012 at 4:06 am

  6. I can’t believe we dropped 40 degrees in a few days… it felt like 30C last week and now it’s -10C. Spring, you temptress.

    March 27, 2012 at 6:56 am

    • I know, absolutely insane. With how cold it got, I almost didn’t want to post this yet. *sigh* She is a cruel hearted temptress indeed!!

      March 27, 2012 at 7:55 am

  7. Really love it! Great color choices! The patterns really ended up nice on your nails!

    March 27, 2012 at 8:42 am

  8. I love it, Shannon! You always have the best color combinations!

    March 27, 2012 at 3:07 pm

  9. Absolutely amazing colors, you know I love the lemon/lime color combinations!!

    March 27, 2012 at 3:23 pm

  10. This is awesome! I love the color combination being kind of a color nerd haha. The blue & yellow make green so it’s a clever combo.

    March 28, 2012 at 10:48 am

    • Haha, that is true, I hadn’t thought of that! Thanks for commenting – I’m glad you like them!

      March 28, 2012 at 12:12 pm

  11. Pingback: A red, white, blue and green nail marble « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

