A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

More MAC in March

The month of March has been flying by.  It has been super busy at work the past two months and I know that has played a big part in the days and weeks just disappearing.  Our wedding feels so recent, yet it was almost two months ago already.  Crazy!

I wanted to take a minute and post about my MAC Cosmetic purchases for the month of March.  I was lucky enough to visit the MAC Pro store in Montreal with my good friend Marie-France and I also made another purchase here in Ottawa locally just yesterday…somehow the items seemed to have piled up quickly this month.  :/

First, lets take a quick peek at the MAC Pro store in Montreal.  It is located on Rue Saint Denis, a very busy street filled with a number of outdoor shops.

MAC Pro store

For those of you that don’t know, MAC Pro stores carry a great deal of product not available at regular MAC stores or counters.  This includes a great deal of body painting product as shown below…but also different colours in the products you regularly use (eyeshadow, blushes, lipsticks, glosses, liners, etc)

Body Painting Product

My purchase for actual PRO products was quite limited, I only picked up a couple of eyeshadow palette refill pans that aren’t available outside of the MAC Pro store walls.

I grabbed Bio Green and Bottle Green.  You can see them featured here with the rest of my haul and I will swatch them below alongside the Golden Olive pigment I picked up.

MAC Makeup

Everything else pictured is available at any MAC counter or store.  From left to right we have the Golden Olive MAC Pigment, Fresh & Mint Mineralize Eye Shadow, Black Line and Petrol Blue Pearlglide Intense Eye Liners and as previously mentioned Bottle Green and Bio Green Eye Shadows.

I took a lot of pictures and did a lot of swatching for you guys in case there is something here you are considering purchasing.

Let’s start with the Golden Olive pigment.  It is absolutely beautiful and even though I have a lot of green shadows, this is unlike any of them.  It has a lot of golden shimmer to it and I think it is going to be a lot of fun!

MAC Green PigmentGreen MAC PigmetnGreen eyeshadow swatch

As promised above, here are the swatches of the Bio Green and Bottle Green MAC Pro eye shadow shades:

Bio Green, Bottle Green, Golden Olive Makeup Swatches

I’ve also got swatches of the Pearlglide Intense Eye Liners as well, in Black Line and Petrol Blue.  (You might remember that I fell in love with these several weeks ago when I purchased Undercurrent and Designer Purple, visit my post “Feeling Flirty?” for full swatches and a makeup look using this liner.)  I absolutely love these eye liners, they go on creamy, are highly pigmented and all have a touch of glitter.  You can smudge them when first applied, but then they set quickly and you don’t have to worry about them for the rest of the day.  I’m so glad MAC decided to make this product a part of their permanent collection.

Pearlglide Intense Eye Liner Swatches by MAC

And last but not least, there is the Fresh & Mint Mineralize Eye Shadow.  The mineralize eye shadows by MAC are known for their ability to be applied dry or wet (please note that my swatch below is showing them applied dry, if you were to use a wet brush they would appear darker and more intense).  I think I see myself mainly using this product dry – it looks like it would make for a great soft and shimmery look.

Fresh & Mint Mineralize Shadow

MAC Mineralize Eye Shadow Swatch

I am having a hard time deciding what I am most excited about.  Is there anything here that you can’t wait to see incorporate into a look?

xox,

Shannon

16 responses

  1. Love that blue eyeliner!

    March 24, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    • It is absolutely gorgeous isn’t it?!?

      March 24, 2012 at 2:36 pm

      • Really is i might just have to pick it up myself 🙂

        March 24, 2012 at 6:35 pm

        • I just used it in a makeup look tonight, I will try to get a post up soon for you so you can see what it looks like on. It might help convince you one way or another.

          March 24, 2012 at 11:53 pm

  2. Mint is in for the season! And I’m drooling over the Petrol Blue – not as much as I was the Undercurrent though 😉

    March 24, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    • These pencils are just to die for. I love the vibrancy of the colours. I just tried out the Petrol blue tonight along with the Fresh & Mint, I will get pictures up soon! Still haven’t actually used Undercurrent in a look yet, I need to get on that!

      March 24, 2012 at 11:55 pm

  3. Great choices! I’m a sucker for greens 😀

    March 25, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    • Thanks! I am too, obviously. They are just so versatile – whether you want to add a pop of colour or mix them with neutrals, they always look great.

      March 25, 2012 at 12:18 pm

  4. frenchtippedwanderlust

    Ou I really like that Golden Olive pigment, I have hazel eyes and I really think that would make the green come alive. What is pigment though? Is it the same as eyeshadow?

    March 27, 2012 at 8:53 am

    • It is a beautiful colour! A pigment is a loose form of eyeshadow that hasn’t been pressed. The colours end up much more vibrant and you don’t need to use as much as you would with an eyeshadow. You can also apply them with a wet brush to get an even richer or more vibrant colour..whereas a lot of pressed eyeshadows don’t work so well wet. Ultimately though, whatever you use eyeshadow for, you can also use pigment for, you’ll likely end up just liking it better. The only thing is though…it can be messy, so tap a little bit out in the lid and draw from that, don’t stick your brush in the canister, you will regret it! Hope that helps?

      March 27, 2012 at 9:34 am

      • frenchtippedwanderlust

        That definitely helps! I have tried cheap green eyeshadows before, and I have found it a bit hard to find the right shade that doesn’t look to dark on me or sickly. I think with the gold in the pigment though it will actually be a great shade! This will be going on the wishlist as well! 🙂 And yeah, when I was at Sephora last the lady there told me she learned a secret from a drag queen, about dusting extra powder under your eyes on the top of your cheek bone area and leaving it loose, then when you are done with your eyeshadow just brush the powder away and it takes the extra eyeshadow bits that might have fallen with it. I haven’t tried it out yet myself, but it sounds pretty believable! And I’m sure drag queens have makeup application down to a science!

        March 27, 2012 at 9:41 am

        • Yes, extra powder works perfect that, you’ll never have to worry about fall out. You can also use foundation the same way if you prefer. Depends on what you would rather waste, just pick the least expensive one! haha I also have a friend that uses vaseline and then does her foundation and powder afterwards. So manyways to sneak around the fall out issue!!

          March 27, 2012 at 9:52 am

  5. Pingback: Feeling Soft and Sweet? « eyemasq

  6. Thank you so much for your posts ,I really enjoy looking at every thing that belongs to mac,I saw mac pro store in your post ,all I thought of is (I wanna live there for ever) !!!

    April 21, 2012 at 7:39 am

    • Hi Etab – thanks for visiting my blog and commenting! I’m a big MAC junkie and I’m glad that my addiction is proving to be useful for other addicts out there! 🙂

      April 21, 2012 at 9:12 am

  7. Pingback: MAC Pigment Swatches « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

