A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Colourful Smokey Eye

As we were getting ready to head out last night, I sat down at my vanity and just did not feel like doing green makeup.  So, inspired by Marlena’s (from Makeup Geek) Colourful Smoky Eye from earlier this week, I thought I would put my spin on it.  As you can see she used bright, yet soft colours in her look.

I wanted to create something similar, but I felt like using brighter and bolder colours.

So here is what I ended up coming up with:

Colourful Smoky Eye Makeup

Colourful Smoky Eye/Rainbow Eye

Rainbow Eye

For this look I used the following eyeshadows:

Yellow – Bright Sunshine by MAC

Light Green – Bio Green by MAC

Darker Green- Kelly by MAC

Teal – Teal from the MAC Duo Palettes

Purple – Indian Ink by MAC

Highlight – Forgery by MAC

Colourful Smoky Eye

For the remainder of the look I used:

Eyeliner – Blacktrack Fluidline by MAC

Mascara – Clinique’s High Impact Mascara

Lashes – Ardell Demi Wispie False Lashes

Brows – Filled them in with Mystery Eyeshadow by MAC

Lips – Clinique’s Watermelon Long Last Lipstick (swatched here)

Face – For foundation I used Makeup Forever HD Foundation in shade 118, for powder MAC’s Studio Careblend Pressed Powder in Shade “Light Plus”.  I also used the Powder Blush and Bronzer from Too Faced’s Natural Face palette (still need to post about this!)

Purple and Green Smoky Eye

I hope you all like this bright fun look.  Get out there and have some fun with your colours now that Spring is here!

Thanks for reading,

Shannon

26 responses

  1. Much more creative than the green eyeshadows I kept seeing all day. The colours look great on you!

    March 18, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    • Awww thanks!! I loved it, because it still incorporated green, but wasn’t green overload like everyone else I saw.

      March 18, 2012 at 4:48 pm

      • Yeah haha I love your eyeshadow looks, they’re always so creative but still look great without being overdone. Just lots of practice and funtimes or are you secretly a makeup artist 😛

        March 18, 2012 at 6:36 pm

        • Just lots of practice and fun times my dear! Who knows, might be fun someday though to take a course!

          March 18, 2012 at 6:42 pm

  2. Nice! You look amazing && rocked it! That green && yellow is so pretty on you!

    March 18, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    • Hey Fancieland, thank you for your sweet comment and for stopping by the blog!

      March 18, 2012 at 6:27 pm

  3. Beautiful colours, they really compliement your eyes.

    March 19, 2012 at 5:05 am

  4. This is GREAT, Shannon! It’s amazing how you manage to bring so many colors together for one fun look! Love it!

    March 19, 2012 at 6:52 am

    • Thanks Sunny – I’m glad you like it! Do you see yourself using bright colours like this?

      March 19, 2012 at 11:32 am

  5. Holly J

    This is a nice spin on the smokey eye! I’m still mastering the typical one, lol.

    March 19, 2012 at 7:32 am

    • Thank you! I thought it was a lot of fun – especially now that winter seems to be gone for good, bright colours just seem more suiting for spring. I hope you give it a try!

      March 19, 2012 at 11:34 am

      • Holly J

        I’m always game for trying new and exciting eye makeup!

        March 19, 2012 at 2:31 pm

        • Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

          March 19, 2012 at 4:57 pm

  6. This came out awesome! soo pretty. I have a hard time with bolder colors like this. they tend to blend too well and mush together : ( your looks are allways beautyiful! Great job as usual ❤

    March 19, 2012 at 8:40 am

    • Thank you Amanda! Depending on the eyeshadows I use, I know what you mean about them mushing together. I never seem to have a problem with MAC though, they always end up right where I want them. Thank god for eyeshadow primers!

      March 19, 2012 at 11:35 am

      • I concur! I will have to buy more MAC I only have a few b/c of the price. even the NAKED2 Palette does it 😦

        March 19, 2012 at 11:53 am

        • My Urban Decay Book of Shadows IV does the same thing too. I like to mix different types of shadows together to avoid this..like use a matte with a lustre or a frost, instead of all frost textures.

          March 19, 2012 at 4:57 pm

        • okay cool. Thanks ill try that!

          March 19, 2012 at 5:15 pm

  7. love all the colors!!

    March 19, 2012 at 2:32 pm

  8. Polish Me Up

    Beautiful!

    March 20, 2012 at 9:31 pm

  9. frenchtippedwanderlust

    Love it! This would also be perfect for Mardi Gras 🙂

    March 21, 2012 at 10:50 am

Leave a Reply

