A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Konad Nail Stamping

I ordered a starter kit of Konad Stamping Nail Art product a couple of months ago, but hadn’t gotten around to posting about it until now.

Nail stamping is a very popular trend that you will see all over the internet.  You just might not realize that it’s what you are looking at when you see it.  95% of those amazing zebra manicures you see everywhere are actual nail stamps, not stickers and certainly aren’t done by hand.

How nail stamping works is you can purchase different plates, with different patterns or designs (even for french tips).  You also need the Konad special nail polishes to use on the plates.  ***You can’t use regular nail polish on the plates.***  You need the “Konad Special Nail Polish”.  It has a thicker/sticky consistency and is designed to be picked up by the stamp.  If you try it with standard nail polish, it won’t stick to your stamp at all and will just sit in your plate stencil, trust me, I tried.  You also need a scraper for removing the excess polish and a stamp for picking up and transferring the design.  So I went with the easy solution and bought a starter kit.  Unsure if I would like it, this seemed to make the most sense.  Nail Polish Canada has a big range of kits you can choose from, ranging from about $25 all the way up to $200.  If you are south of the border Konad Nail Art has a website as well that might make more sense for you.  Upon comparison between the two sites though, for Canadians Nail Polish Canada proves to be less expensive with their free shipping over $29 offer.

Nail Art Starting Kit - Plates and Polishes in One

With this kit you receive:

  • 1 x Stamp
  • 1 x Scraper
  • 1 x M3 plate (7 individual designs)
  • 1 x M2 plate (7 individual designs)
  • 3 x 5ml Konad Special Nail Polishes (these are mini bottles-less than half the size of a standard full sized polish)
Konad Nail Stamping Tutorial

How do you do it?

How To: Konad Nail Stamping

  1. Apply Base coat or regular polish to nail.  I started out with Turned up Turquoise neon nail polish by China Glaze.Turned up Turquoise Nail Polish Swatch
  2. Apply Konad Special Nail Polish to desired image within a plate.Konad Nail Stamping Tutorial
  3. Take your scraper, angle it about 45 degrees and scrape excessive polish off quickly and strongly.  
  4. IMMEDIATELY press the stamp with a gently rolling motion to pick up the design.  I can’t stress “IMMEDIATELY” enough.  If you take your time, the design will end up on your stamp choppy and incomplete.  You need to scrape and stamp right away!  This caused me some troubles at first and once I sped up this step, the designs started coming out perfectly on the stamp.Konad Nail Design on Stamp
  5. Stamp the image onto your nail with a gentle rolling motion or just press down and lift up immediately.Nail Stamping Tutorial
  6. For lasting wear apply a top coat to preserve your nail art.

It really ends up being very simple and QUICK.  I plan to pick up more plates and polishes in the near future.  I want to try the plates that offer both full nail and french tip patterns.

Have you guys tried this yet?  Do you have a favourite plate you’d recommend for my next purchase?

xox,

Shannon

Nail Design Plate

13 responses

  1. I absolutely love stamping! I highly recommend the bundle monster plates. It is only about 20-25 dollars for 25 plates 🙂

    March 15, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    • I am going to check that out right now, thank you for the tip!

      March 15, 2012 at 7:47 pm

    • Too bad they don’t have the polishes too. What an amazing deal on the plates though and it is only $4 shipping to Canada! Thanks so much for sharing your secret!

      March 15, 2012 at 7:53 pm

      • Great to hear you got them! I’m interested in the Red Angel plates too, but they don’t ship anywhere outside the USA 😦

        March 19, 2012 at 12:18 am

  2. Polish Me Up

    My mom recently came back from Hong Kong and she bought me A TON of these plus A TON of plates. I haven’t even touched them yet. I shall do a review/try it out soon. I’ll let you know how that goes ^^ LOVE your posts by the way!

    March 15, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    • Oh I am excited to see what you got! Thanks for commenting!

      March 15, 2012 at 10:06 pm

  3. practicingpretty

    Ah, I was eyeballing this very kit yesterday! I wish it came with some of the full-nail plates, too, but still it’s very tempting! 🙂 Eve

    March 16, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    • Yeah, the polishes are really small as well. It really is just a starter kit to give you something to play around with to see if you like it…and also if you’ll actually use it. Then there are so many options out there for after you are an addict. 🙂 Thanks for commenting Eve!

      March 16, 2012 at 4:55 pm

  4. Love it!!! I have been dying to purchase some but didn’t know where. I am in Ontario too and will definitely check the site out. I have recently ordered Fimo Canes and will receive them next week. Have you tried them? I will be sure to post about it. Keep up the great blog!

    March 16, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    • Oh my goodness, I hadn’t heard of Fimo Canes until now, I just did a quick google and can’t wait to see your post about them. They look like so much fun, I’m sure I am going to just “have to” pick some up. Thanks for visiting!!

      March 16, 2012 at 5:26 pm

  5. Pingback: A Konad Nail Design « eyemasq

  6. Pingback: a NEON manicure for the TIGRESS in you « eyemasq

  7. Pingback: A Fruity Manicure « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

