A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Three’s a Crowd?

I’ve been sick for 4 days and the doctor tells me that my virus is contagious and that I’ve still got another 2 or 3 days to enjoy this.  Yay….

There are only so many movies a person can watch before they go insane cooped up in their apartment.  So although I don’t feel up for much, I figured I could at least do my nails and that it would hopefully break up the monotomy of endless movie watching.

A few days ago I mentioned that I picked up a few colours from the Capitol Colours (Hunger Games) Collection that just came out from China Glaze.  So I thought rather than just doing boring swatches of the 3 shades I got, that I could have a little fun with them.  Using scotch tape, I was able to incorporate all three colours into one manicure.  Thank you to “Chloe’s Nails” for the inspiration, I came across a post of hers and just had to try it. Check out her blog when you have a chance, she is super talented, has tried everything and has something there for everybody who loves nails!

China Glaze Hunger Games Polishes

Left to Right: Foie Gras, Fast Track, Hook and Line

Foie Gras – a dark brownish plum shade

Fast Track – a light tan with gold flecks

Hook and Line – a metallic concrete silver

Start out by painting your nails in a solid colour of your choice.  I started with Foie Gras.

Hunger Games Nail Polish Swatch - Foie Gras

It is very important that your nails are completely dry before moving onto the next step otherwise the tape will pull up your base colour.  Once dry you can just start taping off angles and colouring in sections with the other shades of nail polish.

Scotch Tape Manicure

One thing I noticed with the finished product is that this would work much better with 3 nail polishes that contrast more than these did (the gold and silver are too similar for my tastes).  Or, if you wanted to use shades like this, than keep the dark shade in the middle all the time rather than randomizing each nail.

I’ll definitely try this again with different shades another time.  (I am thinking neon colours for summer)  But be warned, it does take a long time given that you need your polish to be completely dry before applying the tape each time.  So try and choose polishes that have better coverage and require less coats, this way you won’t have to wait so long in between taping.  Fast drying top coats will also help speed this up for you.   This is definitely not a quick manicure, but if you are wanting to pass time while watching a movie, go ahead and have some fun with it!

Thanks for reading,

Shannon

19 responses

  1. Isabelle

    Hope you feel better soon ❤

    March 6, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    • Thanks Isabelle! I am going into work regardless tomorrow, even if for a little bit. The webmail site is down and I can’t even check my work emails. James says it looks like IT let the subscription lapse…. 😦

      March 6, 2012 at 9:04 pm

      • Isabelle

        Just click ok anyway and you’ll have access from home. I just did it from my phone so you shouldn’t have any probs 😉

        March 6, 2012 at 9:12 pm

  2. I have! I tried it from all three computers and keep getting the same issue saying “Page cannot be found”. Did they change the address?

    March 6, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    • Isabelle

      I just sent you some details on your ‘Dawson’ Gmail, if it still works …

      March 6, 2012 at 9:21 pm

      • Isabelle. you are amazing. Turns out the “guide” that Brian sent out originally has one letter wrong, so that is why it wasn’t working. I’m in now. Thank you so much! ❤

        March 6, 2012 at 9:29 pm

        • Isabelle

          I always use an old sheet we got back when we were at the old building, click the link and it always takes me to it … Old ain’t so bad, in this case! Lol! So, now you can work from home and flip me anything important that needs immediate attention! 🙂

          March 6, 2012 at 9:34 pm

        • I will see how I feel in the morning, I might try to make it in for a few hours. I will play it by ear. Gladly it looks like all of the urgent things I took care of early Monday worked out and even my change orders were accepted! YAY! Thank you for all your help with Steve!

          March 6, 2012 at 9:37 pm

        • Isabelle

          Happy to help! 😀

          March 6, 2012 at 9:39 pm

      • PS. Looks like the plague hit the office – have you been feeling okay?!

        March 6, 2012 at 9:33 pm

        • Isabelle

          I’m practically skipping around the office! I’m feeling great, so if anyone is contageous, I’d advise them to stay home ❤

          March 6, 2012 at 9:36 pm

  3. I’ve also been home sick and you’re right, this is a great way to pass the time and break up the movies lol. Get well soon!! I will be hopefully trying something similar to this tomorrow

    March 6, 2012 at 10:39 pm

    • It will certainly give you something to do! Have fun and hope you are feeling better soon!

      March 7, 2012 at 12:02 am

  4. Being sick sucks 😦 Hope you feel better soon! In the meantime, nails want to be done 😉

    March 6, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    • Haha, thanks Pearlessence, I’m hoping the same thing!

      March 7, 2012 at 12:03 am

  5. Love the design! Feel better soon 🙂

    March 7, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    • Thank you! I wish I could take credit for the design, but I just can’t. It is super fun though!

      March 7, 2012 at 2:38 pm

  6. Yikes, I’m sorry to hear you’re sick! I hope it’ll be over really soon.

    March 7, 2012 at 2:52 pm

  7. Pingback: Bright Block Manicure « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

