A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Feeling Flirty?

A few weeks ago, soon after falling in love with the “Butterfly Party” pigments from MAC’s Vera Neumann Collection (see my review and swatch here), I just had to go back for seconds.  I picked up the Aloha set as well, which only leaves me with Strawberry Patch missing from my collection.  These pigments are so nice and easy to work with and of course have beautiful colour pay off…I might just end up grabbing Strawberry Patch before this limited edition collection is gone.

Aloha is certainly the most neutral set from the collection featuring brownish gold shades with tinges of orange and pink.  I’ve only just used them for the first time in a look last night, but absolutely loved them.

Aloha Limited Edition Set

And as I mentioned before, I absolutely love the packaging of these sets.  They are beautiful, easy to use and convertible to a tower of 4 as shown above, or two sets of two.  So…let’s take a look inside!

Aloha Limited Edition Set from MAC

Aloha Limited Edition Set from MAC

From Left To Right: Aloha, Shifting Sands, Lantern Light and Campfire Crushed Metallic Pigments

As I mentioned before with Butterfly Party, they have a really creamy texture, glide on easily, blend beautifully and are true to colour.  Just look at this swatch:

Aloha, Shifting Sands, Lantern Light and Campire Swatches

From the same Spring collection, I want to talk about the Pearlglide Intense Eye liners that are to die for.  This is my first time using an eye liner from MAC that isn’t the Fluidline product, but the artist in the MAC store was sporting it and I couldn’t stop staring at her eyes.  This purple is so vibrant!  These eye liners slide on so creamy and rich!  I can’t tell you enough how much I love them.  You can smudge the Pearlglide Intense Eye liners when you first apply them, but after about a minute, they really set in place and become smudge-proof which is fantastic for your everyday wear giving you a really long wearing product.  Check out MAC’s website for other colour options and from what I can tell, even though this product is new, it is not limited edition.

Undercurrent and Designer Purple by MAC

Designer Purple and Undercurrent Swatches

So for my look last night, I was 100% inspired by that MAC artist and paired the light neutral shades of Aloha (specifically I used the Shifting Sands and Aloha crushed metallic pigments) with this vibrant Designer Purple eye liner.  I never would’ve thought of using these together, I always seem to gravitate towards black liner when using brown shadows.  But pairing neutral shadows with an intense bold eye liner looks like something I will be doing more often.

Aloha Shifting Sands Look with Clinique High Impact Mascara

Brown eye with purple linerFame Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss and Clinique's High Impact Mascara

***For filling in my eyebrows, I used MAC’s Mystery eyeshadow and I used Clinique’s High Impact Mascara on my lashes.  On my face I used MAC’s Studio Careblend Pressed Powder in Light Plus.***

I do have one more product I need to show you from this MAC haul before I call it quits.  Shop MAC – another spring collection out right now resulted in a Kissable Lipcolour purchase.  This product is limited edition and you can see all colour options here.  I went bold and chose Scan-Delicious.  I couldn’t pass up the deep berry fuchsia with gorgeous rich blue undertones.  So here we are:

Limited Edition Kissable Lipcolour by MAC

Swatch of Scan-Delicious by MAC

I love this colour – A LOT!  But I didn’t think it was the right look for the makeup and outfit I’d put together.  So I went a few shades lighter opting for Smashbox’s Lip Enhancing Gloss in Fame.

I stumbled across this hair style on youtube the other day and just had to try it.  The 5 strand braid is actually really easy and I got it my first try.  Once you understand the concept, it is easy going all the way down.  This tutorial is fantastic and you will be a pro in no time at all:

I hope you have as much fun with this as I have and enjoy this fun, soft, flirty look!

xox,

Shannon

Aloha eye shadows with Designer Purple Eye Liner

22 responses

  1. Suzie

    love this look on you! ❤

    March 3, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    • Thanks Suzie. I can picture your hair like this too! It is very much soft Suzie hair!

      March 3, 2012 at 3:33 pm

  2. I effin LOVE everything about this look, from the pigments to the liner to the lip color! Super gorgeous! I don’t know when this will come to Belgium, but I think I need Undercurrent…

    March 3, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    • Undercurrent really is gorgeous, I love using it on its own with mascara for a quick easy work look. I hope it makes its way to Belgium for you soon!

      March 3, 2012 at 6:18 pm

      • It probably will. Shop MAC Cook MAC was out today, and Viva Glam Nicki Minaj & Ricky Martin was there too. I’m saying it’s within a week or two!

        March 3, 2012 at 6:35 pm

        • Good stuff! Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

          March 3, 2012 at 7:11 pm

  3. Love the colour combination 🙂 the purple is really pretty. You make me want to pick up the undercurrent pearlglide pencil myself, despite my bad history with pencil liners… But it’s just so pretty!

    March 3, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    • I certainly have nothing to say to dissuade you, I absolutely love them and am actually considering another colour. I’m a bad influence I suppose! lol

      March 3, 2012 at 9:52 pm

  4. Alison M

    Scan-Delicious is such a gorge color!

    March 3, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    • It really is, I saw it on one of the artists working there and had to rush over and ask what she had on her lips. It’s “draw your eyes in beautiful”!

      March 3, 2012 at 9:51 pm

  5. Kelsey

    This might be my fav post yet! I just tried on scan-dalicious the other day but I went with a less vibrant pink cause it kinda clashed with my ginger hair. So love the purple liner with neutral shadows (gonna try that tomorrow) and can’t wait to attempt the 5 strand braid. So pretty! Thanks for the inspiration Shannon!

    March 4, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    • Oh Kels, I’m glad you liked it. It was a really fun look when it was all together. There really is something about the bright purple liner with neutral shadows. It wakes up your eyes and really makes them stand out. And you have such beautiful thick hair, that braid is going to look awesome on you!

      March 4, 2012 at 1:06 pm

  6. I keep coming back to check your Pearlglide swatches… I am this || close to ordering Undercurrent online, as there’s mixed speculation about how permanent the pencils are. Gahhhhhh conscience stop holding me back!!! D:

    March 4, 2012 at 8:12 pm

    • I don’t find it super hardcore, I find it just enough. It doesn’t smudge easily if I rub my eye or something, but it also isn’t a nightmare trying to get it off. But I also know that you respond differently to products than I do, so I’m not sure whether it will be the same for your eyes. Good luck in your decision my dear!

      March 4, 2012 at 10:21 pm

  7. thisisvincispeaking

    Those Mac Pigments are sooooo AMAZING! Love love love how the liner look on you as well.

    March 10, 2012 at 4:40 am

    • Thanks Vinci – the pigments really do go on so smooth and are so easy to work with. I just love them! Something tells me that Strawberry Patch isn’t far from my future either. And the Pearlglide liners! Whew, don’t get me started – amazing! Thanks for stopping by and your comment – hope you have a great weekend!

      March 10, 2012 at 9:40 am

  8. Pingback: More MAC in March « eyemasq

  9. Pingback: Feeling Soft and Sweet? « eyemasq

  10. Pingback: MAC Pigment Swatches « eyemasq

  11. Pingback: Neutrals with a pop of colour « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

